We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms and underground parking but poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good rooms and underground parking but poor breakfast”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Clean and big rooms with separate living room. Living has a second Tv with a sofa so you can watch TV like at home on the couch. An in room kitchen with microwave and fridge. Be careful with the breakfast as it might upset your stomach. They have some kind of industrial egg in pancake shape double folded with an unknown substance in the middle that made me run to the toilet when eating that. The rest is OK with a pancake machine, cereals, make your own toast, etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Bonjour Marc l !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Montreal! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!!

Rest assured that all constructive comments will be passed along. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced due to our breakfast, rest assured that hygiene is at the most and our food is thoroughly controlled.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed the size of our location!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    324
    241
    90
    51
See reviews for
218
238
73
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Rock
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for four days. Checking in was as easy as it gets and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. Booked a suite, and was given one of the larger ones at the end of the floor. Although the room was somewhat dated, it was the size of a typical one room apartment with a full kitchen, roomy living area, lots of closet space, etc.
The breakfast room was overcrowded at times, but the spread was more than adequate. The earlier you head for breakfast the better.
Location is in walking range of most attractions downtown and is a good stroll to Old Montreal, but there is not much within a block or two of the hotel.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: See if one of the larger suites are available. They are all the way down the hall from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRoachBlackRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Bonjour DRoachBlackRock!!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are happy to see that we met your expectations! Your comments will be passed along to all concerned departments!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!!!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After searching city wide to find a room and even on the outskirts the prices were out of control and Understandably given the event Hotels, restaurant and everyone else gets to get in on the "huckle" (you find a definition in the dictionary) with a captive audience. This of course is no reflection on this Holiday Inn Express, but it was far more than I've even paid in NYC, Boston, Newport RI during peak season or anywhere else for that matter.

I would have rated the hotel staff as mediocre had it not been for VINAY who took a tremendous amount of his time to give me direction, advice and make me feel welcomed. The rest of the french speaking staff was not friendly with exception to the one guy really is from France. IT is not there fault it has just become the nature of people from Quebec to have a chip on their shoulder.

As for the hotel and room, though I was to rent a one person room I was upgraded to a suit. With a kitchenette. Had I known I would have brought my family. It was very clean bit in the room and around the premises. I didn't hear the traffic or neighbors. The bed sheets seemed new and it was very comfortable and I only wish I had more time to sleep. The breakfast was typical of any HIE sans the waffle/pancake maker. Unlike another reviewer I prefer plastic where in such a place that doesn't have a real restaurant. I was on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the city which added to the trip.For me it was conveniently located because I didn't mind walking. the neighborhood felt safe.

If I were to go to Montreal again I would stay there but only if the price was more reasonable . Once again no reflection on the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for street view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Bonjour VacationTony!!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are happy to see that we met your expectations!

Thank you for all your comments, they have been passed along to all concerned departments, and a follow up will be done. We are grateful that you appreciate all their efforts combined!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Yes it was pretty much as I expected from the other reviews so I guess my best advice is come in with very low expectations. Location is not bad, the rooms are very large and it obviously was once (or maybe soon will be again based on the signs on the other side of the building??) an apartment house not a hotel. Beds and bedding are pretty decent. However everything else is very basic and run-down: noisy AC that is impossible to control, chipping counters and porcelain, doors that don't stay closed, light switches that are coming off the wall, nasty stained carpets that you don't want to walk on barefoot-- you get the picture. It's not the worst hotel I have stayed in but then again for the price they charge and for a major city with lots of choices it is pretty inexcusable. Staff was okay but indifferent, not making much effort to accommodate leisure travelers while the hotel was overrun with a teenage tour group. Breakfast (or what of it I was able to wrestle from the hungry school girls) was okay and free, standard HIE stuff. Though I'm sure the manager's response to follow will act like I enjoyed every part of it I have to emphasize that overall it was pretty poor and would never stay there again unless they refurbish it, it is free, or I become homeless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Bonjour Gil123!

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay with us! We really are sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Rest assured that both our housekeeping and maintenance departments work very hard on improving and maintaining the quality of accommodation we offer, and all constructive comments will be passed along. Our team is very implicated in giving the best service possible, and your comments certainly will help us following up.

The signs that you have seen on the side of our property are actually for the condominiums located behind the hotel itself.

Finally, we hope we will have the opportunity of welcome you back! Should you give us another chance, it will be my pleasure, along with the rest of the team, to ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Reception staff were quick to re-room me away from a gaggle of exuberant young women. Found myself in a large room with a kitchenette - and no sound of neighbours. Bathroom cleaned professionally but fittings are dated and showing their age. That said, everything worked; including the location. Great to have free papers at breakfast and their cinnamon buns do have a certain local charm. Great care is taken to keep everything topped up and there's clearly a lot of turnover here. This is, presumably, why they use plastic cutlery and paper plates but it just feels so insubstantial - and surely it can't be environmentally sound?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Bonjour AlberHerring!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are very happy to see that you appreciated all the combined efforts of our staff, from the front desk to the Housekeeping departments! We all work very hard to offer the best possible service!

We are glad to see that you were charmed by our delicious Cinnamon buns, they are indeed part of the charm of our breakfast! On the other hand, plastic cutlery is part of the IHG standards for the Holiday Inn Express brands, but rest assured that your comments will be passed along!

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Adeline Le Cornec,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Pros:
- decent price
- free standard breakfast (yogurt, cinnabuns, styrofoam omelettes, crispy bacon, sausage patties, bananas, concentrated OJ)
- free nespaper incl. La Presse in french
- downtown but in the east side rather than more central
- got upgraded to a suite with kitchenette
- good hotel in general

Cons:
- side street beside the hotel (de Buillion I think) has all kind of strange people hanging around there, and it connects to a depleated part of Ste-Catherine, so just be aware
- lots of construction in the area, although was not loud

Room Tip: not facing Rene-Levesque as it may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Bonjour johnnycalgary!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us!
Rest assured that all constructive comments will be passed along to all the concerned head of departments. We take your comments very seriously as they help us improve the quality of service we offer.
Our neighborhood is indeed centrally located and lively, but well supervised by the local representative of the law who are there to ensure everyone's safety!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Alexandre Fromager
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here this past weekend for my bachelor party. We had a group of 15 of us and the rooms were more than adequate. If you're looking for 4-5 star service and amenities, you will not find them here so taper your expectations. The rooms are a bit dated but kept very clean, in good shape, with considerable space. I had a two bedroom suite and there was more than enough room for all of us to hang out before heading out to the city. The location is also convenient...about a 15-20 min walk from the heart of downtown.

I would certainly come back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mroth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Bonjour mroth14!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property, we are happy that you were satisfied with the size of our location!
Rest assured that your comments are taken very seriously and will help us improve the level of service we offer. Both our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments are working very hard to improve and maintain the quality of the accommodations we offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Alexandre Fromager
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#55 of 165 in Montreal
1,192 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#79 of 165 in Montreal
519 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#81 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing