We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and well located”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our room was very big, with a comfortable sofa and an even better bed (2.20m long, which is fantastic for a tall person like me). The bathroom was also very spacious, with a separate bathtub and shower stall. One of the two lights there was out though, and the shower itself was average.
The hotel tries very hard to be artsy, but it feels like it's stuck halfway between a standard 3-star and and a funky 5-star. There are lots of nice touches, but somehow it doesn't quite come together.
Also, there are three steps outside to the main door, and then five more inside to get to the reception and the lifts. That's a lot of suitcase lifting.
Staff were friendly, but not overly so, as other reviewers seem to have experienced.
We had breakfast included in our rate. There was fresh fruit, pastries, and cereals. More than adequate, but nothing memorable. I asked for decaf coffee, and it was espresso style (very nice), but my partner's regular coffee was of the standard North American dirty dishwasher variety, and he said it wasn't very good.
All in all we had a very nice stay, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Choosing a hotel in Montréal was a tough choice, with so many to choose in various locations. We went with the L Hotel because we had planned out some activities and the hotel seemed to be located in the middle of them. What you can't see on a map is the hills, so the location of the hotel, near the harbour is at the bottom of a hill. We found that a lot of the bars and restaurants were at the top of town, up a steep hill near the mainstream hotels, whilst we were in the historic part of the city, so museums were very close.

The hotel itself was good, the service was impeccable, and the room was a good size with an average sized bathroom. You won't expect many views out of any window, as it is located between 2 streets. The internet in our room was exceedingly frustrating, it seemed we were the farthest away. The description also notes there is a gym, however this is really 3 pieces of equipment.

A quirky hotel, with lots of art on the walls. Expensive drinks at the bar, so we mainly used as a start and stop point to exploring the city. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone who wanted to visit the Historic part of the city, and it was good value compared to others in the area.

Lastly, you'll always find some nice cars outside the lobby!

Room Tip: Not much choice here in terms of views, ideally a room close to the lobby to ensure a good internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RhysBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Super friendly & helpful staff, great vibe to this renovated boutique hotel in Old Montreal, fantastic art all around the hotel, not too bad a walk to the Bell Centre.

Rooms tastefully decorated with everything you need, super high ceilings, nice lighting, and comfortable beds.

We needed an early check-in and they were very accommodating.

Breakfast area is nice, you'll find the breakfast to be light and continental, some might think the $15 charge a bit high, but it's fully disclosed up front. That said, it's fresh breads and bagels, fruits, meats and cheeses, fresh juices, granolas & yogurt.

My 13 yr old daughter loved the hotel, I'd stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfect location for exploring old Montreal and close to the metro to explore other areas of Montreal. The rooms are very comfortable with a choice of pillows for your comfort. The original art throughout is like being in a gallery. I truly appreciated the paintings in my room which helped lead to an air of relaxation (and romance had my wife been able to come with me). Finally, the shower is a hand held variety which scores big points with me :-)

The desk staff were very helpful with my questions, but I did not have an opportunity to interact with other staff or use their restaurant/bar.

Be aware, it is valet parking only. Also the TV screens are smaller than at many other hotels, but the chairs are more comfortable for viewing.

Room Tip: My room was on the street side on the second floor, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at LHotel (called Love Hotel by local taxi drivers) near Christmas and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very unique; like a modern art museum that happens to rent rooms. The room (2 double or queen beds) was large and comfortable with windows overlooking the main street. The bathroom was good but the only comment is that the sink seemed to be a basic wooden frame; out of context with the rest of the furnishings which seemed to be funky antiques. The staff was helpful and attentive. The location excellent, so close to Notre Dame that I used it as a landmark to find the hotel each day. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank addie32704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel is well situated for exploring the historic old city as well as the shopping areas on St Catherine St. It is located on a quiet street within walking distance of many great restaurants. There was a small convenience store a few blocks away that suited our needs when we wanted to bring snacks and drinks back to our room.
Our room was very clean and while not overly large, the high ceilings created a more spacious effect. The bed,pillows,and linens were some of the most comfortable I have ever experienced at a hotel. There was no closet, only an armoire which was not large enough to accomodate both of our suitcases, therefore one bag had to remain on the luggage stand throughout the weekend cutting into the space somewhat.
In general the front desk staff was courteous and prompt, however one evening we returned to the hotel after a concert hoping to have a night cap at the bar, and the bartender/deskman/doorman said he needed to attend to desk duties first (there were no other guests in the lobby at the time). We waited for about 10 minutes and ultimately decided to forgo the nightcap.
We would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GoodCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved this hotel because of its location and the amazing artwork within. I am a huge modern art fan and this was my draw to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant for breakfast was good as well as the wait staff. The room was clean and spacious and we had a wonderful view out of the one window. The bed was not good - it was too soft from wear. The linens could have been a little newer, too. The half bedspread looked to worn and did not fit the decor. But those are the only complaints we had. Other than those items, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roomserviceplease17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £109 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing