We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service, terrific restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great service, terrific restaurant!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The hotel itself is beautiful, with a clean, contemporary look, and its location is excellent - within easy walking distance of a busy downtown area with many restaurants and shopping outlets, and within more ambitious but still walkable distances to such key locations and landmarks as Chinatown, Notre Dame Basilica, Windsor Station, Mont Royal Park, McGill University and many others.

The staff was professional, efficient and extremey friendly.Our room, a "Superior", was not large, but beautiful, well-appointed and more than adequate for two; it was in impeccable condition, with tasteful contemporary styling and a floor-to-ceiling window facing out onto the avenue. The bathroom was outfitted with a rain shower, and L'Occitane toiletries were replenished as needed.

One minor issue I had with the room was with the way the room safe was built into the closet - the closet was not huge to begin with and the dimensions of the wall safe limited the amount of hanging space for longer items (dresses, fully-hung slacks, etc.), but this was only a minor inconvenience. Another minor issue was that the down comforters, though extremely soft and full, could perhaps use a tighter weave, or be filled with a higher proportion of down vs. feathers, as feathers tended to occasionally poke through, providing a minor nuisance during an otherwise very comfortable time in bed.

The fitness center is quite modest, with only a few machines (both weight training and cardio), but it was a beautiful room, impeccably maintained, and well-stocked with towels, bottled water and fresh fruit; it was never crowded, and was more than adequate for our needs .

We visited the beautiful Renoir restaurant twice - once for dinner and once for breakfast - both times, we found the the staff extremely friendly and professional, and the food was impeccably prepared and presented.

Overall, we loved the hotel, and would return there in a second.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

We will look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile in a near future!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    563
    139
    37
    27
See reviews for
360
781
140
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I've stayed here twice on business. The first time, which was only a one night stay, I thought it was generally excellent and was really impressed by the front desk service. The second time, they remembered me, I was personally welcomed back and given a larger room. There are many nice hotels but my experience here has been excellent. The Renoir Continental breakfast is great value for a 5 star hotel (not cheap, good value: it includes continental meats, cheese and bread, fruit and yoghurt, a basket of pastries, juice and coffee). Dinner was also impeccably prepared and presented.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are relatively large and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Bonjour Melbvic,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so lucky to have Chef Olivier Perret as part of the team at Renoir Restaurant and are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed his menu!

I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that we were able to make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is one of the better hotels I have stayed in in Montréal. The staff were very welcoming at reception. I arrived at 10:00am and asked if I could already have my room and they said there would not be a problem. The room was a little small and I have stayed in better 5 star hotels but I would still say it is worthy of the five stars even though at the lower end. I would say for this reason it is slightly overpriced. WIFI was not included in the price which I thought was very poor as the price for 24 hours was about 20 CAD which is astronomical. Fortunately, they had free facilities in reception. It is nicely located in the centre and everywhere is within easy reach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Bonjour Martyn,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We arrived early, hoping to leave our bags at the hotel while we checked out the city. To our surprise we were granted early check-in by the friendly front desk agent.

The lobby here is amazing, as per the website photos, and there's always a bowl of apples at the front desk to snack on.

We stayed in 1407 which is a corner room with windows on two sides. The decor was contemporary and attractive. There was ample storage with a built-in wall cabinet and drawers under the television. The washroom here is phenomenal... the glass shower is a showpiece, and the even the toiletries are arranged artistically.

The gym is well equipped with excellent machines and has washrooms with showers inside for extra convenience. The gym also stocks apples and bottled water.

There were only a couple of cons:
The rooms don't have a fridge... they come with a stocked minibar instead.
The restaurant prices are quite high... $15 oatmeal ?

The concierge was very helpful when we asked about visiting the old city, explaining attractions and marking up a map for our use.

The hotel has a good location... only a 10-minute walk from St. Catherines St. with shopping along the way. Old Montreal is under a 30-minute walk and has awesome history and architecture.

When we checked out the doorman spoke to the taxi driver and advised us that the airport taxi was a flat $38 fee, which was a nice touch since we were charged $48 on the way in lol.

This was our first trip to Montreal, as well as our first stay at a Sofitel... and we will definitely revisit both!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0rminat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Having never stayed at a Sofitel before we were not sure what to expect, but we were rewarded with an amazing experience that set the tone for a great Canadian vacation. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Kevin checked us in and was so warm and friendly we felt honored to be staying here. The room was wonderful and the bathroom quite nice and modern. The bed was very comfortable and was a treat after long days of walking around the city. The hotel location can not be beat as many things are close as are a couple of Metro stops. The Sofitel is truly a luxury, upscale hotel that we felt was a good value as well. The location, staff and room quality were all top notch. We are definitely fans and will be looking for Sofitels in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATL_Brent71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal! Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area! 

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

If your looking for a modern, clean and friendly staff, this is it. Affordable and easy access to stores. Room was a little small but was only needed for sleeping. Beautiful bathroom.
thank your for a great stay.

Room Tip: I was on the corner of busy street and never heard a sound. I am a light sleeper and hear everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lickerishtheclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Good location of hotel though room was slightly small and cramped.
Concierge could have been a bit more helpful wrt doing tips on shopping and sightseeing. Mcgill university. Campus is just round the corner.

Room was comfortable though and pretty luxourious.

Staff were courteous during the stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ShabbirMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Sales & Marketing Assistant / Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,387 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,545 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing