We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St-Denis
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Le Roberval(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lord Berri(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chrome(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
181
395
113
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
395
113
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quartergreat locationold montrealberri uqamgay villageparking garagemini fridgefree wifiminute walkplace to sleepcomfortable bedhomeless peoplequiet at nightbudget hotelairport buscoffee makerfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

it was great- the hotel staff took care of all my concerns-very nice room for the money - would stay there again- i felt very safe- good walking distance to to desired attractions-glad to not see Mc Donalds on every corner

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Like so many hotels of this type around the world, the St.Denis pulls off hotel keeping exceptionally well.
As others have said, it's small; located in an 'edgy' part of town; staffed by, seeming, amateurs (they all seem like they're pulling a shift between lectures @ UQAM, judging by the textbooks they read!).
By this I mean not the identikit types at the main stream hotels. They all knew what was what. The sum total is – it all works and works well.
One feature that seems to be overlooked is the enormous cellar (think Liverpool Cavern) which is a great place to chill.
The only problem we encountered was the night-time carousing from the alley below our window (109). This was, in order – a road crew dismantling a stage set for a band that had been playing in the venue next door; drunks/panhandlers screaming abuse at each other and lastly, a very noisy and enthusiastic amorous encounter.
Otherwise, a really great place to get a feel for the city.

Room Tip: Not 109!! Try for one as high as possible!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebottle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. The location was excellent in the Latin Quarter and a short walk to Old Montreal. There were plenty of restaurants nearby. We felt very safe and comfortable here and will definitely return. It was pretty easy to drive to coming off the Jacques-Cartier Bridge.

We splurged and got the jacuzzi suite which was well worth it. The view out of our window wasn't great, but the room was exceptionally clean and modern. We booked in advance directly through the hotel website, got a discount and the total bill came to $179 cdn, which included parking ($16) and all taxes.

The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but the rooms come with a refrigerator, coffee pot, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and free high speed internet.

The service was very good and employees helpful with any questions about restaurants, shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is centrally located at Berri UQAM. The Metro station is only 1 block away, and there are many restaurants in the vicinity. It is within walkable distance to Old Town, Chinatown, Sainte Catherine, and even Mont Royal.

Rooms are well-sized and clean. There were a few small problems such as sinks that don't drain properly etc, but nothing major. TV was a huge 40" LCD, very nice touch.

Staff were polite and efficient. They were also ready to answer any questions or entertain any requests. The staff made a mistake with one request that I made; I was given free breakfast for it. A hotel that tries to right things.

Room facing street was not that noisy, as some have indicated. I didn't hear anything as the sound of the air conditioning masked everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parcheesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews