We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Staying here on a business trip for 4 days, room was ok, nothing spectacular, staff seemed clueless about any question I had regarding a city and how to get around which was very disappointing. Would I come back here again? I think probably not.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank donaldproperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    345
    96
    22
    9
See reviews for
211
614
61
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights on a business trip. I was staying on the 3rd floor, the roon was spacious (pro), warm (pro). Yet, it needed some uodating. The bathroom in particular. The sink was chipped and it would take forever for the water to drain. The bathtub had some issues too, the water kept dripping.
The armchair showed signs of dirt and my sheets had ink stains.
Pro: the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept.
Pro: the location, it is in old town and it's close to everyting.
Cons.
Aside for the above mentioned flaws in the bathroom and in the room, the great negative comment I have is about their staff.
One morning I left my room at 10 am only to return at 9 pm. When I got to the room, the door was open. I mean wide open. And there was no one in. So I complained to the front desk immediately but they kind of looked at me strange. Fortunately, nothing was missing.
Overall, everytime I had a question about either the hotel or the city they also seemed quite not knowledgeable. Thank God for the internet and my Lonely planet.
Bottom line is.... I am not sure if I would trust this place again...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank kipa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our room was very big, with a comfortable sofa and an even better bed (2.20m long, which is fantastic for a tall person like me). The bathroom was also very spacious, with a separate bathtub and shower stall. One of the two lights there was out though, and the shower itself was average.
The hotel tries very hard to be artsy, but it feels like it's stuck halfway between a standard 3-star and and a funky 5-star. There are lots of nice touches, but somehow it doesn't quite come together.
Also, there are three steps outside to the main door, and then five more inside to get to the reception and the lifts. That's a lot of suitcase lifting.
Staff were friendly, but not overly so, as other reviewers seem to have experienced.
We had breakfast included in our rate. There was fresh fruit, pastries, and cereals. More than adequate, but nothing memorable. I asked for decaf coffee, and it was espresso style (very nice), but my partner's regular coffee was of the standard North American dirty dishwasher variety, and he said it wasn't very good.
All in all we had a very nice stay, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Choosing a hotel in Montréal was a tough choice, with so many to choose in various locations. We went with the L Hotel because we had planned out some activities and the hotel seemed to be located in the middle of them. What you can't see on a map is the hills, so the location of the hotel, near the harbour is at the bottom of a hill. We found that a lot of the bars and restaurants were at the top of town, up a steep hill near the mainstream hotels, whilst we were in the historic part of the city, so museums were very close.

The hotel itself was good, the service was impeccable, and the room was a good size with an average sized bathroom. You won't expect many views out of any window, as it is located between 2 streets. The internet in our room was exceedingly frustrating, it seemed we were the farthest away. The description also notes there is a gym, however this is really 3 pieces of equipment.

A quirky hotel, with lots of art on the walls. Expensive drinks at the bar, so we mainly used as a start and stop point to exploring the city. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone who wanted to visit the Historic part of the city, and it was good value compared to others in the area.

Lastly, you'll always find some nice cars outside the lobby!

Room Tip: Not much choice here in terms of views, ideally a room close to the lobby to ensure a good internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RhysBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Super friendly & helpful staff, great vibe to this renovated boutique hotel in Old Montreal, fantastic art all around the hotel, not too bad a walk to the Bell Centre.

Rooms tastefully decorated with everything you need, super high ceilings, nice lighting, and comfortable beds.

We needed an early check-in and they were very accommodating.

Breakfast area is nice, you'll find the breakfast to be light and continental, some might think the $15 charge a bit high, but it's fully disclosed up front. That said, it's fresh breads and bagels, fruits, meats and cheeses, fresh juices, granolas & yogurt.

My 13 yr old daughter loved the hotel, I'd stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfect location for exploring old Montreal and close to the metro to explore other areas of Montreal. The rooms are very comfortable with a choice of pillows for your comfort. The original art throughout is like being in a gallery. I truly appreciated the paintings in my room which helped lead to an air of relaxation (and romance had my wife been able to come with me). Finally, the shower is a hand held variety which scores big points with me :-)

The desk staff were very helpful with my questions, but I did not have an opportunity to interact with other staff or use their restaurant/bar.

Be aware, it is valet parking only. Also the TV screens are smaller than at many other hotels, but the chairs are more comfortable for viewing.

Room Tip: My room was on the street side on the second floor, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at LHotel (called Love Hotel by local taxi drivers) near Christmas and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very unique; like a modern art museum that happens to rent rooms. The room (2 double or queen beds) was large and comfortable with windows overlooking the main street. The bathroom was good but the only comment is that the sink seemed to be a basic wooden frame; out of context with the rest of the furnishings which seemed to be funky antiques. The staff was helpful and attentive. The location excellent, so close to Notre Dame that I used it as a landmark to find the hotel each day. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addie32704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,342 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,062 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing