We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too short a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“too short a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

stayed for 3 days my room was clean and tidy had a kitchen livivng room as well as bedroom was ideal for old montreal was within walking distance you have to see everything while you are there the staff are ever helpful and friendly even with me trying out my French on them had never stayed in holiday in before would use them again the only down side they had students staying i must had had them on my floor ask for a quiet room

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room and high floor as this is a non smoking hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Bonjour Lynn K!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Montreal! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for sharing your tips to other valued travelers, please note, nonetheless, that we do have smoking rooms, located on the second floor of our building.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    298
    231
    85
    51
See reviews for
197
219
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel has an excellent location, close to vieux Montreal, Ste Catherine, and if you like a good walk to the Museum of Fine Art.

The accommodation itself leaves something to be desired. This hotel seems to have started life as an apartment building. There is a full size kitchen intact, minus the stove. This area is useless. The living room area is reasonable, but the old and oversized furniture makes it difficult to move around.

The bedroom was small, but serviceable.

Lots of chipped paint, and generally a run down feeling to the space.

The included breakfast is as expected, including those horrible powered eggs.

The WiFi was also a challenge. I had to regularly disconnect/reconnect to maintain service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Bonjour Overlaid!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Montreal! We are sorry to see that we did not entirely meet your expectations!

Both our maintenance and housekeeping departments are very involved in improving and maintaining the quality of accommodation we offer. Rest assured that we do appreciate your comments as they help us improve what needs improving. They have already been passed along to all concerned departments.

Next time you plan visiting our wonderful city, please contact us directly, we will be happy to ensure that everything is perfect with your stay.

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious and accommodating the suite was and with a 6 moth old infant we could use all the space we got. They were able to provide us with a crib and all the rooms come with a full size fridge so there was no problem with milk/formula and baby food storage.

When I booked the hotel they had told us we could park our car there but upon arrival they said their parking was full and asked us to park at a different location (nearby mall) which actually ended up being cheaper by a few dollars a day. While a bit inconvenient with luggage it was manageable.

Breakfast was mediocre (especially for vegetarians). The pancake machine wasn't working the first morning and the eggs were pretty terrible but there was a wide selection of breads and bagels which made it tolerable.

Best part of the hotel was definitely the location. It was walking distance to Notre Dame, old Montreal, the port, St. Denis and St, Catherine streets and even McGill (little bit more of a walk).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Bonjour Rajini!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday inn Express & Suites Montreal! We are very happy to see that we met your expectations!

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have gone through, it is true that our parking lot has a limited number of available spaces and it does work on a first come first served basis.

We are sorry to see that our breakfast was not up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be passed along, and that follow ups will be done.

Again, Ranjiji, thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us, your comments are very important to us as they help us put a pin on what needs improvements!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was very spacious and we were pleasantly surprised. The only thing was there was a sofa in our room which had lots of big stain marks on it. If decided sit on it we felt we needed to put a spread or something on it.

This can easily be remedied by hotel management.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glbetrttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Bonjour Glbrtrttr!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us! We are sorry to see that we did not quite meet your expectations!

Rest assured that we have a Housekeeping department that is very involved in improving and maintaining the quality of accommodation we offer. We are thankful for your comments as they will help us improve!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were really surprised at the fact that we had a suite in this hotel, even though we were only staying for one night, and there were only two of us. We visited during Grand Prix weekend also. It is very central. We walked into the centre of a Montreal to find a restaurant, and found a place for a very nice meal, within a 15 min walk. The bed was very comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and the breakfast was very enjoyable with lots of choice. It was served in a very nice clean area and the food was plentiful and fresh.
Would recommend this hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Our hotel was overlooking the back, but apparently rooms at the front can get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 114gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Bonjour 114gilly!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montreal! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, our breakfast, the service provided by our staff along with the cleanliness of our accommodation!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel itself is ok, As soon as you walk in the room it smells like mildew being covered up with cleaners. The beds are terrible. Sunken in the middle like sleeping in a hammock. This is the first bad review I have written.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bonjour Brad2000!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at our property! We are terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Please note that all the hotel's departments are involved in improving the quality of services we offer, rest assured that all constructive comments will be passed along, as we always seek improvement!

Again Brad2000 we are truly very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Next time you come to Montreal, please contact us, we will be very happy to ensure that everything is perfect with your stay!

Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

By far, this is my favourite hotel to stay at while in Montreal. Every time I plan a trip to Montreal, Holiday Inn Express is the first hotel I look into. Never a disappointment. The rooms are clean and spacious, the parking is adequate, and the location is amazing. I am able to walk to everywhere I need to go when I'm in Montreal. I have never had a problem when staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIE_Montreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faubourg Montreal, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Bonjour Sasha R!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experiences at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montreal Downtown! We are very happy to see that we are your number one choice, based on our location, our service and the cleanliness of our rooms!

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Adeline Le Cornec
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#72 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faubourg Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faubourg Montreal

Property: Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Address: 155 Rene Levesque Boulevard East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Faubourg Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Faubourg Montreal offers comfort & convenience. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure at the Hotel Faubourg Montreal in Montreal Centre-Ville, you're sure to enjoy your stay, as our lodging offers the comfort of a daily hot breakfast bar and the convenience of a location near numerous corporations and attractions in Montreal. Every guest room whether a Studio or a two room suite offers the convenience of a full size fridge and microwave. Perfect for those staying on business, our hotel in Montreal offers a well-equipped business centre, high-speed Internet and close proximity to Montreal Convention Center, Bombardier, CBC, Deloitte and Touche, Hydro Quebec, KPMG, SNC Lavalin, Complexe Desjardins and Guy Favreau, Place des Arts, UQAM & McGill University. Because we have a better location than most hotels, our Montreal, Canada lodging is the perfect place for families to stay during their vacation. We're situated near historic Old Montreal, Chinatown, Six Flags A La Ronde amusement park, Bell Centre, Grand Prix Du Canada, the Casino and many of Montreal's finest restaurants, museums and shopping. If you're looking for quality Montreal hotels & convenient services, then look no further. We are the perfectplace to stay no matter the reason that brings you to Montreal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faubourg Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal
Montreal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing