We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good experience, will come again”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very good experience, will come again”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was very pleased with Hotel St. Denis and my experience there this past weekend (Remembrance day weekend) with my sister. I had read positive reviews here on tripadvisor and decided to book it while taking advantage of their 2nd night half off promotion.

Pros: 1) Super excellent location, close to everything and the metro which takes you pretty much anywhere in no time. 2) A great staff and service! Very friendly, professional, knowledgeable and helpful in every possible way. 3) The rooms were great for the price, very basic but with everything you would need on a basic level and very CLEAN (including washroom). The best part was the bed, it was super comfortable (we had the king bed booked). Our room came with ironing and blowdryer facilities. Decent WIFI. 5) They have nice promotions from time to time, we had booked our room with second night 50% off plus received a great coupon book with many attractions and dining options available to us for cheaper prices! 4) They have a really nice common room too, complete with a vending and ice machine, newspapers and brochures for different attractions, TV and sitting area. 5) Some people have said that their key cards did not work properly, we had no problems with it. It swiped just fine each time.

Cons: These were really negligible for us. 1) Noise. We had requested for a quiet room and it was indeed at the back of the building on the 3rd floor, but still experienced some noise whether from the staff cleaning up in the mornings outside the doors, or people walking and talking by, and the outside noise from the back of the building (garbage trucks). The walls are somewhat thin and since the hotel is in one of the prime areas (latin quarter), you cannot expect it to be 100% quiet. This may be an issue for light sleepers but it was no big deal for us. Overall I found the hotel to be very quiet and comfortable. 2) Small elevators. 3) The heating from the radiator made the room super hot, it was hard to control the temperature in the room, this was my only real complaint. 4) bathroom soap, lotion, and shampoo are provided, but no slippers or toothpaste so be prepared to bring your own.

I would definitely come back to this hotel again when in Montreal. It was a very good experience for a low budget affair.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking, they will do their best to get you a room at the back of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madiha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    360
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
262
97
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The room was large with high ceilings. The bathroom was nice. The key card took some practice to get it to work.
We had an issue with the bill which they were able to resolve without too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was very happy with Hotel St-Denis, and I would like to stay there again, but I would be concerned about taking my wife there. The staff, location, and rooms are great. There are a number of little things that you must work through, probably a little different for each room.

The staff are clear and personable, alert and awake, competent and kind. So different from a standard desk zombie found at almost any establishment in a city. An enjoyable, human interaction. The rooms are well laid out, high ceilings with clean surfaces (i.e. not so much carpets full of strange cleaning chemical residues). Good air.

The location is fine (see other reviews). Right by a central subway stop, next to a number of interesting restaurants (awesome soup within thirty feet. You need good soup in Montreal). Old architecture. You can walk to McGill, Convention Center, etc in a reasonable length of time, and walk will be with many people.

So, what are the frustrations? In no particular order:
1. Key card worked only one out of seven times.
2. Peeling wallpaper
3. Radiator heat, harder to regulate
4. Elevator is tiny
5. Only one person at the desk in general
6. Something else no big deal

Go to St. Denis. Be happy.

Room Tip: Well, my room was on the street and had real noise. I assume back room would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SlowCurrents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel St. Denis for our last 2 nights of our holidays. We had a rented car and we found the hotel very easily. The hotel has a free parking space just in front of the door so that you can unload your luggage and check-in without too much stress. You can stay 15 minutes for free which is more than enough really.

The hotel is very nice actually and the rooms are large and comfortable. In the room itself, you will find a large bed, cable tv, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, coffee making facility (but not tea). The bathroom is also quite large and has all you need. You will also find a lift, which is great when you have to carry large suitcases all the way to your bedroom. Upon check-out (12pm) you can leave you suitcase in the left luggage box downstairs (they actually give you a lock and key!).

Location wise, I think we just could not find better really. You are close to the UQAM train station where you can catch both green and orange line. Very practical and only 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Another advantage is to be just minutes away from Rue Ste Catherine, where you will find plenty of shops, and will provide you easy access to the town centre. The old town is also not too far, and can be reached by foot in less than 30 minutes.

I guess the only negative we could find is that for the price of the room you don not have breakfast included. having said that, we enjoyed the small diner down the road (Deno's) where you will find plenty of choices for breakfast as a competitive price. another option is the restaurant next door, but we did not try it.

The surrounding of the hotel can feel a bit unsafe at night (lot of drunks and beggars), eventhough we did not experience any particular issues. The hotel room was very nice and we had a couple of great nights. It was a bit noisy but since Montreal is a massive construction site these days, it is difficult to put all the blame on the hotel.

All in all a very nice hotel, in a good location. I would recommend if you can see beyond the atmosphere of the neighborhood at night!

Room Tip: I think you can catch the shuttle to the airport just minute away from the hotel... make sure you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good sized modern rooms, and option of jacuzzi . Central location to metro, and bus stop close. Travel to airport... which takes 30- 40 minutes by bus. Walking distance to old town and Latin quarter. Location felt safe during the day. Next to ' soup soup ' a great spot for lunch. Only issue we had was when we wanted a lie in for the morning , despite putting the ' no disturbance ' sign up, we found that the cleaners would shout at the top of their voices to each other, almost as if to wake us up so they could clean our rooms. I don't mind the noise of a hoover, as they need to do their jobs but shouting from staff?! Service could be more friendlier throughout.

Room Tip: Choose rooms higher up away from street as hotel is next to a club which can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMay1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceresco, Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

it was great- the hotel staff took care of all my concerns-very nice room for the money - would stay there again- i felt very safe- good walking distance to to desired attractions-glad to not see Mc Donalds on every corner

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing