We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern vibe, very hospitable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I usually prefer a traditional type hotel, but chose the Sofitel for my pre-cruise accomodations based on reviews, price and location. I was not disappointed: the property is contemporary, light and airy in a convenient downtown location, accessible to restaurants and shopping, and a 10 minute cab ride to Vieux Montreal and about 15 min. to the port.
Rooms: We had two rooms, each of which was a good size for two, with very comfortable bedding and nice bathroom and amenities. The two rooms were identical, although my nieces' room faced the back while mine had a street view. The only negative aspect was that the windows do not open, but apparently this was the existing case when Sofitel bought the building. Our room category did not include a coffee maker, but delicious coffee (complimentary) was available in the lobby (till nine, I think). However, bottled water was left for us during turndown service.
Service: nearly impeccable, from the porters when we arrived, to the front desk, to the concierge service. On the day of our departure, the housekeeper seemed anxious for us to leave so she could turn over the room, and seemed put out that we were staying until noon. Otherwise, the staff was very professional and beyond reproach.
Restaurant: We ate dinner outside the hotel, but enjoyed the bar for after-dinner drinks, which were priced about the same as what you would pay in a nice hotel in NYC (expensive). Breakfast was quite pricey for what we had -- basically continental -- and totalled almost $90 for four (including tax and tip). If you have time to go out, there are restaurants nearby open for breakfast.
One more convenience worth noting was the free use of the computers located in the back of the lobby.
Our send-off on the day of our cruise was as helpful and gracious as the staff's welcome the day we arrived. When planning this trip, I had a hard time deciding between the Sofitel or an old town location. While an old town hotel would have been "charming", the Sofitel is cool and trendy. I do not regret my choice.

Room Tip: Try to get at least a partial street view so that you see more than the building next door.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moss-doesnt-grow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Bonjour,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Montreal was the last stop of our honeymoon and the Sofitel did not disappoint! We got upgraded to a beautiful luxury room that had a beautiful bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The staff also had the lights dimmed and music playing in our room when we came in with a personalized note. Also, great recommendations from the concierge on the restaurant La Capannina. The hotel is also a close walk to Mont Royal park. We can't wait to go back to Montreal!

Room Tip: luxury rooms are very spacious and pick those with a city view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Beautiful, quiet rooms with gorgeous bathrooms. Front desk staff were polite and responsive. Concierge and valet service was outstanding. This is a former office building that has been beautifully redesigned with great attention to detail and asthetics. For a great men's haircut and shave, visit the Lebanese barber in the basement of the Cartier building next door.

Room Tip: For best views and quiet, get a room on a high floor facing west.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margareta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Bonjour Margareta09,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Thank you

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel in May 2012 during a business trip. The staff and the room were excellent. The room was very clean and up to date. The restaurant is great. I had an excellent breakfast. Breakfast is highly recommended, however, can be a little pricey. Location of the hotel is perfect. I will come back with my family to Montreal and I will stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Orgo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Bonjour Orgo T,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay. We hope to see you again in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Good choice, well located, nice rooms.
Excellent business/ tourist choice.
Try the great Japanese restaurant accross the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Bonjour Brent M,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile again soon.

Sicnerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuriaGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2012

It is a great hotel as any Sofitel anywhere I stayed is. Rooms are spacious, beds excellent. In superior room (always worth it) there is an espresso machine. Most notable it is a bargain compared to other hotels of this class. Location is decent. City is not big and you can really walk to other interesting neighborhoods or get a bixi. I was on combination business / pleasure trip and for that Sofitel is perfect. In summer outdoor restaurant is a big plus. The only thing I really didn't like is that in the modernist building windows are sealed and don't open.

Room Tip: Always choose superior room. It should be a small difference.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgelfand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,654 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,446 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,382 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,636 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £121 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing