We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay”
Review of LHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
LHotel
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I came to this hotel in the off season of Montreal tourism. Here are some pros and cons.

Pros
-Very quiet! No noise from the street (with the exception of roadwork that started up before I left) or hotel clientele.
-I ordered room service twice and found the food to be OK. But I still advise finding a restaurant. Room service should be a LAST resort.
-Friendly and courteous staff who speak perfect English.
- Conveniently located about 3 blocks from the Square-Victoria metro station and a 10-minute walk to the nearest VIA Rail Canada station.
-Because you're on the border between downtown and Old Montreal, a lot of tourist sites are close by.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Pretty, clean rooms
-I got bed service even when I didn't request it.

Cons
-Contrary to what the hotel's website says, it is NOT in the HEART of Old Montreal. It's actually on the far NW corner, right on the border with downtown Montreal proper.
-Because the hotel is downtown, the streets are DEAD after work hours and on the weekends. So no places to shop or eat out during those times.
-The free Wi-fi network is UNSECURE. So user beware. It also cut on and off on me a few times. But that might have been my own Wi-fi catcher acting up.
-I can't imagine there being any great views in this hotel unless you have a suite. I could see a little bit of the Basilique Notre-Dame de Montreal from my bedroom window though.
-Only one VERY slow elevator. Take the stairs down.

With the cons being of little significance (to me anyway), I would highly recommend this hotel. I also suggest going to Montreal in late April/early May. Not a lot of folks around and the weather was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARTrav81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    339
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
206
605
60
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, ON
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My eldest daughter and I travelled to Montreal to bring back my younger daughter after her first year at McGill University. After one night squashed into her residence room (trying to rough it and economize!) I logged into her computer and searched Montreal hotels! I phoned Hotel XIX Siecle and got a last minute rate for two nights and we were able to check in at noon that same day. We had a large room at the front of the hotel (fourth floor) with two queen beds. It was heavenly. So much space for the three of us and our luggage! The beds were comfortable and the linens warm and cosy. We like it cool at night so we were able to turn down the temperature overnight with in-room controls. I liked the bathroom very much. The lighting was nice and sparkly and the tub nice and deep. Another comment I read on TripAdvisor said the water wasn't hot enough. I wonder if they realized you can adjust the temperature. The handle turns on/off but there's another slider bar for the temperature. We found the location to be perfect. Valet parking was much appreciated. It's a $22/day charge with unlimited in's and out's. I had parked overnight at the university the night before and was charged $23 for 10 hours of street parking on campus so this was much superior. We enjoyed walking around Old Montreal and ate at several great unique restaurants. We had breakfast in the breakfast room on the second morning. It was so good that we were wishing we had gone there the previous morning as well. The price of $10 per person was extremely reasonable for the beautiful selection. The breakfast room is beautiful and the server was attentive and pleasant. Staying at this hotel saved our three-day Montreal visit from being a disaster and turned it into a very enjoyable experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophile2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I'd always wanted to stay in the old town in Montreal, and I finally made it. This hotel is in a pretty old "hotel de ville" style house, with the lobby up a short staircase from the street. The check in was efficient and friendly. The room was large and very comfortable, with a good bathroom and very comfortable bedding. The decor was very tasteful - in keeping with the period of the building, without being pastiche or fussy. The internet worked well. All that was missing was a kettle in the room. Breakfast in the morning was in a restaurant-style room, and was a good continental spread with enough choice.

The location is ideal for exploring the old town, and close enough to the business district.

I recommend this as a very good quality tourist hotel, or a mid-range business hotel for road warriors tired of big-box hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Great Staff: they are very friendly and knowledgeable about the city. They are ready to help you whenever you need help. If you only speak English, don't feel intimidated to speak to them in English. They are very good at speaking both French and English.
The hotel rooms are big. Bed's are comfy. The pillows are either to soft or two hard. The square one with the hotel's name on it was a good medium. Bathrooms are clean.
The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the metro, the Science Museum, Rue St. Laurent, Rue Peel (Rue= Street), and a couple of other popular streets. About mile or two away you can get to Rue Cresent which has a few bars, night clubs, and a Hard Rock Cafe.
Lobby is a really nice area to sit and enjoy a drink, work on the computer (free wifi), and just shoot the breeze with people.
Pizza was great!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conleykid15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ding
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

The staff at this hotel was great, spoke good english and was friendly for the whole stay. Room was very nice size for the price of around 90€ per night. Location is ok, I was in middle of cold winter so used taxi to get around, but based on little walking I got the imperssion that this is really good location during summer when you dont freeze to death by just walking 200meters.

Couple little complaints, my room wasnt exactly quiet, I think the biggest issue was the door wasnt really sound proof and then the pipes made little noise. However the noise wasnt so bad that it would have gotten annoying and id have to go complain. 2nd issue is that it was impossible to seet he television from the bed, so if you are like me who needs little TV to fall asleep this might be a small issue.

Overall I think staying at this hotel during your montreal visit is a decent idea.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cokeandblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Using the guidance of Tripadvisor, we booked this hotel and got a great rate on a suite with parking and breakfast included. The hotel is in a great location steps from the famous Notre Dame Cathedral in old Montreal. The hotel itself is beautiful with old world charm - room was huge with great amenities. Service was good with valet parking, bellboy, free newspaper and coffee downstairs in the jmorning, FREE wifi internet. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful room
  • Disliked — its cold in montreal in january, bundle up!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Love to stay here when I can, great value right on the doorstep of Old Montreal. Have stayed for business and pleasure iun the past.. Staff helpful and friendly, rooms with vaulting cielings and French provincial furniture for that Parisian feeling, don't like the bar/restaurant but there are many to choose from in the neighborhood even for breakfast. New owners propose to change the name and do a reno but here's hoping it remains an affordable place to stop in a really special piece of North America.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dads55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHotel

Property: LHotel
Address: 262 St Jacques West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — LHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DARE TO BE ORIGINAL! More than just a hotel, this landmark historic renovated bank is now home to one of the most impressive private art collections in North America on permanent display both in the public spaces as well as our guest rooms and suites. Over 120 Contemporary and Pop artworks feature Litchenstein, Warhol, Miro, Chagall and Botero to name a few. Furthermore, this artful and creative experience extends well beyond the hotel thanks to our Cultural Curator. Elegant, spacious and eclectic, our 56 rooms and suites feature lofty ceilings with large windows, spacious work areas, and luxurious bathrooms and exquisite furnishings. Enjoy daily breakfast served in the privacy of your guestroom or in the Winter Garden Dining Room. Our Botero Wine Bar features private imports by the glass, specially chosen to provide unforgettable tasting experience. Sam Francis Gym, massage room, business center and conference rooms and complimentary WiFi will help make your business or leisure travels unique and memorable. Where else can you have breakfast with Warhol, drinks with Botero and sleep with Litchenstein? Yes, all of our suites and junior suites have original works by world renowned artists! The rooms are memorable but the experience is unforgettable! LHotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps from the Business District, the Montreal Convention Center, the Old Port and trendy McGill Street. Historic, Artful, Urban. We're more than just a hotel- we're LHotel Montreal...Dare to be original... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Montreal
Xixe Siecle Hotel
Xixe Siecle Montreal
Hotel Xix Siecle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing