We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
261 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel in all areas, room, hallways, and lobby. Our room was much bigger than expected, very spacious in fact, and no issues with the bathroom either. Close to most touristy locations in the old port and about a 15 minute walk to the station and St. Catherine's Street. The staff were very attentive, too. No problems at all with this hotel and the price is fair for the area. We did not try the breakfast. The artworks are very impressive throughout.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    333
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
201
597
58
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the LHotel for 5 days in September 2013. The hotel is on the edge of the old town, in a pretty good location, and is effectively an art gallery with in-house lodging. We paid about $155 including breakfast.

If seeing a bunch of original sculptures and paintings up close is thrilling to you, you'll probably love this hotel. A glance at their website will tell all. I have friends who collect art and they would go nuts here. I'm surprised there are no armed guards keeping an eye on the originals.

If, on the other hand, a clean well-maintained hotel and a great breakfast are more important to you, you might not be that excited by the LHotel.

Our room had several broken items that the maintenance man did repair upon request, but there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling that the maintenance man said he could not fix. The corner of the marble sink top was cracked with a jagged edge that I covered with a towel to avoid getting cut on it in the dark.

The hotel's wi-fi internet access also went down for about 24 hours during our stay. It's a good thing that I didn't have any online work to do during that time. Fortunately there are nearby malls and Starbucks with free wi-fi where I could take my computer to log on. There were several other guests at the hotel on business trips and they were pretty upset with lack of access. The hotel offered no compensation or explanation other than "a technician has been called."

Our upgraded room was surprisingly large and well decorated, but it smelled funky (armpit-like), and the maids did not vacuum it at all while we were there, as far as I could tell. There were some little bits of tissue debris on the rug that remained in place from our arrival through our departure--my wife thought it would be a good test for housekeeping to leave them there--and for all I know they might still be there.

The breakfast that was included in our room rate was better than you'd get at a chain hotel, but certainly not great. If you've ever had a full Hilton buffet breakfast, you're likely to be disappointed at what the LHotel lays out.

The staff was on the whole pretty friendly, though when my wife requested a bit of extra shampoo (you know, the kind that most hotels give you in one-ounce plastic bottles) so we could wash some clothes in the sink, the lady at the front desk got snotty and said "There's already some in the room."

Although it's not the hotel's fault, there's building construction underway across the street, so whatever hope we had for sleeping late was dashed around dawn every morning by very loud banging and clanging and grinding. If sleeping late is included in your vacation plans, you might want to look elsewhere for now.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room that's not on the street next to the building under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glewbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this amazing hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of October. It was an unforgettable experience. The staff happy and helpful, the situation perfect on the edge of the Vieux Ville with restaurants and bars two minutes away. It was like visiting an art gallery with a new delight around every corner. We had an original Chagall in the bedroom and the walls in the corridors and public rooms were covered with works of art. The breakfast was very good and although continental in style had substantial meats, eggs and cheeses. The fruit was varied and beautifully presented.
I can honestly say that this was our best hotel experience,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess-the-Departed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was under a different name. It wasn't as nice as I remembered. It was a very quiet night of sleep, as no street noise. The room was okay, although rather small. We peeked in the room beside ours that was a suite and of course, it was much much nicer and larger. So, if you are willing to pay for it, you could have a great room there. The fitness center (if you can call it that) definitely needs an update. A few weights, a couple of exercise balls and about 3-4 large machines, of which one was out of order. The staff was very helpful though, and it was nice enough for one night.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a nicer room if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtwo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The reason for my cruise suggestion will appear later on in this review.
The first and foremost reason for the high rating was the service. My wife and I spent four nights here prior to our cruise. From the time we walked in we were greeted by a young, enthusiastic, friendly and helpful staff. They must have all graduated with honors from the school of hospitality and customer satisfaction. They assisted with inquiries and when we had a problem with the bathtub draining, one of them showed up in a few minutes and fixed it with a smile.
The hotel has only about 85 rooms, and the staff to room ratio was very high; a sure sign of management dedication to taking care of customers needs.
The hotel itself is a kick. It occupies what was once a bank building constructed in the mode of the late 1800's. The owner is the founder of Guess Jeans, and a modern art lover who placed his works of art all over the hotel, in the lobby, down the corridors, in the guest rooms. Even if you are not a Warhol admired, the effect is bright and cheerful.
Now for the room. It was a "superior deluxe" which actually is the standard room here. It was at the rear of the hotel on the first floor, directly down from the front desk. But because the hotel is built on a hillside, our windows actually were on the second floor above the Rue Notre Dame. We had little street disturbance and none from the hotel itself. The room was pleasant and reasonably spacious. My wife spent a lot of her time trying to figure out how we could take the painting above the bed home with us, but alas, we could not and had to leave it for the next guest.
Now the reasons for our "cruise" suggestion. Hotel architects and designers should be able to do what naval architects have done for years - provide enough storage space. Our cruise ship bathroom, for example, was about 75% of the hotel bathroom in size. It provided two sinks and more than enough shelf space for all our toiletries, and those provided by the ship, in addition to two complete sets of three very substantial towels. The hotel bathroom was way short of enough shelf space (althought there was room to install several more shelves), and since they install a single free standing sink, we hade no lower storage space at all. We have never, in more than 30 cruises, had a problem with finding shelf and storage space in our ships' bathrooms; we have often had problems in hotels. What's with it, guys? The same was true of the clothing space in the bedroom. L'Hotel provided a smallish armoire and limited drawer space, even though the room itself could have supported much more shelving and drawers. Again, we have always had more than enough drawer and closet space on board all our cruise ships; and we have sailed on 10 different cruise lines, from the least expensive to the most expensive.
We opted for the rate which included breakfast because an earlier trip to Montreal had taught me about that city's high food cost. L'Hotel provided a nice "continental" buffet in a well appointed and attractively decorated room, . It was a typical European buffet, almost all cold items, but sufficient to get a good start on the day. Service was, as expected, pleasant and efficient.
L'Hotel is located on Rue Saint Jacques in the heart of Vieux Montreal - the old city. It is very convenient for walking around the area, about one block from Notre Dame Cathedral, and within easy range of what seemed like 926 restaurants. We actually took a cab to two of our restuarants, but Montreal cabs are readily available and pretty reasonable. The flat rate to downtown Montreal (including Vieux Montreal) from the airport is $40.00 (Canadian).
So, despite issues with the storage space in the room, L'Hotel is a comfortable quirky, convenient and extremely pleasant boutique hotel designed for a stay of a few days at least so one can see this delightful city. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: With only 85 or so rooms, booking well in advance is a good idea; at least in non-winer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at L'hotel. Trust the positive reviews. This hotel is terrific in every way. From the staff to the accommodations to the location, couldn't ask for better. It's also close to the Place d'Armes metro as well as to some very nice restaurants around the Rue St Paul. Excellent fare and moderately priced. Restaurant Bourlingueur, Vieux Port Steakhouse, and Modavie...all a short walk from the hotel.

If in Montreal again, will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great location and lovely hotel. Valet parking was a great bonus. Room was spacious enough, breakfast was a cold buffet which was exactly what we wanted but a little pokey round the buffet table. Lounge in the lobby was quite comfortable. Just what we wanted to visit Montreal.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing