We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 December 2007

Very pleasant two-night stay. The hotel is well appointed and clean. The staff were polite, attentive, and professional.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the staff!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MableUpstateny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    462
    109
    40
    18
See reviews for
312
1,098
87
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

My husband, my son, and I went to Montreal to celebrate my birthday. We chose Le Place d'Armes after reading the reviews online. WOW! It was a wonderful experience from the moment that we arrived. Everything was perfect and first-class from the very friendly and helpful staff to the extremely clean, elegant, and comfortable room. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed in which I have ever slept. We felt like royalty. To top it off, the hotel is in a great location in Old Montreal within walking distance to shops, plenty of history, wonderful places to dine, and the Metro. I highly recommend this hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit to Montreal, which will surely include a stay at Le Place d'Armes.

  • Liked — The room was extremely clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sitdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC suburbs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location in Old Montreal. Hotel combines the charm of an old building with updated decor. Rooms have more of a homey-feel than hotel feel with wood floors and area rugs contemporary light fixtures and a shelving in the bathroom.
Great location across from Notre Dame.

  • Liked — very comfortable room accomodations
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We just enjoyed a nice long weekend at the Hotel Place D'Armes. We've stayed in just about every hotel in Montreal and decided to try this one, as we had never been there.

The hotel is very well appointed, stylish and in the best location in Old Montreal. The staff goes out of its way to assist you and the experience is typical of an upscale boutique hotel. The breakfast in the morning is basic but very nice. After having some minor problems with our room, the staff apologized profusely and upgraded us to a better room. They obviously believe in the theory that its not what happens, but how you handle it.

The only negative about the hotel is that the rooms are a bit dark and need more lighting. We were in a suite with a work station which was stuck in a dark corridor with no lighting. How someone would be able to do any work in a corridor with no lights is beyond me.

Putting that aside, the hotel is terrific and definitely one of the best in Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Hotel Place D'Armes
55 St-JacquesMontreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2

I have stayed in Montreal a number of times....this was my first stay here. All I can saw, the Ritz, Four Seasons whatever...has nothing on this place. Hotel owners-managers all over need to see what a well run hotel feels like. From check in to the doorman...all polite, helpful and provided excellent service....this is my Montreal stay from this point on.

The rooms were spotless, very very roomie, excellent baths-jacuzzi tub, roomie shower....just great. There is a lounge to have a drink or one to just relax and shoot pool.

Great stay great hotel.

  • Liked — Everything...it is a great hotel
  • Disliked — It started to snow...but welcome to Montreal in November
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChazDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed here twice during our recent trip to Quebec, each time for four nights. The staff is wonderful. They upgraded our room twice until we were satisfied. Lovely rooms, some with floor to ceiling windows. Extra large & comfy beds. Large and contemporary bethrooms. Everything was spotless. Breakfast downstairs was a great way to start the day.

I'd go back to Montreal just to stay here again.

  • Liked — everything, from rooms to staff to breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in October. We had room 1506 which had 2 double beds. The staff was very nice at check-in and throughout our stay. The bedroom was a little cramped because there was 2 of us and the bathroom could have used a little touch up paint (there was a section near the bathtub that was black and peeling off). We dined at the hotel restaurant and it was very good and we both enjoyed our massage at RainSpa. Notre Dame is across the street and the Convention Center (Palais de Congres) is a block away. The hotel breakfast was good, too. They had various breads, cereals, fruit and cheeses.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank kelpartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
1,626 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
1,006 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,284 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing