We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room, good service”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cantley, Qc
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bad room, good service”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Everything was great with this hotel until we got to our room. It was on the ground floor, uhoh, we had a view of a dark parking, another uhoh, the bed was tiny, uncomfortable, and the worse looking one i have ever seen in an hotel. Oh wait, the room had high ceilings, great, right? Wrong, since it was small, it felt higher then wider, which is not a good feeling. I got this hotel on hotels.com, is that why we were given this room?

We had great service at this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank valerie_c_vfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    345
    96
    22
    9
See reviews for
211
614
61
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a great time at the hotel. We stayed at premier room and it was big and very tastefully decorated. Fridge and a coffee machine were quite helpful as we are late people and were always late for breakfast.
There is a whirlpool in the bathroom; since it has not been mentioned in the room description it was a nice surprise for us.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We got an extra hour for late checkout for free and it was very nice.

Our stay could not be better and we are looking forward for staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

LHotel offered us a perfect stay in Montreal. It is centrally located, making it easy to get to Old Port, St. Catherine's Street, or wherever else you may be headed in the city. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, warm, and helpful and the accommodations are phenomenal. The lobby is filled with quirky, hip artwork and our room was classy and elegant. I always judge a hotel on its cleanliness and comfort, and LHotel did really well with both. It was nice and quiet in our room, the bed was comfortable and everything was spotless! I highly recommend LHotel.

The only small complaint I have was that we weren't given the heads up when checking in that parking was 22 Canadian Dollars per day. It was a bit of a surprise when we checked out after three days, but since we're familiar with "city parking" prices where we live, it wasn't too shocking. Plus, our car was kept safe and warm in a garage and the valets were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was the 3rd year as guest of LHotel and the experience was as pleasant as the first time. The hotel personnel, from reception and bell staff to housekeeping and breakfast room, was friendly, helpful, welcoming. The room was nothing short of extraordinary: who wouldn't like to wake up to original art by the likes of Motherwell or Ed Ruscha?! Or walk through corridors lined with Miro', Warhol, Rauschenberg or Robert Indiana? The sterile atmosphere of an impersonal hotel is totally absent: one feels like a guest in a friend's house. The daily breakfast is absolutely outstanding. Already looking forward to the next sejour at LHotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirella Menglid... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

It is true what everyone is saying - very unique and original - art everywhere, a very interesting lobby - and in an excellent location in Old Montreal. This hotel was a real splurge for us and we were happy that we did. We had a king suite corner room with fireplace - excellent for the minus 30 degrees temperature while we were there. the outside of the hotel is very inviting. The breakfast is more of a European style breakfast which we loved and the breakfast staff was very attentive.
My only criticism is that they say there is a business centre which is really one computer and printer beside the bar and the computer was not working the 3 days we were there and no one seemed too concerned about that.

Room Tip: if you are getting a king suite, ask for one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in Jan 2014 with friends and we booked the hotel based on the reasonable room rate and the reviews on tripadvisor.

The hotel is very cool with lots of great modern art (incl Andy Warhol and David Hockney). Staff are very friendly and the location is great... Victoria Square Metro round the corner and right in the heart of Old Montreal. Notre Dame is close by as well as the port etc.

We stayed in a twin room which was a good size with two doubles. Bathroom was however a bit on the small side with no iron or robes. It's also worth noting that the hotel serves breakfast but no other room service is available. I would call the hotel quirky and kitsch as opposed to a luxury boutique but really is personal and nice and would definitely recommend staying.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We agree with many of the other reviewers here - the great location, the brilliant pop art collection everywhere, the friendly staff, the nice rooms. But when you walk down the hall and your neighbor is blaring the TV and all you want to do is get some shut-eye, you'll be even happier for the quality noted in this review's title: the thick walls of this older place and thus the silence that greets you - and remains - in your room. (Maybe we've been staying in too many chain hotels lately!) We were here for New Year's, and they had a relaxing Brazilian jazz trio in the lobby-bar area in the early evening - the perfect way to preface a night of partying, or a simply to spend a low-key holiday evening. And, of course, the volume level was reasonable for both conversation and, we imagine, for the folks in the rooms above the lobby. The staff helped us with some touring logistics and with getting cabs - very much appreciated.

We had the lowest-priced room on the 4th floor, and it was comfortable and roomy.

I guess the only criticism we'd have is that the breakfast is so expensive ($15 for help-yourself continental with extras - some cold cuts, some fruit), especially when one doesn't want to wander around the streets in sub-zero weather looking for another place to eat. But the food offerings were fresh and tasty, so this is a minor blemish in an otherwise outstanding and interesting hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlottaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,338 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing