We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terrasse Royale
Ranked #82 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Terrasse Royale during our weekend trip to Montreal. We didn't want to spend too much money staying at an expensive hotel downtown, and this place was definitely worth it. We were immediately impressed by the location: a 10 minute bus ride to the downtown core and close to everything you need (metro station, restaurants, pubs, farmer's market, 24-hour grocery store, pharmacy, bakery, brunch spots). The staff were pleasant and very friendly, and our room was spacious and well-kept, with everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a deal and a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Not expensive. Ten minute bus to downtown over the mountain which is on the corner which seemed like every five minutes. Metro cote des neiges right on the corner if your into the restaurant scene in the plateau in the east or there is also a bus gets you there that runs all night. Local bars and pubs in the neighborhood are great. 24hr grocery store, pharmacy and small farmers market all with a one block radius. Save yourself a couple hundred $$ and a deserted downtown and late night partygoers. Great little neighborhood.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family in Montreal. Having a comfortable one bedroom apartment was a bargain for the price. Our apartment seemed to have been recently renovated and was nicely furnished. It faced the back and was quiet. The tiny kitchen was equipped with the basics (except for a cutting board), so we were able to cook dinner there at least once, even inviting two guests, which saved us money. The onsite underground parking is very tight, but once we parked we just left our car there for three days and used Montreal's excellent public transportation system. (One tip: to get into the underground parking, pull into the driveway located on the right-hand side of the building. At the end of the inclined driveway is a metal garage door will open when you pull in front of it.) Although it would be hard to walk to tourist destinations from the hotel, the Metro station is just a block away and takes away the stress of driving in the city.
We had no problems with the staff. They all seemed friendly and helpful and quickly brought up a few more plates and glasses which we requested.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The money you save by booking a hotel room here is not worth the couple extra bucks in your pocket. I came with a few friends and the staff did not make us feel welcome in any way. They were extremely rude and not accommodating. The location is not preferable. It is about a 10 minute drive to downtown, so if you factor in the cab money you're spending, the low prices of the room do not really save you that much money. My advice, splurge for a hotel in the center of downtown Montreal and skip the hassle of staying at the Terrasse Royale.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

the hotel room was decent and included a mini kitchen. however, the staff was terrible and didn't make a single effort to make us feel welcome. they were very rude to us and one guy was incredibly snobby. the money i saved by staying here was not nearly worth the unpleasant experience of dealing with these people.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay with a reasonable price considering the 200$ per night prices of the downtown hotels. I am glad i found this hotel. The price is ok, the location well accessible by metro or bus - 15 min to the downtown area. The people are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has seen better days and everything is very used, but it was clean and comfortable. You get absolutely what you are paying for. I had a nice stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Since I have studied at Montreal University in the 1978 and lived in the Cote des Neiges region in 1998, this hotel is my preferred location to stay when visiting Montreal. The easy of transport with the metro station, variety of people (young and old, rich and poor, and its multicultural nature) make it an interesting location to visit. The staff is very diligent and friendly; their international experience is also enjoyable. I recommend this as an alternative to staying downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Chabrol Hotel & Suites
#105 of 165 in Montreal
44 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
550 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 165 in Montreal
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#51 of 165 in Montreal
436 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
950 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Royale

Address: 5225 chemin Cote-des-Neiges | Near Swail, Montreal, Quebec H3T 1Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £62 - £820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrasse Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Côte des Neiges, Hotel Terrasse Royale is the ideal location where to stay in Montreal! Côte des Neiges is a historical neighbourhood, at the center of Montreal and at the slope of Mount Royal. We are 10 minutes away from downtown and two steps away from the Saint-Joseph Oratory. Around Hotel Terrasse Royale you will find many restaurants with different types of cuisines, pubs, markets, pharmacies, hospitals, bus stops, Côte des Neiges metro station and universities. Hotel Terrasse Royale has 56 rooms of different types to better accommodate you, a gym and a coffee shop. The rooms and suites are equipped for short stays and long stays and they will have everything that you need. Our personnel are attentive to all your needs as your satisfaction is our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing