We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - very helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Viger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viger
Ranked #112 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in Montreal for 3 days and we found the hotel to be perfect, at least for us. Of course, if u r expecting 5 stars, u won't get it. Our expectations are:
safety (e.g. theft), good/perfect location, friendly/helpful staff, affordable, clean & not noisy room. This hotel gets an a+ from us for all of the above.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

For over 20 years we've stayed at this charming, century-old inn. Clean, comfortable (fantastic beds-most comfortable of any place we've ever stayed). The location is very handy-between 2 Metro stops and a 10 minute walk to the Old Port or to St. Catherine St. very reasonable, seasonal rates, including breakfast (croissants or muffin, coffee, tea or chocolate and OJ). Free internet access in the lounge and parking is available for a fee. Wonderful, personal service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franco003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We truly enjoyed staying at the Viger Hotel. It's in a very central location (ca 10 Min to the Basilica and the Old Montreal Downtown) and has very polite and good English-speaking service. The outside looks of the hotel and the rooms themselves are not ultra-luxurious, so if you look for luxury you may need to go somewhere else (and pay considerably more). For us, however, it was the perfect choice and the "petite dejeuner" (continental breakfast) sufficient for a good start in the morning. Parking was also easily found around the hotel (we parked on a Friday evening and there is free parking then available all around the hotel till Monday morning). If you really don't know where to park (which would be surprising to me) then the hotel can still offer you a day-pass at a nearby parking lot for Can-$ 10. The Wifi-internet was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tj123pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

After searching through many websites dealing with various accomidations and price ranges, I found this hotel and price range to be the most easy to deal with! The price was fantastic! Check in was a breeze! Parking was at the front door!
They give great old fashion service! No frills or bologna! Clean quiet accomidations. The shower in room 11..let's just say OMG! I almost forgot to add soap to the equation, best shower I have ever felt! Staff was helpfull and very nice and willing to help with getting around the city with EXACT directions. I couldn't thank them enough! They truly understand what customer service is all about!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank montrealtraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

This place leaves something to be desired - and that's being kind. The hallway stank of excrement, as did the room. The staff were relatively helpful but you just wouldn't want to stay there despite that. It would be fine for one night after a long evening out drinking and you didn't care about the state of the place. The bathroom was disgusting, bin wasn't emptied from previous guests. We had a room on the ground floor by the front door - the doorbell was ringing throughout the night; when someone above used water you could hear them; the same with someone moving around on the stairs. You could hear every conversation on Reception at any time, including heated family arguments in the morning. Just not good. When we checked out they did offer to change our room though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LozJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The Hotel Viger is a uncommon case of a hotel reduced price (59 $)
Attention (monitor on a daily by its owner), clean, FULL equipment (air conditioning / heating, hot water, cable, refrigerator, WI-FI, Internet room, microwave, coffee / tea making facilities).

Unlimited local calls and breakfast at no additional cost.

Strategic location, 3 blocks from a subway station, and bus stops front to HOTEL.

THE BEST-PRICE VALUE-CARE.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ARMANDO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We didnt mind it the first time. But when we went back the hotel had gone downhill.

Dint realize til we I got my next credit card statement, that the hotel had compromised my card.

Wish I could prove it.

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank merquisez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#110 of 165 in Montreal
317 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#111 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#124 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#146 of 165 in Montreal
47 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#122 of 165 in Montreal
137 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#95 of 165 in Montreal
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viger

Address: 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £33 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viger 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is close to the Convention Center, Latin Quarter, China Town and Montreal Arts Museum. Old Montreal - Old Port and Notre Dame Basilica are within walking distance as well. The Hotel Viger Montreal, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, is located in the center of Montreal, adjacent to the St-Laurent River. Concordia University, Botanical Gardens, Montreal Casino, and the Olympic Stadium are also very close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viger Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing