We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Viger
Ranked #104 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in a good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a really good time. The front desk staff was very helpful in finding parking and was friendly and polite.

Our room was not the newest room and seemed a little run-down, but since the hotel is not very expensive, that was more than reasonable. Everything was clean and well-maintained (and we liked that, at least on the 2nd floor, the housekeeping came around during noon so you could sleep in without worrying that your room wouldn't be cleaned at all). The heating worked very well (which is quite important in winter in Montreal). We didn't try the free breakfast, since it was served between 8 and 9 and we weren't up yet. Our room was out to the back side and it was very quiet, we slept very well in the comfortable bed.
The area does seem a little sketchy, but with this being my 2nd stay in Montreal, I almost feel that every downtown area has something sketchy to it. And the hotel staff makes sure to keep the front door locked, so we never saw any weird people in the actual hotel building. Other than that, it is very convienently located, with the old town only 10 minutes away, chinatown 5 and a metro station 5 minutes away and Rue St. Catherine 10 minutes away (all by foot).

Overall, I'd totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good hotel experience at a sensationally low price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupinchen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Viger. For decades, Hotel Viger has been providing tourists with affordable accommodation in down-town Montreal. We do our best to make sure that our guests have a safe and enjoyable stay. We will be happy to welcome you back at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    51
    37
    24
    35
See reviews for
21
63
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I've stayed in budget hotels in almost every state in the US and this is easily the best hotel I've stayed in at this cost. The hotel is incredibly convenient to Berri-UQAM metro stop and less than 2 miles from most of the tourist attractions I went to. Everyone on staff is friendly and accommodating. There is always someone at the desk, there is a separate key for front door and your bedroom. The toilets work powerfully.

My room was spacious, well ventilated and the internet was fast and easy to access. Everything was clean and tidy. There was more than enough storage for a week or two's worth of clothing. We had a minifridge. My mattress was very firm and not the most comfortable, but again, I chose where to spend my money. What else do you want at these prices? CanJAD and Mountgrande are nuts, and they almost scared me away from coming here.

Street parking seems very doable in this neighborhood, but pay close attention to the signs.
Lundi is Monday; Mar is Tuesday; Jeudi is Thursday; Vendredi is Friday. Don't get a ticket. There is a parking lot available but we never needed it. The croissants aren't great, but the coffee is nice.

Room Tip: Rooms all start with a 1. 13x is the 3rd floor. 11x is the 1st floor. There are no elevators, so try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 682MichaelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Customer, We really appreciate that a customer would write a review to help clear our name. We are very pleased that you found our hotel well located and affordable. Hotel Viger is located a walking distance from Convention Center and from 2 Metro stations: Champs de Mars and Berri UQAM. It is also a walking distance from Old Montreal, China Town, and Latin Quarter. We are committed to provide our guests with the good service at the best possible rates for this downtown location. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We checked into our hotel around 6 pm and were given Room 108. We dropped off our luggage and left to explore more of the city. Upon arriving back to our hotel my spouse had wanted to use the washroom to use the shower and noticed the toilet was over flowing with water and fecal matter from I would imagine the previous guest's use. I also noticed that there were strange yellow stains on the comforter and upon touch and smelled them, it smelled of urine and also black scuff marks on the sheet linens. I called the front desk to inform them and the agent seemed very upset that we called. And was reluctant to not offer any assistance. I told him we feel uncomfortable at this hotel and would like to check out and speak with him about a refund in lieu of providing basic hotel needs such as a functioning toilet and clean bed sheets. We went up to the front desk and the agent came out. He was very upset and continued to say he had nothing to talk about to us. And he would not refund or help. We were so surprised by his attitude and volitile demeanor. He stated that he did not care about what happened to us and that we should just leave. He was very aggressive. My spouse and I kept our calm composure and was trying to simply ask him to help us and to provide us with a refund. He became so aggressive Where he couldn't control himself and had to walk into the back room behind the door then come out again to continue to tell us he has nothing to talk about with us. We both began to get worried for our personal safety due to his aggressive nature and his body language. I called the police in which they came to speak with him. Even after speaking with the police he was still reluctant to not help us, provide us alternative accommodation, or the refund that was charged on my credit card. So at 10 pm after a snow storm we are stranded in the cold to find accommodation. Do not stay here, ever! We will never stay at anything lower then a three star rating after this experience. I have yet to hear from a manager. And the staff all say they don't know his name? Very sketchy establishment. Feel abused.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I don't know where to start. It had to be the worst experience I have suffered in a long time. As me and my boyfriend had no choice but to stay somewhere cheap, we picked this place. Biggest mistake. The toilet overflowed the first time using it and the comforter was covered in dry urine. As we gathered our things to speak to the front desk, he refused to help us. He just told us to get out in a very aggressive manner as if it was our faults till the point where we had to call the police. Then as they couldn't do anything about it we call the credit card company and found out he front desk managed to charge us twice. I don't know if this is some sort of scam or the management writes all these positive reviews, but they are all false. Now I'm emotionally scared from the experience and will hope that karma gets them back for the horrible stay. The rude man needs to get some therapy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed for two nights during school vacation with my daughter. Obviously we know how it is up there in the winter, snow. The hotel manager helped me shovel out a spot to park in. Much appreciated since it was right out front!! (though, I need to read the signs better, I did get towed so they could plow!) the manager also helped me with that. Their customer service is fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel. For the price, location and the people, it's fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen3fur24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest, We are glad that you enjoyed the customer service, the location and the rates of the hotel. Yes, parking can be tricky in Montreal at winter times when new signs unexpectedly appear due to snow cleaning. Even Montreal residents have difficulties with that from time to time. However, the hotel employees always do their best to assist the customers with finding parking. Thank you for your kind review. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

For the price you pay don't expect much out of this place. Not a good place to stay if you are in Montreal for more than 2 nights. Be prepared to eat breakfast some place else, since the included breakfast is really a croissant with some coffee and juice. It's walkable distance to the old port.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hotel Viger is located a walking distance from Metro stations Champ de Mars and Berri UQAM. It is at a walking distance from Convention Center, Old Montreal, China Town, Latin Quarter, and Saint-Catherine Street. Using the Metro you can easily get to such places as Jean-Drapeau park’s Sainte-Hélène island where the La Ronde is located, and where the Grand-Prix and numerous concerts take place every year; as well as the Montreal Casino. All it takes is one stop on the metro from Berri-UQAM and a short bus ride. You can also take a subway to reach Montreal Botanical Garden and Olympic Stadium, as well as numerous museums. All these places of interest can be easily accessed from the subway stations located a walking distance from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

For the past 9 years we've stayed at this charming hotel. Clean and comfortable. Fantastic location 10 minute walk to the Old Port near 2 Metro stops. Breakfast (croissants or muffin, coffee or tea, OJ) included. Free WiFi-internet access. Parking easily available all around hotel. Wonderful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Double beds room is bigger then then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Dimi Travel, We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from the repeat customers of the hotel. Thank you for your comments. We will be happy to welcome you again in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#113 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#107 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#114 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#92 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viger

Property: Hotel Viger
Address: 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viger 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is close to the Convention Center, Latin Quarter, China Town and Montreal Arts Museum. Old Montreal - Old Port and Notre Dame Basilica are within walking distance as well. The Hotel Viger Montreal, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, is located in the center of Montreal, adjacent to the St-Laurent River. Concordia University, Botanical Gardens, Montreal Casino, and the Olympic Stadium are also very close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viger Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing