We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for the Price!”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Windsor, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay for the Price!”
Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband & I stayed at the St Denis for 2 nights last weekend, we were in Montreal to visit some family and really didn't want to spend a ton of money for a quick trip. Of course, we also didn't want to sleep with cockroaches & crackheads either! This is always a concern when travelling to large cities, price versus class. I have to say that while the St Denis is not an luxuurious hotel it is very clean, conveniently located and reasonably priced. Our only complaint would be the plumbing, when showering, you basically have 2 choices; a cold shower or a hot drip! My husband was particularly annoyed by this but I figured it was a small price to pay for the benefits. We travel quite often and feel fairly well qualified to judge hotels and when I compare the St Denis to other hotels in the same price range in other major cities, the St Denis blows them away! We once stayed at a hotel in South Beach in the same price range and really did wake up to crackheads on the font stoop, left over from the night before! So if you want a affordable & clean hotel, within walking distance of clubs, restuarants & tourists areas, in the downtown Montreal area, the St Denis is excellent choice, if you want more than that, be ready to pay for it!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out about good restaurants in the area before you go, reception clueless about this!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluekenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    361
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
263
97
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2006

The hotel was fine- not great. The room was rather small but we could manage. As for the location- the neighbourhood didn't seem dangerous but there were lots of sex shops, sex clubs etc around.
The front desk was ok but they didn't seem to go out of their way to help you. It was one of the only places we visited which didn't give us maps. On Saturday morning breakfast is not served before 9:00, and no one bothered to tell you ahead. As we were in a hurry to the airport we just walked a few blocks to have breakfast.
I don't think I'd stay in this hotel once more.

  • Liked — location (in spite of the problems)
  • Disliked — the room was too small
  • Tips/Secrets — find out if they have differetn sizes of rooms
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2006

We found this hotel by walking from another one that we could not stay at because of the condition of the room. We found this hotel to be clean, very courteous staff, quiet, conveniently located in the downtown area. We were able to walk to everything from the hotel and never had to take the car out of the garage. Our room was large, had very comfortable beds, and was impeccably clean. Bathrooms are a big deal to me when travelling, and this was very clean and sanitized. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for GREAT value for the money. It is not 4 star, so if that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere, but it is certainly 3+ in my books. Everything you could ask for on a budget. We even had a coffee maker, ironing board and iron in our room!

  • Liked — Convenient location, and very clean
  • Disliked — Their parking garage is 1 block away from the hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CubanRum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

I recently stayed two nights at this hotel and was very pleased with it.

Pros:
The location can't be better, with a metro station two blocks away and the central bus station three blocks away. Also, Ste. Catherine street is just steps away, and you can walk to the old town too. The front-desk staff is very helpful. I arrived early in the morning, when there still weren't any rooms available, so I was given a key to a big locker for my luggage for free. The restaurant/bistro serves excellent food at very affordable prices with very good service by very friendly staff. My room was quiet, confortable, well decorated, of good size, had everything I could possibly need, and most importantly, was very clean. Finally, it's really affordable.

Cons:
The lobby feels too small
My room was a little too dark, but ok
The a/c was loud and inefficient (fortunately, I didn't really need it)

Conclusion: I would return for sure!

  • Liked — Location, service, value.
  • Disliked — Everything OK.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Saint Denis over a long labor Day weekend. It is a very nice Intown Hotel. The best thing about it was the location, right across from the Berri train station that connects 2 main subway lines & at the Intersection of St. Denis and St. Catherine. It is in a college area, so there are lots of young people around. There is a mall with a grocery store a couple of blocks down St. Catherine. Going North on St. Denis, there are some nice restaurants and clubs with a bit of a Bohemian atmosphere in the neighborhood. We did not eat at the Hotel, but there is a Panini Restaurant next door that we had 2 good meals at.
The room itself was average with an above average bed, which is all we really care about. The bathroom was newly remodeled with a good shower. The TV had about 30 channels, I believe. The coffee in the room was some of the best in room coffee I've ever had. The front desk staff were all helpful. The only real problem was a noisy air conditioner in our room that kept us awake at night when the compressor kicked on. We did not complain to the hotel about it because we thought we would get used to it. We never did. I'm sure if we said something to them, they would have corrected it. This is just an reminder to check that out if you decide to stay there.
All in all I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for good value accomodations in downtown Montreal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Air Conditioner
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2006

It's good value for the money. The rooms were comfortable and
the location was good. Staff was nice. The price had included
a free breakfast in the coffeeshop next door but we found out
that this has changed. The coffee shop changed ownership
and the hotel told us they weren't sure what the deal would be
with the new coffee shop owners. The deal currently incudes
an $8, breakfast at another nearby restaurant.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank eshatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Phila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

The good:
location in interesting and convenient part of town, very near metro, low price, free breakfast, very large room, clean (esp. bathroom), one very firm bed, generally quiet, one block from bike path on Rue Berri which leads down to the waterfront
The bad:
a number of unsavory characters panhandling on blocks near hotel, very long wait for breakfast, very noisy air conditioner, other rather sagging bed, windows opened onto air shaft, rather smoky due to proximity to hotel laundry where chambermaids congregated and smoked (?), room rather dark and plain

Also of note: called hotel directly to book extra large room (2 queens and a sofa bed), and was told none were available. Ended up booking "superior room" on Hotels. A week before our arrival, had to call hotel to change dates by one day, and was offered extra large room for our whole stay. Perhaps one had become available....

Recommendation: go to La Brioche Lyonnaise just up Rue St. Denis for beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts in their rear garden.

All in all, would possibly stay there again for the location and the price.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — tired, rather dark room, unfresh smell
  • Tips/Secrets — eat breakfast outside at La Brioche Lyonnaise at least once
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomewhatSelective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#43 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing