We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, basic”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, basic”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Basic hotel. Very clean and well maintained with a friendly helpful staff. Coffee pot in room, no fridge or microwave. Ice machine in lobby. Good location on Rue St. Denis and Rue St. Catherine, by U. of Quebec. Many restaurants of varying ethnicities on Rue St. Denis. We don't spend much time in the hotel room other than to wash and sleep, so it worked out very well. It is also close to the bus stop to the airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    365
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
93
267
98
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I found this hotel thru Tripadvisor.
We love staying at locations that others may feel are not like the named brands.
This hotel is located in downtown Montreal, maybe not to the liking of some, but we loved the location. You have shops and many choices of dining next door and others just a couple of blocks away. The staff was outstanding, answered our many questions, offered advice of tours and dining. This is a old building and you can feel the history when you walk thru the front door. I understand this was constructed after WW1 to house the returning troops. Also had other uses, but was turned into this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think you could make a bad choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great.....Spot! Walking distance to the center, subway, latin quarter, you name it. Good rooms, clean and at a very good price. What more do you want. Yes, perhaps that plain continental breakfast. Guess what....plenty of nice, cosy and layback places you can eat the best breakfast you want. And...also on walking distance.
Lets swing in Canadian New York...Montreal stole our hearts. Good job St. Denis!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robispho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we love this hotel! friendly staff, spotless surroundings, quiet, with wood (well, Pergo) floors in the rooms, comfortable beds, excellent coffee with the in-room coffeemaker, first-rate WiFi, great prices (including a senior discount) and the best possible location - just steps away from the 747 airport bus, Latin Quarter, Old Montreal and downtown. It looks a little shabby from the outside but that impression disappears as soon as you enter.

Room Tip: lower floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parisdublin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great small hotel. Comfortable bed and clean rooms. Took others advise and got a room at the back of the hotel where is was very quiet. Nice restaurant on the corner for breakfast - Denos - very reasonable price. Try their smoked meat with your eggs. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Within walking distance of all the sights of Old Montreal.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank east635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I (late thirties/early forties, no kids) stayed here for five days over Labor Day weekend. If you’re looking for a budget-conscious option, I recommend hotel St. Denis. It’s a good hotel for the money. I wouldn’t use the word ‘luxury’ in any sentence describing it, but that’s not what they’re aiming for. I thought it was cozy, clean, and functional. For tourism, the location is very good—the walk to Old Montreal is about 15 minutes, and a central hub of the Metro (subway) is two blocks away. The hotel appears updated and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was helpful. Our room (2nd story) was in the back and faced the alley and a big university building; there was no view to speak of, but there was sun and breeze available via the window. Outside it was quiet except one night at four in the morning we heard a drunk guy yelling at someone right under our window, but that was an exception. I can’t speak to the noise level for the street-facing rooms.

Pros/cons: Pros - hair dryer and iron, a decent-size tv in the room, reliable free wifi, and good room service. If you have a car, the parking they offer is a nice perk—its half a block away in a secure underground garage, and you have unlimited in-out privileges for a decent flat day rate. There is also a Bixi station (bike rentals) a block or two away, which I used, and recommend. Cons - they do not offer breakfast and we didn’t have a refrigerator or safe in the room. We ended up buying some fruit and granola bars from the nearby supermarket to snack on every morning, and tried the restaurant immediately next door (Pacini) for breakfast (which was pretty good despite always looking empty). A fridge would have been nice to keep leftovers for snacking the next day; I’ve gotten by without needing a safe in hotel rooms, so I didn’t miss it. On a side-note, the hotel accepted my U.S. triple A (AAA) membership for a small room rate discount.

Our (mis)fortune of arriving on the Friday afternoon before a holiday weekend may have had something to do with it, but our impression of the neighborhood in the immediate radius of the hotel was a turn-off. I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen so many rowdy college kids, tweaking hobos, and strip clubs/adult movie houses. Being in the middle of a university (UQAM) and near two others, college kids were the vast majority of the population in almost every store and eatery nearby. That didn’t bother me per se, but it can get old. Hobos were prevalent nearby—sleeping in doorways and alleys, empty lots…if there was a public concrete structure with a sheltered roof area, more often than not I saw at least one gutter punk or hobo hanging around. They didn’t hound us for change so much, but they smelled bad and some were clearly drugged out. The strip clubs and adult houses were also a throwback. Every neighborhood we visited, even the more upscale Mile End and Plateau-Mont-Royale, had at least one sex shop, strip club, or adult movie house. My wife made a comment which sort of resonated—she wondered if this is what New York felt like before Giuliani cleaned things up. On a side note, I was also surprised at the number of phone booths, old-school camera stores (i.e. film processing) I saw, and the fact I got asked “smoking or non-smoking” at restaurants. Montreal did feel a little like a time-warp, for better or for worse.

After the weekend, the area got much quieter and I also got used to the neighborhood, which is ultimately why I recommend the hotel (they do everything they can in their power to provide value and service, the location being one thing out of their control). I come from New York and Chicago, two cities which have had extensive, public campaigns to clean and gentrify seedy areas and re-brand them for tourism. Seeing some areas in Montreal which were not ‘cleaned up’ and ‘branded’ for tourism reminded me almost every city I’ve been to (Chicago and New York included) have areas that are not polished. Things are also relative in the eye of the beholder, so take it with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacharyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very good place to stay if you want to see the colour and feel the vibrancy of this great city. The Latin Quarter is full of life and has all the amenities you could need. Hotel St-Denis in right in the middle of the UQAM campus, so the area is full of students as well as people looking for entertainment in the many bars, restaurants, theatres etc. The hotel is also very close (10-20 minutes walk) to the festival area and also Chinatown. Someone looking for a quiet time might want to look elsewhere.

The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are very good. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Note the language of choice here is French, though everyone also speaks some English. I often found myself in bilingual conversations, where I would speak French until I ran out of vocabulary, then we would switch to English.

I found on my last day there is a nice lounge area in the basement.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Cowley_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#76 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
806 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 164 in Montreal
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing