We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, room average”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We got queen room average price was $210 before taxes but the room was small, had a very old TV and remote did not work. There were not anything extra in the room. I expected a nicer TV, coffee machine and ice bucket as minimum. The fridge was stuffed with over priced beverages like $4 pop and $7 for a bottle of water. Other than that lots of liquer which we dont drink. The location is great and the staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fstrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us.

I apologize you did not see us at our best! We are in the process of replacing all the TV`s and I am glad to say that we should be completed with in the next days. I will personnally make sure to review your comments with my team. I do hope that you will consider a return visit and please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can make sure you have a better experience with us.

Best regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    480
    113
    41
    20
See reviews for
338
1,149
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I've stayed in Fairmonts and other high end hotels and am usually left feeling like I got charged for the extra's without the benefit. This was not the case at the Place D'Armes! Free Wifi, fresh fruit and refreshments in the lobby, free papers. The room was enormous. We booked the Superior King room which was huge and fully equipped with a flatscreen TV and DVD. Arm chair, table with two chairs, desk and a king bed. Plenty of space to hang clothes in the armoir. The bathroom was large too with a spa style shower (no tub) with a rain shower head. Our rate also included two welcome cocktails and continental breakfast daily. I've read some reviews that the continental breakfast was disappointing but after travelling in the US and comparing the continental breakfast to many places there with this hotel...well there is truly nothing to complain about! Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, choice of cereal including oatmeal plus quality pastries. Hard boiled eggs, selection of cheeses and fruit juices.

We booked massages at the spa and all therapists at the spa are registered so qualify for extended medical insurance coverage if your plan covers such treatments. The service at the spa was outstanding and both of us thoroughly enjoyed our treatments.

Very convenient location to explore old Montreal by foot plus close to a Metro station to hop on and visit other parts of the city. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked one of the suites so we could have a separate bedroom for our infant and were given a free upgrade when we arrived. The room was fantastic, as was the service - at the front desk, room service and the valets. The room service was from their restaurant, which was very tasty. We would definitely book again. The hotel was right near Notre Dame and only a short walk to the waterfront area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clancyaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Great location, extremely comfortable hotel. Great staff and helpful concierge. Only downside was that the WiFi didn't really work in the room. I'd also spring for the Jr Suite!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our room was fine - reviews touting decoration are sadly mistaken as the look is quite dated. What was noteworthy was the service which was a disaster. When we called for our car to be brought around it was never communicated to the valet, when we called for a cab twice neither time was it called, to top it off in our junior suite there were multiple cobwebs over our bed and the cleaning service broke a glass and left half of it on the ground. We also asked the concierge for help booking restaurants which twice they just didn't do. The final straw was when we asked a staff member for help getting to the terrace and he made a face and was very rude to us. One last item of note was that when I tried to book a massage at Rainspa no one ever answered despite three attempt. I don't know what was happening with the staff over weekend but it was frankly ridiculous for a highly rated and supposedly high end hotel. I would not recommend staying here as the management seems to be completely incompetent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You have my most sincere apology that The Place D'Armes was not up to your expectation nor to the level it should be. We typically receive really good feedback on our product and services and I'm sad to see that we failed. Your comments have been reviewed with our team. Guest service is first at this hotel and I want to reasure you that actions will be taken.

Best regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel is fabulous. Beautiful rooms and decor. Unbelievable location...a block from the metro, in the heart of the Old City, block away from downtown. Plus, the people that work there are incredibly knowledgeable and charming.....Jose, Rene, Madeleine, and Sylvia couldn't have made our stay better. They answered ALL our questions and gave us explicit directions. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review. We are extremely glad that our staff has met your expectations and standards, and we hope to accomodate you in the near future.

Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the third time I've stopped here on the way home from Charlevoix and I've always felt at home. From the valet parking, to unloading our car (since we had a weeks worth of vacation stuff with us), the check-in and helping us into the room, all top rate. Relaxed on the roof for a beer before dinner and enjoyed the great views of the city. The staff helped with directions and getting us a cab for dinner. And we slept well. My only compliant was it must have been trash pick-up day, and being on the second floor above the trash woke us, although not too early.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing