We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient luxury hotel with a fantastic staff”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient luxury hotel with a fantastic staff”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Having never stayed at a Sofitel before we were not sure what to expect, but we were rewarded with an amazing experience that set the tone for a great Canadian vacation. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Kevin checked us in and was so warm and friendly we felt honored to be staying here. The room was wonderful and the bathroom quite nice and modern. The bed was very comfortable and was a treat after long days of walking around the city. The hotel location can not be beat as many things are close as are a couple of Metro stops. The Sofitel is truly a luxury, upscale hotel that we felt was a good value as well. The location, staff and room quality were all top notch. We are definitely fans and will be looking for Sofitels in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal! Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area! 

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    563
    139
    37
    27
See reviews for
360
782
140
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

If your looking for a modern, clean and friendly staff, this is it. Affordable and easy access to stores. Room was a little small but was only needed for sleeping. Beautiful bathroom.
thank your for a great stay.

Room Tip: I was on the corner of busy street and never heard a sound. I am a light sleeper and hear everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Good location of hotel though room was slightly small and cramped.
Concierge could have been a bit more helpful wrt doing tips on shopping and sightseeing. Mcgill university. Campus is just round the corner.

Room was comfortable though and pretty luxourious.

Staff were courteous during the stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for one night here at Sofitel. It was a very good location. Room was a bit small but well equipped. The bathroom was modern and the bedding was comfy. Staffs were friendly, valet staffs were super helpful and professional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent three nights in Montreal earlier this month, and picked the Sofitel due to its location and reputation. We weren't disappointed. I recommend, however, that you get a higher floor facing the east side of the hotel if you're a light sleeper. Our room the first night was on the northwest corner of the 6th floor. Noise was noticeable from here, so the hotel staff moved us up to the 15th floor on the northeast corner. That made all the difference in the world. We then slept soundly on a great Sofitel bed.

Breakfast isn't included, and we didn't try the hotel restaurant. Instead, I recommend Universel within walking distance of the hotel. They have great breakfast, especially the crepes. Parking isn't included either and is pricey at about $30 per night. However, all of Montreal is expensive for parking, so I don't know what can be done to lower the cost.

All in all, the Sofitel hotel has great service, comfy and modern rooms, and a great location. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour RockiesExpert,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff!

On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Sofitel on Sherbrooke St. West for a family wedding from Oct. 8-11/2011. The staff were classy & professional, and anglophone-friendly. The rooms were very modern yet warmly appointed; the beds very very comfortable, and the bathroom luxurious. We were within easy walking distance of galleries, restaurants, retail, and the wedding venue.
The brunch served the day after the wedding ina private dining room was first class food/beverage & superb service. We would stay at the Sofitel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Bonjour Barbara-Grace,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Visited Montreal for the first time and booked a room for the weekend at the Sofitel Montreal. From the moment we arrived the service was superb from the valet to the front desk staff. We received two glasses of champagne and some nice fruit slices from the bar. The room featured windows from floor to ceiling, offered a very nice bathroom with shower and tub and an extra comfy bed providing a great nights rest. This is the only Sofitel in Canada. It is a complete makeover of a former office building located on Rue Sherbrooke in an excellent central location. Don't miss out on walking to Old Montreal or Parc Du Mont Royal.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Bonjour SeanKStewart,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us and compliments about our staff. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,547 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing