We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professional service”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed there for conference, had a really quiet room, although I was sceptical since st denis is some kind of party area/night life but my room was really quiet and had good standard, really accessible 24 h,
found out at the last day they have a pool billard in the cellar with tv coffee maker, no breakfast, but anyway you needn't search long to find a coffeeshop nearby, the komiko restaurant right next to I recommend for dinner/lunch, you can drop your baggage in a closet down in the cellar after checkout

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

When I arrived at the hotel I was a bit nervous because there was graffiti
On the fifth floor outside , then I thought damn how did the little bastards get up there but after getting checked in and laying on the very comfortable bed I thought wow this is worth the price! So far very pleased.
The hotel is very old but completely refurbished. The people here are very pleasant . I'm almost positive on of them was giving me the eye. Lol
Anyway the wifi is great and it is centerly located to several taverns to get me drunk and take taxi back. Paking is in garage and only cost 17.00 for 24 hours. Hotel was only 109.00 for king bed.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location in the Latin Quarter beside Rue St. Cathrine. Room was clean but basic, and service was good. It was a little noisy and you can hear people in the hallways but it wasn't too bad. TV didn't work in my room but wasn't bothered by it as all rooms have free Wi-Fi and it is quite fast too. Front desk and staff were always very friendly. Bathroom was small, not very fancy but everything worked fine. When you're out exploring Montreal all day all you need is a nice, clean room in a good location this hotel offers just that and at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank IMTravel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a week in this hotel recently. Having initially booked a room to sleep four adults, I ended up booking my young adult daughter and her boyfriend into the Hotel Latin Quarter down the road in favour of sleeping in two double beds so close together we could hold hands all night! On the third night, I was upgraded to move to a suite with a jacuzzi for the last five nights and this room was really lovely.
The staff were friendly enough and the rooms clean. I was a little concerned about the security situation after coming home late at night on a couple of occasions to find the hotel entrance wide open to the street without any staff in attendance. This is a problem mostly because of the large number of homeless people wandering this area of the city.
Location wise this is a good choice, easy walk to the old quarter and/or the Jazz Festival site.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked 2 nights at Hotel St. Denis. This was a perfect location to walk just about anywhere. 2 blocks from the restaurants and bars on St. Denis and just down the street from Old Montreal.
And if you didn't feel like walking the metro was just 2 blocks away.
The staff was friendly and was prompt to get us our room. Parking was reasonable, and you had in and out privileges. The room was very clean and had just the right amount of space for my husband and I. If you are looking for a room with a view this is not the hotel for you. It is only 4 floors and our room faced the alley.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conchita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff here is wonderful and helpful! The room was rather large and clean. The walking distance to the old city is not bad. The hallway noise was very minimum. However, be aware that in this area they are quite a few street people milling about. However, they did not cause any problems.

Room Tip: We got a room at the end of a hallway. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellow_Butterfly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a delightful hotel! It was built in the 1920's, however the rooms are very comfortable and modern. The wi-fi worked in our room, the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The best part is the hotel is less than 2 blocks from the main metro train station making it easy to travel to any part of Montreal. It is across the street from the university of Quebec at Montreal, and the cross street St. Catherine is a major shopping, dining, and pub area with part of the street a pedestrian only area. Our room faced St. Denis street and had street noise. We were there for 3 nights before leaving on a st. Laurence seaway cruise. It was comfortable, a good value, and convenient.

Room Tip: Facing St Denis street is somewhat noisy but it has a good view of cathedral tower. Inner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JERRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#55 of 165 in Montreal
564 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 165 in Montreal
859 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#35 of 165 in Montreal
399 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#54 of 165 in Montreal
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £77 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing