We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh the Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Once again Tripadvisor has come up trumps.

I have found nothing to fault in this hotel and as previous reviewers have raved the Sofitel has enormous and possibly the most comfortable beds anywhere. Pillowtop plus if such a thing exists! Don`t know if its a coincidence but even the Neutrogena products that a previous reviewer disliked appear to have been replaced. The staff (and there are a lot of them) are very friendly, helpful and in a city with a confusing number of great dining opportunities, the concierge and his team identified very memorable dining experiences for me. Its easy sometimes when travelling alone to find large chain hotels impersonal and unfriendly but I have felt very well looked after indeed here. You can book the Sofitel with confidence.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BambuBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2007

I traveled to Montreal with my boyfriend from March 30th-April1st. Being a fan of tripadvisor, I rely on it for all my trips and I must say it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel itself is very pretty and clean, the room was a bit on the small side, however everything else was great. They have the most comfortable beds that I've ever had the privilege to sleep on in a hotel. The bathrooms are really nice, marble from ceiling to floor. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. I would recommend it to anyone who goes to Montreal.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunInTheSun423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

The Sofitel Montreal is a nice hotel. The public spaces and the restaurant Renoir and Le Bar are beautiful and contemporary. The rooms and service, however, leave a bit to be desired.

While I suspect most people would find the hotel, and its rooms and facilities acceptable, if not enjoyable on any level, hotel snobs be warned that there are some areas for improvement. For those people I will note the good and the bad.

First, the bed and bed linens are fantastic -- better than the Ritz Cartlon chain's. There are a few drawbacks to the room itself. We stayed in a deluxe room and found it a bit small and the furnishings a bit ikea-ish. The bath, with separate shower and tub, was quite attractive, but the bath products were Neutrogena and the tub was not large. Turndown service was hit or miss -- sometimes not occurring at all; and the morning paper was delivered quite late in the morning.

So, you can get a great sleep, good food and good cocktails at the Sofitel, but don't expect the world. Think hip new Hyatt, not Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gruver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Excellent hotel for the $200 USD that we paid. The front desk staff was very friendly and fast. The room was clean and new with things where they should be. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVagusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We booked this hotel through Quebec Tourism for four days in May. Their Sweet Deal included 2-person breakfast for 2 days and reduced room rate. This superb hotel is located 2 blocks from McGill University and the metro, 2 blocks from St. Catherine Street (the hip and happening address), with many moderately priced restaurants in a 2-block area. Our large room on the 16th floor faced west (towards the park), accommodated 3 adults in 2 beds, and had huge closets with mirrored doors. The bathroom, in grey, white and black marble, was oversized and spotless. Heavy terrycloth robes and slippers were a nice touch. Although breakfast in Renoir restaurant was expensive, our "deal" allowed us to eat there twice. The food and service was outstanding -- it is worth the price for such exquisite cuisine. The concierge had excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and daily outings. The spa had many exercise machines and a sauna. Three computers offered Internet service for free just off the lobby. The eclectic decor added to our complete enjoyment of this property.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank macbethLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2007

The hotel was very modern and comfortable and what is most noticeable is the service and attitude of those who work there. A professionalism,sincerety and willingness to help that is not easily found in the US. Bed was comfortable and the Internet service in the lobby appreciated. Lighting in the room was surperb. Thanks Simon (the conceirge) for letting me use your computer when the others were occupied. I did not like that the bathroom door didn't close completely. Weird design but otherwise A +++

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chiorazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed at Sofitel Montreal for 5 days last week in March and we will return in the summer. The staff goes out if its way to make you feel at home . The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The hotel rooms are super clean , super quiet .
And you cant beat the location which is walking distance from Hip Cresent st and a block away from Peel Metro station. To top it off we had a safe desposit box in the closet that made us feel extra safe with out passports and money . KUDOS TO SOFITEL

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caguas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,756 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £117 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing