We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Terrasse Royale
Ranked #87 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel to stay at. i spent a weekend there with a few friends and we had a great time. the hotel staff was very nice and we had no problem. the price wasn't to bad and the rooms were comfortable.. the area around the hotel is more of a french/ euro feel with quite a few little bistro's and cafe's.. very nice and freindly area.. the hotel also had a parking garage under it which was good... downtown was full of bars, and all kinds of clubs.. it was about a 10 min ride by taxi and was about $10-$13 bucks, not bad when you've had a few drinks.. overall nice hotel...

Room Tip: 6th floor had nice views from deck.. room 603..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
27
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is a bit unusual from the outside - as the lobby is very small sandwiched between shops and busy-looking signs, but do come in. The staff are nice and the rooms are to be honest, frankly enormous. Mine had a king sized bed, couch, desk, chairs, a walk in closet, a kitchenette with silverware, and they had a coffee maker, plus a nice glass shower in the very clean bathroom. My only suggestion would be to bring your own coffee as the rooms had none, but there is a cafe next door.

This part of town is near the business school on a busy street, but if you walk a block off the main drag you are in a neighborhood with apartments, townhouses, and small parks. Close to where I needed to come for business, this was an affordable, easily accessible spot, very close to the subway, and if needed, the staff can get you a cab with five minutes notice. The main street has a lot of activity, mix of families and students, and it was fun to walk around, people watch, find some affordable but excellent food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the building so you are off the street. Room DOES smell of cleani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starlightllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Terrasse Royale during our weekend trip to Montreal. We didn't want to spend too much money staying at an expensive hotel downtown, and this place was definitely worth it. We were immediately impressed by the location: a 10 minute bus ride to the downtown core and close to everything you need (metro station, restaurants, pubs, farmer's market, 24-hour grocery store, pharmacy, bakery, brunch spots). The staff were pleasant and very friendly, and our room was spacious and well-kept, with everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a deal and a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Not expensive. Ten minute bus to downtown over the mountain which is on the corner which seemed like every five minutes. Metro cote des neiges right on the corner if your into the restaurant scene in the plateau in the east or there is also a bus gets you there that runs all night. Local bars and pubs in the neighborhood are great. 24hr grocery store, pharmacy and small farmers market all with a one block radius. Save yourself a couple hundred $$ and a deserted downtown and late night partygoers. Great little neighborhood.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family in Montreal. Having a comfortable one bedroom apartment was a bargain for the price. Our apartment seemed to have been recently renovated and was nicely furnished. It faced the back and was quiet. The tiny kitchen was equipped with the basics (except for a cutting board), so we were able to cook dinner there at least once, even inviting two guests, which saved us money. The onsite underground parking is very tight, but once we parked we just left our car there for three days and used Montreal's excellent public transportation system. (One tip: to get into the underground parking, pull into the driveway located on the right-hand side of the building. At the end of the inclined driveway is a metal garage door will open when you pull in front of it.) Although it would be hard to walk to tourist destinations from the hotel, the Metro station is just a block away and takes away the stress of driving in the city.
We had no problems with the staff. They all seemed friendly and helpful and quickly brought up a few more plates and glasses which we requested.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The money you save by booking a hotel room here is not worth the couple extra bucks in your pocket. I came with a few friends and the staff did not make us feel welcome in any way. They were extremely rude and not accommodating. The location is not preferable. It is about a 10 minute drive to downtown, so if you factor in the cab money you're spending, the low prices of the room do not really save you that much money. My advice, splurge for a hotel in the center of downtown Montreal and skip the hassle of staying at the Terrasse Royale.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

the hotel room was decent and included a mini kitchen. however, the staff was terrible and didn't make a single effort to make us feel welcome. they were very rude to us and one guy was incredibly snobby. the money i saved by staying here was not nearly worth the unpleasant experience of dealing with these people.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#60 of 164 in Montreal
375 reviews
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#63 of 164 in Montreal
510 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 164 in Montreal
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Royale

Property: Hotel Terrasse Royale
Address: 5225 chemin Cote-des-Neiges | Near Swail, Montreal, Quebec H3T 1Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrasse Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Côte des Neiges, Hotel Terrasse Royale is the ideal location where to stay in Montreal! Côte des Neiges is a historical neighbourhood, at the center of Montreal and at the slope of Mount Royal. We are 10 minutes away from downtown and two steps away from the Saint-Joseph Oratory. Around Hotel Terrasse Royale you will find many restaurants with different types of cuisines, pubs, markets, pharmacies, hospitals, bus stops, Côte des Neiges metro station and universities. Hotel Terrasse Royale has 56 rooms of different types to better accommodate you, a gym and a coffee shop. The rooms and suites are equipped for short stays and long stays and they will have everything that you need. Our personnel are attentive to all your needs as your satisfaction is our priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing