We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had more nights here”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish I had more nights here”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel form the moment I walked in the door! No awkwardness at wanting to bring my own case up (wanted to get straight in shower after long day travelling), very cool keys etc. upon arriving at my room, was again very happy, really nice furniture, feels very new, high ceilings makes it feel super expensive. All replicated in the bathroom where shower must be 12ft tall...bath would be nice...but now smell amazing from molton brown and happy out :) ... Bar was quiet but very nice and great service...just a pity Montreal didn't win its Stanley cup match this eve!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    85
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
54
292
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

From the front desk to the dining room servers, the staff is extremely gracious and professional. The room was well appointed and the only off putting aspect was that it was across from an office building with desks facing directly into our room and bathroom, so the drapes were drawn for most of our visit for privacy sake. Not much the hotel can do about that but it still diminished the experience slightly. All the amentities you'd expect and a terrific spa made for a memorable visit. I would book again when I return to Montreal and recommend you give it a try too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OysterLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed and this gorgeous hotel for 3 nights in April 2014, and boy was is hard to go home! Not only was the facility visually delightful (you must check out the “bibliotheque” off the main entrance), but it was also very comfortable and the service was outstanding. We had a suite on floor ten, and it had a powder room in addition to the large bathroom off the bedroom. Wonderful marble bath as well as a “rain” shower. The mattress was incredibly comfortable, and there was a sound system in the “living room” that was very clear and was set to classical music for our arrival. Concierges and front desk were very helpful with directions and reservations. The only very minor complaint was a bit of a delay to get ice. The location was in a very convenient walking-distance to the cool Old Montreal shops and eateries (and very close to Notre Dame), as well as to the heart of downtown. If you stay here, treat yourself to a massage at Le Spa. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so pampered. I’m already saving up for my next trip!

Room Tip: We were willing to pay a little extra for the suite on the tenth floor— Looking at the building from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NVH50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the St. James for four nights at the end of April 2014. The location in Old Montreal was convenient to everything. We walked everywhere and didn't see our car again until we checked out. We were absolutely delighted with this beautiful hotel. The service was first rate, the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very well maintained and spotless. The furnishings in the common areas are beautiful period pieces. There is a library you can sit and relax or read.

Our room was large, well appointed, and extremely clean. The bedding was excellent and the room was very quiet. Our bathroom was all marble and had a very large shower and a bath tub. The bath towels, face cloths and hand towels were excellent quality. Our room was made up promptly everyday and bottled water and chocolates were provided on the bedside tables. The room also had a safe, a music system and the telephone had a greeting welcoming us to the Le St. James.

While we did not eat at the restaurant XO, we will definitely make it a point to do so in future visits. We did sit in the lounge for drinks one night and really enjoyed it.

It is not inexpensive but frankly I would recommend this hotel without reservation, it was that good.

Room Tip: I believe because of the layout of the hotel all rooms have street views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For your next trip to Montreal, look no further than this incredibly beautiful property in Old Montreal. Just minutes from downtown with the BEST Customer Service around. I travel to Montreal monthly for 3 nights and there is no other place to stay. The bedding, pillows, towels, spa and XO restaurant are all fabulous. I had the most incredible massage last night. Amazing property. Look no further!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayssunnyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
450 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

These type of old fashioned hotels are not really my cup of tea. However, the rooms are clean including the carpet, the bathroom is nice and the service is great. They have no Nespresso machines in the room and the Cappuccino I have ordered was undrinkable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a great hotel with a wonderful spa and nice rooms. It's location is charming and allows easy access to most parts of the city—I walked everywhere even in the cold weather.

The hotel's public spaces have been renovated since I last stayed here and they're not really my taste, but they're fun and seem distinctly Montreal: an unusual mix of Pais, the french countryside, and the 90's. While it's not how I would decorate my own home, this is exactly why I come to Montreal and stay at the St-James. It's as foreign as you can get without leaving northeast North America.

The food is very good, better than most hotel food, but not as excellent as some food in Montreal (I thought the breakfast croissants could have been better).

This hotel is elegant and charming and I'm sure to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
983 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#15 of 164 in Montreal
1,933 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing