We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latin Quarter Hotel”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #46 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel St-Denis. The entrance way is just a doorway off the street of St Denis, but the reception area was reassuring. We had an extra large room with a small kitchenette with microwave and a small refrigerator. There was a coffee maker too. The nice thing was that there were real mugs that made a nice cup of tea after a day of sight seeing. The room was comfortable and clean though not modern. The best things is the location. We walked to the Old Port and Old Town easily. There is a metro stop on the corner with the whole of Montreal available to visit. They do have car parking in a garage around the corner. It does cost extra. The area has many restaurants and coffee cafe. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltoROberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family and I stayed here on our recent trip to Montreal. The hotel is very modest, the rooms are not very large, and there are no amenities to the hotel to speak of. That being said, it was clean, comfortable, and for the price it made a good choice. The location is the star attraction with this hotel. It's within walking distance of Chinatown, the river, the Notre Dame Basilica, Gay Village, and Old Town. 15 minutes or less from those places.

However, if you have a family with you, you'll probably want to stay off Rue St. Catherine. It's full of homeless people, strip clubs, and sex shops. So, just go down another street.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel has NO noise in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitech616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is old (built in the 1920's) but has kept its charm. It is in an ideal location close to all of the highlights of Old Montreal. The rooms are large and clean and the staff very polite and helpful. The beds are very comfortable.

When you are in Old Montreal you spend the whole day out walking around sight-seeing so why spend a fortune on a more modern hotel when this one will offer more than what you need.

Close to some wonderful restaurants too!

Room Tip: If you are going to be staying for a while, ask for one of the larger rooms. Still very inexpensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed in Montreal from May 8th to 13th 2014 and stayed in St Denis hotel for 2 nights. It was a great experience. Really like the hotel. It is an older hotel, but still has class and personality. The staff was friendly always giving a "bonjour" or "bon soir" when you came and left. Very clean and was directly across from the University of Quebec. It didn't have a mini fridge, but it was fine. Great experience and definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I visited with my boyfriend for the weekend and was pleasantly surprised. We got a great value but the accommodations and location were excellent. Set near old montreal and the new young hip neighborhood most sites were within an easy walking or cab ride. The hotel itself was beautiful, the bed super comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crickyla-rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a clean and comfortable hotel in a nice area (on St. Denis Street, directly across from UQAM). This is very much a budget hotel: the rooms are very plainly and minimally decorated, but clean and comfortable. Rooms on the back side of the hotel are indeed very quiet. Some have written about think walls: I did not find too many problems in this area, but sound can indeed penetrate from the hallway. Berri-UQAM metro station is only a block away; St. Denis Street has many take-out places and coffee shops. This is an ideal hotel for those on a tight budget. I dod not normally stay in budget hotels, but I would consider this hotel for my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesArabiaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The St-Denis is a good hotel in a good downtown location. I stayed there for a long weekend when I was in Montreal to meet up with a group of friends, and the hotel fit the bill nicely. It's small, with small basic rooms, and few amenities. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. For most of the stay, there was an odd odour in the hotel, like you would expect from some sort of adhesive applied over a large area. From some recent work, perhaps? It wasn't that bad, but it was noticeable enough that I briefly thought about opening a window to get some fresh air, but there were pigeons sitting just outside the window, so I opted to keep the windows closed and the pigeons out.

I would stay here again if I were to visit at my own expense, but if travelling for business at company expense, I would opt for somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#54 of 165 in Montreal
562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
857 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#38 of 165 in Montreal
397 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 165 in Montreal
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing