We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Montreal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #48 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our first stay in Montreal. The hotel was in a pretty good location...the bus stop is only a block or two away, and there are plenty of restaurants and cafe's within a short walking distance. Also the underground is not too far away...The staff is friendly and very accommodating(speaking French and English with ease). We had to leave our luggage although we had checked out, and they kept it safe, including laptops. The attached restaurant is quaint and the food is very good! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and wifi is easy connection. We were looking for a simple place, and we found it...for the money it is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back away from the traffic if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    349
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
90
258
95
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Everywas wonwonderful. The staff were gregreat, polite and helpful. The location was perfect with easy access to every thing we wanted to so. It was quiet and a great overall experience. We have already stated that on our next trip to Montreal we will stay at the Hotel St. Denis again! It was a refreshing pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandStacey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. There were four or five different people working at the front desk and they were all very nice. My final two days it rained, and they offered to give me an umbrella to take with me. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Nothing special but you get what you pay for.

The only negatives I can come up with were that there was no toilet paper when I arrived and my room did not have a phone. I didn't really need a phone, however, I did need the tp!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent Hotel in excellent location
This is an old hotel but clean and comfortable with polite and helpful staff. I didnt have any problems with the area as some have said but I spent most of my time in the centre of town, walking back at night still felt safe to me. It was a 5 minute walk to Berru Uqam, but on the first day I did walk to the centre of town and it only took 20 minutes. The wifi was fast and it was free, the bathroom is small but adequate apart from the shower which was weak. I was awoken by a loud American (Im assuming American and not Canadian as she was loud) at 3am shouting in the hallway but that is not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyatt20uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is an older hotel in the heart of Montreal just steps from St. Catharines street. There are indeed a few sex shops and strip clubs in the vicinity, but anyone who has ever been to Montreal knows these are everywhere. The district feels very safe, however, and there are excellent restaurants and bars and shops very close by. We selected this place because of the promise of secure indoor parking, which indeed is possible in a garage just around the corner from the hotel, barely 60 seconds walk away. The room is clean, the front desk clerk who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The internet connection is strong. I can't imagine better accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel St-Denis. The entrance way is just a doorway off the street of St Denis, but the reception area was reassuring. We had an extra large room with a small kitchenette with microwave and a small refrigerator. There was a coffee maker too. The nice thing was that there were real mugs that made a nice cup of tea after a day of sight seeing. The room was comfortable and clean though not modern. The best things is the location. We walked to the Old Port and Old Town easily. There is a metro stop on the corner with the whole of Montreal available to visit. They do have car parking in a garage around the corner. It does cost extra. The area has many restaurants and coffee cafe. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltoROberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family and I stayed here on our recent trip to Montreal. The hotel is very modest, the rooms are not very large, and there are no amenities to the hotel to speak of. That being said, it was clean, comfortable, and for the price it made a good choice. The location is the star attraction with this hotel. It's within walking distance of Chinatown, the river, the Notre Dame Basilica, Gay Village, and Old Town. 15 minutes or less from those places.

However, if you have a family with you, you'll probably want to stay off Rue St. Catherine. It's full of homeless people, strip clubs, and sex shops. So, just go down another street.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel has NO noise in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitech616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#37 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing