We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location... Great Service, Excellent Sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Who could ask for more. The Sofitel is truly a great hotel. It's centrally located, close to downtown and McGill. Serious detail was paid when designing... they have thought of everything. Bathroom was HUGE and incredibly well stocked. The bar (Bar10) was a great way to relax at the end of the day, or a great way to start your evening. Would stay here again, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We've stayed in many Sofitels world-wide and have been mostly pleased. This location is as good or better than all. No problems at all with any aspect of our stay. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We did indeed have a wonderful stay. The breakfasts were delicious, beautifully and imaginatively presented, and the service excellent. Really, the Reception Staff, the Concierge, the waiting staff in the restaurant, the housekeepers, all discreet but friendly, helpful and charming. The beds were so comfortable and we appreciated the service of linens being turned down in the evening. The housekeeper replaced the water bottles for us and there was always lots of L'Occitane bathroom supplies. It all made for a fantastic stay for us, and great memories of Montreal. Our son started at McGill University and this was our first visit, we will return for sure !!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldCitizen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Located centrally on what might be called the Park Ave (NYC) of Montreal. Modern adaptation of glass office building. First rate room and bathroom. Quiet room. By far the most helpful concierges I've encountered anywhere. Reasonable rates especially for groups. Near Mus of Fine Arts. Outstanding facility. Avoid restaurant for breakfast--inferior preparation at high prices. Seek out Au Pain Dore or Premiere Moisson for breakfast and pastry.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

All I have to say is the hotel is alright, the staff is a little rude and wow Bed Bugs?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveD005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominic1Montreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

We found out about this comment this morning, We confirmed that there is no evidence of bed bugs in our rooms. Since this stay occurred more than 12 months ago, we also confirmed that there have been no complaints or evidence of bed bugs in our rooms, thus no treatments occurred. We at Sofitel take the prevention and treatment of bed bug infestations very seriously. We believe that prevention starts with a daily inspection by housekeeping staff to identify any evidence of bed bugs every time a bed is made. We also train hotel staff on our bed bug protocol and work with a national pest control company to inspect and treat any room in which bed bugs are alleged to be present. In this case, we could not confirm that Sofitel was the source of any bed bugs that may have traveled home with any client. As you may know, bed bugs are a worldwide problem for all kinds of establishments, including retail stores, movie theatres, and popular attractions. Bed bugs are highly efficient travelers that can attach themselves to clothing or luggage from almost anywhere. We do our absolute best to inspect, treat, and prevent any infestations, and when our efforts still fall short, we process any and all claims resulting from an infestation.

Nous avons pris connaissance de ce commentaire ce matin. Ce sejour a eu lieu il y a maintenant plus d'un an, nous n'avons eu aucune plainte mettant en evidence un probleme de bed bugs dans notre hotel a ce jour. Chez Sofitel toute les preventions necessaires sont prises et ce sujet est pris tres serieusement. Nous pensons que la prevention commence par une prevention journaliere par nos equipes des etages qui sont formees pour deceler une problematique quand elles font les lits. Nous formons nos equipes regulierement et utilisons une compagnie nationale de traitement pour effectuer des inspections et traiter les chambres dans le cas échéant. Dans ce cas bien précis, nous ne pouvons confirmer ce cas, et il est important de préciser que les bed bugs peuvent voyager avec l'etre humain. Comme vous le savez ce probleme est mondial et ces insectes sont bien souvent présents aussi bien dans les grandes surfaces, cinemas, théatres et autres espaces publics. Les bed buds sont des voyageurs très efficaces et bougent grace aux vetements. valises...Nous faisons notre maximum pour inspecter, traiter et former afin de prevenir tout probleme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel from Sept. 2 - 5, 2010 for a mini-vacation with my husband. The hotel is well located in the Golden Mile section near McGill University and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. The hotel has valet parking only for a cost of $10 per day. The hotel is small for a Sofitel, more of a boutique style. The lobby is lovely with dark colored wood, high ceilings and a lot of glass. My husband has an Accor card that gives you an automatic room upgrade and the room we stayed in was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was large and also immaculate. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant, Renoir, but did have drinks in the bar one evening. We had a free drink coupon with the Accor card, but if we didn't have that coupon, we probably wouldn't have gone there. An average glass of wine or the house champage started at $14 a glass, and the mixed drinks were even more. Some drinks were over $20.

I would have rated the Sofitel a 5 if it weren't for a few things that my husband and I found a bit annoying. One was that the WIFI connection costs $15 per day. They do have a business center in the lobby where you can access the internet for free but you have to go down to the lobby everytime you want to check e-mail or pay the $15 per day. Another thing was that with the Accor card, it allows you and one other person to have free breakfast if you stay over on a Saturday. The hotel wouldn't let us do that because we had purchased the reservation through Expedia instead of the Sofitel website. (The room rates were identical on the Expedia and Sofitel sites.) And instead of giving us 2 free drink coupons, they only gave us one which meant that one of us had to pay for their drink. Although none of these were a big deal, I would think that a hotel that considers itself a 5 star would be more accomodating to its membership guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFrogBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

In general a nice hotel, no major complaints.

Pluses: Really excellent bed. Location is great.

Minuses: Slightly overpriced. Staff could be friendlier. No coffee maker in room.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AI_Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,654 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,636 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £118 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing