We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel, lovely rooms.”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here with friends over New Year and found the staff to be welcoming and quite helpful. This is definitely a unique hotel with great art work and décor. The rooms were comfortable and warm (a plus as our last hotel was not!) The hotel was close enough to many restaurants and the sights of Montreal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Amy B,

We would like to thank you for this kind recount of your stay at LHotel!

What a privilege you had to have spent New Years in our beautiful city! Montreal certainly has its own unique, beautiful charm during that snowy time of year. We hope you were able to take advantage of the many parties and New Years festivities during your time here.

It is no secret that our Canadian winters are a little chilly, to say the least! We are very glad that you were able to warm up back in the comfort of your room. We hope to be able to keep you warm next time you pay us a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved our stay in the Lichtenstein suite. Very comfy, clean, and great location.
The breakfast was very good french style, but plenty to eat. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were so very willing to help and make sure we enjoyed ourselves. A privilege to stay here and art made it fun.

Room Tip: Each room is themed apparently based on artists. Most of the art is American pop artists - Warhol, L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear tobro,

On behalf of the entire staff here at LHotel, we would like to thank you for this great review! It is always a pleasure to hear that our valued guests appreciate the efforts we make to assure exceptional service and comfort.

We are so glad we were able to meet your expectations through our French-styled continental breakfast and our friendly, upbeat staff.

We hope to be able to greet you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

When the children were young, my wife and I use to stay at a hotel the night of our anniversary. They have been long gone. But I felt for our 38th it would be nice to celebrate in old Montreal. I came to this hotel by chance and it was a lovely evening. We were in room 418. It was a suite and for only one night it was quietly luxurious. For those who are not familiar with old Montreal this hotel is very well situated. It is in walking distance to many boutiques, churches and restaurants. The price of the room was very reasonable.
I highly recommend it and if you want to see the owners Rolls Royce and Ferrari, they are always parked in front.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Irwin T,

Thank you for this thoughtful review. We are so very pleased that we could help make your 38th anniversary a memorable experience!

The King Suite you stayed in is definitely a hidden gem! Quiet and luxurious, the room is located far from any noise coming from Old Montreal’s busy streets. We are glad you benefited from your brief time in it!

We look forward to greeting you back to LHotel, perhaps for your 39th anniversary!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had planned to stay in this hotel and booked quite in advance.Imagine our deception when they told us on arrival that they had overbboked and no room was available!The front desk was feeling quite awful and had to cope with our frustration, the manager,Alejandro having already left.
This situation usually reflects a problem in the management or worse,a greedy organization that won't hesitate to overbook especially if prices have went up because of special situations since the booking(as in our case just before the Grand Prix).
The front desk arranged for us a place in a hotel nearby,which was ok but not the type of experience we were looking for.
Hope it doesn't happen to you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Francine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Francine M,

We would firstly like the thank you for taking the time to recount your experience at LHotel Montreal. Your experience poses a great concern to us and we would like to offer our most sincerest apologies.

Due to a change in our Reservation Software and Procedure we had an unexpected and unmanageable overbooking. Despite our greatest efforts to ensure an exceptional service to our valued guests, the new software allowed to take more reservations than the Hotel capacity so we must take full responsibility for our actions and own up to our mistake. For this reason we deeply regret having been unable to accommodate you during your last visit and booked you in another Hotel to assure you a hotel room for the same requested dates.

We hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time your travel plans bring your back to Montreal.

Feel free to contact us directly at management@lhotelmontreal.com

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a fabulous boutique hotel near Place D'Armes, well located for all sights. We had a premier room which was very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and, best of all, the room was incredibly quiet. It seemed well insulated from both internal and external noise.

The rooms come with a fabulous little coffee maker and a small fridge. Air conditioning rattled at times but overall was very efficient.

Breakfast was included in the price. This was a continental buffet which didn't really change from day to day but offered a decent range of food. Best croissants outside of Paris!

Desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alfi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Alfi_NZ,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write great thoughts on your recent stay.

We allow ourselves to put amenities in your rooms to make your stay even more enjoyable. The room should be a place to rest and the lack of noise is very important. We are glad you shared with us the air conditioning disturbance because, although maybe minimal, we want to look into the problem and fix it as soon as possible.

We appreciate when our guest indulge in our daily fresh Continental Buffet Breakfast. Since we use fresh and local products of the season, it might sometimes be very similar on a day to day basis.

We hope you can come back to enjoy more of freshly baked croissants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary trip. It was a great location and the room was lovely! The staff was so helpful and friendly, and in my opinion went above and beyond to help us with all of our crazy questions. The area feels very safe and walking around at night is easy! Montreal was a great place to be and LHotel made it special for sure! Thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnkendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear tnkendrick,

Thank you so much for your kind words and again, congratulations on your anniversary!
We know how special these occasions are and we do everything we can to fulfill your needs during your stay with us. If there’s anything we can do within or outside the walls of our hotel, be sure we will make it happen.

The city of Montreal is a very touristic area and we have many travelers during the year which makes it enjoyable to walk around at any time of the day.

On behalf of the Lhotel staff, we are pleased to have made your stay one of a kind, and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for the 2 posted pictures! Really nice ones!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is my new "Go-to" hotel in Montreal. I thought for sure that it was going to be a dive because of the low price: boy, was I wrong! Our room was spacious and GORGEOUS: nice, big bathroom, heavenly-comfortable bed, super quiet A/C. Staff very friendly. I will not hesitate to go back and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 202 was wonderful. Loved the decor. Nice and quiet, super comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at LHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Yowza,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation!

We are delighted to know that we’ve earned your trust and you will be coming back in the future. We are glad the staff was able to answer all your needs during you recent stay. The team is also part of what makes your stay more pleasant. Be reassured that we will be consistent in our services. We hope you were able to enjoy the comfort of your room before heading out into the city.

We look forward to hosting you during your next leisure or business trip!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,092 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £102 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing