We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #32 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the St. James. To say that this hotel was amazing is an understatement. I am very well traveled and this is absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It is over the top superior in comfort, service and has the "WOW" factor that has been missing in other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. The room was very large and had a lovely sitting room with plasma TV. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was fabulous, 3 attendants came in each evening for the turndown service and brought anything we needed and tidyed up the room. The overall architecture was fabulous. The location was absolutely perfect for walking to the old part of Montreal and to Place Jacque Cartier. No expense was spared at this hotel. I will not soon forget this hotel!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYBIRDJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    82
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
52
285
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal,Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

The hotel is charming, cozy and absolutely spotless. The decor is wonderful and the staff polite and welcoming. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in Europe and the St. James is comfortably in their league. I can honestly say it is one of the few times I have had no complaints with a hotel...quite rare for me!

  • Liked — cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — could not stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mecas36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We’ve stayed at some of the best hotels in Europe – the Hotel Le St James is clearly in their league.

The hotel is small and sophisticated. The lobby has the air of a gentleman’s club.

The two suites we had for three nights were magnificent – large, comfortable, and decorated in an old world charm. The service was impeccable.

The old city location is convenient to both the old city and downtown, which is a 10-5 minute walk.

This is the perfect hotel for a couple’s weekend getaway to Montreal.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

I am very critical of hotels, and this one, surprised me. I have nothing but glowing things to say about this hotel. It was first class all the way. The location was superb, the concierge was fantastic, the room exceeded expectations. Everything was impressive. Stay here, it's expensive, but worth it in the end. You will have great memories!

PS: Don't miss Gibby's for dinner!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I liked everything - nothing not to like!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamiheat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC Metro Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Wow. A truly wonderful hotel in Old Montreal. Worth every penny; the service and staff alone make this a winner. Add in fabulous rooms, especially the suites and this is not just a great find in Old Montreal, but a great place period.

Even traveling with an infant, our stay was easy and enjoyable. The staff (all of them from the housekeepers to the concierge to the general manager) went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The concierge were amazing. They arranged for great, kid friendly dining options that did not involve placemats with crayons and hot dogs. Speaking of which, Eggspectations is a great breakfast option and just steps away from the hotel.

If you are in Montreal, might pass by Montreal or are just thinking about Montreal run don't walk to the St. James.

  • Liked — Service / Staff, Beautiful Room
  • Disliked — Stairs at the Entrance Only Way to Get In the Hotel - Not Good for Strollers or Wheelchairs
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babymakestres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

The location is very convenient, close to everywhere in Vieux Montreal.

I stayed at a regular guestroom, which doesn't have a bathtub -fine by me-, and the decor and cleanliness was impeccable. The toiletry was Molton Brown and was very enjoyable. My room faces an extremely small garden surrounded by other rooms, thereby lacking sunlight. It was a disadvantage because you have no idea what the weather is like outside -- this is very critical in a place like Montreal. Also, be advised to set up an alarm, as you are not likely to wake up to the bright sunlight in the morning. Fortunately for me, I was there on vacation, not for business.

Staffs were very helpful and professional, although they were at times not so friendly.

I do think it is a top notch hotel with good service and amenities -- a natural thing considering the price-, but in my personal opinion, this hotel was not so inviting. I've stayed Four Seasons, and other top-class, old-school hotels, and I've stayed Ritz-Carlton most of my recent trips, but none of them were so uninviting.

  • Liked — Tasteful decor
  • Disliked — Window
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank depttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Le St. James is expensive for Montreal, but we felt it was worth every penny given our travel style and tolerance of paying a bit extra for convenience and comfort.

We booked Le St. James hotel as a last-minute choice based on a positive review in the New York Times.

We did our same-day booking online at the hotel's web site. This was an average experience. Our main complaint is that the website form is so integrated into the design of the rest of the site that it's not as clear as it could be. Although we were able to complete the reservation quickly and without problems, next time I will probably call since the employees are so enjoyable and capable.

We drove from New York to Montreal and arrived at Le St. James at night. Although the doorman was absent at first, he re-appeared as we started to make our way to the lobby desk. From there, service was top-notch every step of the way and in no way could be considered lacking.

Front desk clerks recognized us and greeted us by name when we returned from our time spent outside the hotel. We had a couples spa treatment, and the women who did the treatments both worked silently and in excellent coordination. We also had room service and enjoyed flawless, courteous service from everyone who we came in contact with. We also had a strange incident with a window that blew open because it had been improperly latched--the hotel sent up someone to fix it within minutes.

The major negatives about Le St. James are the workout facilities (poor, cramped, and limited) and a temporary, but unfortunate situation in that some of the rooms have windows that permit construction noise from across the street where a Westin Hotel is being built. We were originally in one of those rooms, but we were graciously switched to a room that was silent.

Overall a great experience and one of the better hotels we've stayed in over the last few years.

  • Liked — Excellent service & staff
  • Disliked — Gym facilities
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCthirtysomethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,284 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
931 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 163 in Montreal
1,420 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Property: Hotel Le St-James
Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing