We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a Valentine's Birthday weekend getaway, a special surprise from my husband (yes, lucky me!). This hotel has everything you'd want - accessibility to everything in Montreal (e.g., it is right down the block from the Museum of Fine Arts), immaculate cleanliness, high style aesthetics (modern yet classic), a great 24-hour fitness center with sauna, and super comfy bedding in the spacious bedroom. The best part of the hotel was the personnel. From the front desk team, in particular Paul from Reception who sent delicious pastries and bubbly water to our room along with a special hand-written note wishing me a "Joyeux Anniversaire and a beautiful St. Valentin" to the excellent concierge, and helpful, pleasant valet, we were treated warmly, and we were welcomed and cared for - above and beyond. Room service even prepared our bed for nighttime and left the Bose system playing soft music upon our return! Can't recommend the Sofitel Montreal enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Bonjour TravelJoy2014,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Sofitel Mtl is a 4.5 stars. But it should earn a 5 stars status ! Every think is perfect, even in the small details like a Bose sound system open to classical music when you open the door of your room, and soft lights are open, so you don't have to search around to find your way with your luggage. Beds with feathers covers and over mattress. HD tv. Bathroom is spotless and gorgeous. Staff is great, with just the right amount of friendliness and professionalism. Location his perfect, well within the golden square. Definitely a must and one of the best hotel in Montreal. Only the Ritz could pretend to be over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zubrzye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Bonjour Zubrzye,

Thank you for such a Magnifique review. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montreal and Sofitel Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
San Francisco, California
24
Reviewed 9 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my spouse, the room was exceptionally clean, bed was comfortable, the washroom was gorgeous with the glass door shower. The only thing that I did not personally enjoy, was the fact that when we booked through Hotwire, we did not know parking was an extra fee (30$) per night with valet service. But that is a minor hiccup, very nice place to stay, will definitely recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Bonjour Pat S.,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If the service wasn't so very good, I might have given this hotel 3 / 5 - average for a 4.5*. It is a 4.5* and even purchasing online blind through PL at discounted rates, it was still very expensive, too expensive - both of those things considered, I would have expected it to be something special... and it was nice but it wasn't special. We splurged and purchased an upgrade deluxe room - I have no idea what made it extra special; none. I really wouldn't do that again if I did return. Can't see how it would have been in any way nicer than the standard room. And if the standard room was a lot less nice, it would have been thoroughly disappointing for a 4.5* hotel.
There was nothing wrong with our room, but at close to $200 a night (discounted!), the standard is not "is there something seriously wrong with it?" I can mention that we didn't sleep terribly well either because we were on a lower floor and heard a lot of traffic noise through the (older?) windows. It's in a downtown, so you expect some, but the room was louder than we would have thought for a place that tries so hard to present itself as a premiere hotel in its market.
Don't get me wrong. The Sofitel is nice, but it's just too pricey for what you get, and it just isn't amazing or anything. Terrific staff though. Top notch. The best 'feature' of the place.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room not facing a street - street noise does make it through the windows.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Bonjour WmFerguson,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior experience to every customer; your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Sofitel from Nov 15th -Nov 19th 2013, to celebrate her Birthday.
The hotel is easy to find a short walk from the main train station and centrally located.
Reception was smooth and professional but lacking the warmth that we have experienced at other 5 star Hotels and Accor properties. We booked the luxury room which was spacious, well designed and attractively furnished.
While we did not dine at the restaurant we did use room service and the food was wonderful. The hotel bar is definitely worth a visit, nice atmosphere, friendly attentive staff and an extensive drink menu.
The Gym was undergoing renovations so we were unable to review.

We had a wonderful stay and we look forward to returning to Montreal in early September.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Bonjour FrancescaEdward,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The Sofitel Montreal always is a nice experience whether you are there for business or pleasure. Staff always make you feel at home and the rooms are really ample. Whilst it is not cheap, it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Bonjour Alejandro D,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,654 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,636 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £118 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing