We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2012

excellent location walking distance to Mc Gill, great service. on Golden Mile. Very attentive staff. wonderful bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

It has been quite a few years since I last had a chance to stay at the Sofitel Montreal (last stay was in 2005!). And after so many years, the hotel is still as wonderful as I last remembered it, and in many cases, it has gotten even better! (I should also mention that the rates were extremely competitive, especially compared with Montreal hotels of a similar class in the downtown area.)

I stayed three nights in a junior suite and the suites are super-comfortable, just as I remembered. Decor is warm and contemporary and the suite is bright and clean. The warm tones add to the relaxing ambiance of the suite. The beds are amazingly comfortable and made it quite difficult to get out of bed in the morning. Hotel was very quiet and made it very easy to stay relaxed.

Bathrooms were large and very clean. The shower had excellent water pressure, which is actually not that common in many hotels, especially high-rise hotels (I was on the 14th floor).

Location is excellent and allows for easy walking anywhere downtown (the hotel is also steps from the metro).

Food in the restaurant was very good and service was excellent. Valet staff was super and car retrieval was one of the most efficient that I have experienced at a Montreal hotel.

I have have one minor quibble...the working desk in the suite was excellent - perfect size, perfect height, excellent lighting, comfortable chair. BUT...there are only 2 electrical outlets at the desk. One was occupied by the phone, and the other was taken up by the desk lamp. So where is one expected to plug in the laptop without unplugging the phone or the lamp?!

On the topic of the working desk, the hotel offers complimentary high-speed LITE internet access...or you can pay for high-speed enhanced internet service...though it wasn't clear the exact difference between the two (I ended up going with the enhanced service).

Overall, an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montreal_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We chose the Sofitel for a business meeting of our association, based on its convenient location and good reputation. Check-in was very speedy, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. My only small quibble was that it was difficult to modulate the temperature of the shower. Also, check-out was very slow. I would avoid the Renoir restaurant in the lobby: very expensive for what you get, and uneven service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servicecomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Bonjour,

We appreciate your feedback and continued support of the hotel!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were excited to be in Montreal for 3 days after a long drive checking in was a breeze the room was great very large high ceilings! I was pumped to have a great trip. As soon as we arrived we were very hungry so we decided to stay in and Grab room service, BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER! We got ready went out at night and I started feeling super sick and had to go back to the hotel and that is where I stayed the remainder of my trip in bed running back and forth to the bathroom. The hotel didn't care and even charged 2$ per apple cause I didn't want to eat anything else. The location is great! Customer service needs a lot of help!!!!! Hotel it self is beautiful just don't eat there!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Bonjour Madame Vee R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montreal, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This has the usual high standard from Sofitel hotels, nice decor, great service and nice rooms. As always, the beds are the highlight of a Sofitel stay.

The location is right downtown and beside the University. Plenty of great restaurants nearby. My only negative was that the prices in the hotel restaurant are astronomically high, dinner for two was $180 with a beer costing $12!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sicnerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment you walk in, you can't help but feel calm and centered while staying here - Amid the hustle and bustle of city life, this is an oasis.

Large, spotless rooms, soft beds, impeccable service. I adore l'occitaine bathroom products and the hotel pens as well!

The breakfast is unbelievable here (delicious Benedict's, slow roasted and perfectly salted potatoes) in the hotel's beautiful Renoir restaurant.

The only black mark on our stay was being informed on our return to the room at 1 am saturday night that breakfast the next morning would not be available in the restaurant without a reservation because of mother's day brunch. We called down and learned the regular menu wasn't even available - it was just a prix fixe brunch. Given that we'd booked weeks in advance, a little more notice such that we could have made other plans would've been appreciated.

Nevertheless, we adored our stay and would certainly come back. Highly recommend to travellers of any age!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ABM0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Bonjour,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we have passed on your feedback concerning the breakfast on Mother's Day to our Restaurant Manager. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Very nice. Large, clean room. Bed comfy, bathroom nice (water pressure good), good desk for work. Lots of little things added up to improve stay. Like it a lot.

Wish coffee in the room, but instant machine in lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raylee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Bonjour raylee11,

We appreciate your feedback and continued support of the hotel!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,541 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,773 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £120 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing