We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfy”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel, We stayed in a luxury room. Based on the reviews and the price I expected more from this hotel.

Yes, the bed was very comfortable, the view from the the floor to ceiling window was great and the huge bathroom with separate tub and shower were also nice. However, the water pressure wasn't the greatest and unfortunately the shower door did not close properly so we always ended up with water on the bathroom floor. Though if that's all the negative things that I have to say, that isn't too bad.

The staff was professional and pleasant.

Overall we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Bonjour Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that you experience some problems with the shower, and we are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    552
    137
    36
    26
See reviews for
351
765
137
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, CH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a fabulous stay at the Sofitel. Moved to this hotel from another, pretty bad, hotel in Montreal. They were SO nice, easily accomodating us despite our calling in the morning for a room on the same day. Super flexible and kind also with the late check-out request the following day. Concierge was fantastic, hotel staff were top-notch with the exception of the bar staff (really, really nice...but really, really slow 20+ min wait for a martini...10+ min wait for an espresso).

Rooms are great. Spotless, airy, SUPER comfy beds, great bathrooms.

It doesn't have the opulence, etc of the Ritz or some of the super up-scale places in Old Montreal, but the Sofitel is a perfectly nice 4+ star hotel and is GREAT value for what you're getting. Would definitely recommend it over the Omni across the street or the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth (probably two of the most direct competitors). I think it's slightly better value than the St. Germain as well. Location is also really, really great and we really can't say enough good things about this gem. Definitely going to stay here again the next time I come to Montreal.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet rooms - ask to face Mont Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Bonjour Swissorio,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors at Sofitel, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed in Montreal this weekend and had a wonderful stay.

The staff is professional from beginning to end. The beds at all Sofitels are magnificent and this location is not an exception. I would have been content to stay in the bed for the weekend.

In the last year they have given the fitness centre a much needed improvement. With this upgrade they have given you nothing to complain about.

The location is ideal for walking to the downtown core and if you need a taxi to Old Montreal the staff is right on getting you a taxi and getting you on your way.

Great stay, cant wait to go back.

Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Bonjour Koter,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Sofitel on your next visit to Montreal!

Sincerely,

François Marceau 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I usually prefer a traditional type hotel, but chose the Sofitel for my pre-cruise accomodations based on reviews, price and location. I was not disappointed: the property is contemporary, light and airy in a convenient downtown location, accessible to restaurants and shopping, and a 10 minute cab ride to Vieux Montreal and about 15 min. to the port.
Rooms: We had two rooms, each of which was a good size for two, with very comfortable bedding and nice bathroom and amenities. The two rooms were identical, although my nieces' room faced the back while mine had a street view. The only negative aspect was that the windows do not open, but apparently this was the existing case when Sofitel bought the building. Our room category did not include a coffee maker, but delicious coffee (complimentary) was available in the lobby (till nine, I think). However, bottled water was left for us during turndown service.
Service: nearly impeccable, from the porters when we arrived, to the front desk, to the concierge service. On the day of our departure, the housekeeper seemed anxious for us to leave so she could turn over the room, and seemed put out that we were staying until noon. Otherwise, the staff was very professional and beyond reproach.
Restaurant: We ate dinner outside the hotel, but enjoyed the bar for after-dinner drinks, which were priced about the same as what you would pay in a nice hotel in NYC (expensive). Breakfast was quite pricey for what we had -- basically continental -- and totalled almost $90 for four (including tax and tip). If you have time to go out, there are restaurants nearby open for breakfast.
One more convenience worth noting was the free use of the computers located in the back of the lobby.
Our send-off on the day of our cruise was as helpful and gracious as the staff's welcome the day we arrived. When planning this trip, I had a hard time deciding between the Sofitel or an old town location. While an old town hotel would have been "charming", the Sofitel is cool and trendy. I do not regret my choice.

Room Tip: Try to get at least a partial street view so that you see more than the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moss-doesnt-grow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Bonjour,

Love to hear that we have a new Sofitel fan - so glad that you enjoyed your experiences in Montréal! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Montreal was the last stop of our honeymoon and the Sofitel did not disappoint! We got upgraded to a beautiful luxury room that had a beautiful bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The staff also had the lights dimmed and music playing in our room when we came in with a personalized note. Also, great recommendations from the concierge on the restaurant La Capannina. The hotel is also a close walk to Mont Royal park. We can't wait to go back to Montreal!

Room Tip: luxury rooms are very spacious and pick those with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Beautiful, quiet rooms with gorgeous bathrooms. Front desk staff were polite and responsive. Concierge and valet service was outstanding. This is a former office building that has been beautifully redesigned with great attention to detail and asthetics. For a great men's haircut and shave, visit the Lebanese barber in the basement of the Cartier building next door.

Room Tip: For best views and quiet, get a room on a high floor facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margareta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Bonjour Margareta09,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Thank you

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in May 2012 during a business trip. The staff and the room were excellent. The room was very clean and up to date. The restaurant is great. I had an excellent breakfast. Breakfast is highly recommended, however, can be a little pricey. Location of the hotel is perfect. I will come back with my family to Montreal and I will stay in this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Orgo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Bonjour Orgo T,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay. We hope to see you again in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing