We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No reason to complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #72 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
College Station, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No reason to complain”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on July 4. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews, but the location was excellent as was the price. The staff was very helpful especially when I ran into the lobby seaching for information on where to park while my husband cicled the block. The suite was large, clean, and very quiet. Our room faced the courtyard. The A/C worked well. Breakfast was above average for the usual buffet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggieTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    303
    232
    87
    51
See reviews for
200
222
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned from a two day visit with kids to Montreal and stayed in a 1 BR room, which included a kitchenette. We parked the car once ($20/day) and didn't use it the whole time since everyplace we wanted to go was within a 15-20 minute walk. We were able to walk to the Port/Old Town area as well as the Quartier des Spectacles to catch two large festivals which were going on during our stay. Although the kitchenette was sizable, the only cooking utensils were a microwave, hot water heater and coffee maker. The full sized fridge was appreciated, however. There is a very comprehensive IGA grocery store two blocks away, with an array of prepared foods and we were able to assemble a decent meal. The breakfast was adequate and plentiful, although the eggs at these kinds of things are always a little dodgy. Air Conditioning was fairly loud. All in all, if this hotel is the same price as others in it's class, I would chose it again due to the one bedroom configuration, which works out well for a family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed there twice, first for 4 nights, then after a trip to Quebec for two more. When we arrived, the room was not ready, as check-in was not until 3pm, this was understandable... However, no effort was made by the recepcionist on duty to find if any other room was avaiable at the moment. I am only mentioning this because a couple hours later we returned (around noon) and a different recepcionist, far more helpful and friendly than the first DID find us a room, even after he told us ours was not ready yet.

When we got to the room, it stank a lot... Not from smoke, but from food. We left the windows open and a pot of coffee brewing, just to get rid of the smell. This worked partially.

The room itself was mostly clean, except for the rug, which felt damp or sticky in some spots.

The first day after, the room was not cleaned up. When I went to the front desk to complain, they would only write "no service" next to my room number on their log... Have I not come next morning and directly speak to the manager, would have effectively provided "no service" again than day neither.

The rest of the facilities were nice enough. Breakfast was ok as included in the rate. Vending machines did not work.

Parking fees at 18 dollars daily seems steep, but I reckon that would be a common problem among the hotels in the area.

Location was very good, with only a few blocks away from the Vieux Port, Quartier Latin, the bars and restaurants in St. Denis, and St. Vincent av.

It is also close to at least 3 metro stations, several bus stops and even the central train station. The shuttle from the airport stops right across the street, so location was the best about the hotel.

I only stayed here because the Holiday Inn brand is supposed to have certain standards of quality, but to be honest, I think there are far better alternatives on the same price range in the area. I woul not return to the sam hotel again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vipage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear vipage,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I am glad that you found our location convenient to Vieux Montreal and other attractions. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments about the smell and the rug have been documented and will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to be take into consideration for future upgrades. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed one night in mid July. We needed 2 rooms, and the price and location were good, and since we stay often at Holiday Inns, thought this would be at least adequate. The lobby and breakfast area were clean, and the front desk very helpful and friendly. Parking was easy to get to. We noticed when we were checking in that several bus tours arrived, and that may be part of the problem with this hotel. The suite we had was was a nice size, one room with a pullout sofa and large tv and the second room with a small kitchenette, full size fridge, microwave etc. and 2 queen beds. It seemed to be a bit backwards as the living room area should have been with the kitchenette, and the bedroom should have had a door to close, but it was the other way around. The beds were comfortable. The air conditioning unit was in the "living room" area so the person in there froze while the rest of us in the bedroom roasted. The walls were all scuffed and dirty. The bathroom was clean enough, but the tub floor was very slippery. A previous review said all the door squeaked, and that is true. The location was pretty good, near alot of restaurants and walking distance to St. Catherine, and Old Montreal. I guess for a budget hotel it was ok, but I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagladyolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear bagladyolg,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are delighted to read you liked your room accommodations and found our location convenient, the lobby and breakfast area clean. Thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk. They are simply the best. I am very sorry for the unusual set-up of the room and any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent 3 nights in Monreal in early July. A friend of a friend recommended the HIE in Montreal Centre-Ville. Bad mistaqke.
The lobby looked nice and front desk staff were frieldly and informative. The suite was roomy and very quiet. The kitchen had a full fridge, microwave, coffe maker and sink.
The hotel is about a half mile (1 km) walk to Old Montreal and even closer to the site of the Fesitval International de Jazz de Montreal. The free breakfast included a do-it-yourself pancake griddle and all the usual continental breakfast items including scrambled eggs and bacon.Replenishing of the coffee urns was slow.
In the rooms, the furniture was worn and dated and the walls were in need of painting. At least one light fixtures did not work . The A/C was in the bedroom only. (Our travel companions' room had the A/C only in the living room where one of them slept on the couch after covering it with sheets).
The closet doors did not close and all the doors (bedroom. bath and entry) squeaked when opened and closed - annoying when someone is trying to sleep and you have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Although there were 2 large flatscreen TVs, the reception was analogue only and poor reception.
The bathroom shower/tub and floor were quite slippery - almost fell twice getting into the shower. There was mildewed grout in the shower stall.
Although the price was relatively inexpensive at $162/night (+ over 18% taxes!) we expected a bit more from a Holiday Inn property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kduay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Kduay,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Quebec, Canada

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked two nights for the jazz festival and ended up cancelling the 2nd night because we felt so uncomfortable. We had a smoking room which smelled terrible - if you do decide to stay here and are a non-smoker, make sure you specify that you want a non-smoking room. The bathroom smelled like urine, the floor was wet (eww!), and there were small black hairs on the floor. The mattress felt like a boxspring, and the window AC unit was very loud. There were signs of neglect, including chips out of the kitchen counter, torn rug, chips out of the flooring, and dents and marks on the front door and some walls. We slept, but not very well, and couldn't wait to leave in the morning. The continental breakfast was standard, and the Internet worked well. We found a much nicer hotel for a lower price for the 2nd night!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Giumesciscotti,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I am sorry the cleanliness of the room was a let down and fell below your expectation. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I'm not sure what people are complaining about. I had the best time at this hotel. Due to the Jazz Festival and using my points, I had to make two different one day reservations. I wrote to the hotel and asked if it would be possible to stay in the same room and not change rooms between the two days since there was 4 of us staying in the room. The hotel accommodated me more than I expected. They actually went above and beyond by upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. Very nice touch!

Staff was nice and professional although at times they were overloaded with requests. Breakfast was great and very convenient. This was located conveniently next to Chinatown and Vieux Montreal. Closest stops were Champ de Mars and Place Des Artes (both on orange line), about 3 blocks away. The green line stop is in a less nice area. I did not walk from that direction, so was not concerned about the location.

Beds and linens were nice and the room was clean and didn't smell. Air conditioning unit was indeed loud. I did not have any problems with the street noise. The kitchennette with microwave and full fridge was great, although having a stove would have been great. There is also a kettle and coffee maker in the kitchennette.

I would stay here again if I was in the area and needed budget accommodations. There were some areas where the rug was ripped or stains on chairs, but other than that I think the quality was pretty good and the location convenient. I do not believe that this hotel has a restaurant, but the breakfast bar (as noted in another interview). Free wifi was good but sometimes intermittent and I had to log in again often. This was not rundown in my perspective at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#75 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing