We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel, but for the price they did not WOW us...the service coudl have been better, and the staff friendlier... The air circulation system in the hotel is very noisy... it woke us up at night...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickj_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear RickJ_9
We are sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to contact a member of our hotel management team to discuss any issues you may have had. We will address the issues mentioned with our staff and hope that if we are able to accommodate you once again that you will see an improvement with our service
Regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,606
    462
    109
    40
    18
See reviews for
314
1,103
87
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I were visiting from New York city for the weekend. We were very impressed with the ambiance of the hotel old world mixed with modern design. We had a king superior room very spacious with a large bathroom. We loved the fireplace very cozy and hi ceilings.
The staff is five star and very friendly. We had lunch at the restaurant called Suite 701 the food was amazing. They also have a bar there that we enjoyed during the evening before we went out. It is a very easy and beautiful walk from the hotel to all of Old Montreal and the port.
We are looking forward to enjoying the roof top restaurant the next time we visit when it is warmer out.
We can't wait to go back! We will recommend this place to everyone. Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear U F,

We are extremely glad that we were able to make your escape memorable. Thank you for your great review. We hope that you will be able to visit during the summer season to enjoy our roof top Patio. Feel free to contact our management team for reservations.

Regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked at Le Place d'Armes and we are so happy we did. This boutique hotel is located in Old Montreal, walking distance to Chinatown, and great shopping on St. Catherine and St.Laurent. We visited the rainspa and prior to our side by side massages, we spent some time in the relaxing steam bath. Our hotel room was upgraded for 20$/day to a 800 sq ft suite, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our fireplace in our room created a cozy atmosphere, and the rain shower was the perfect way to start each morning. We spent an evening at the bar 701, which was beautiful. The front desk always had fantastic restaurants to recommend, some affiliated with the hotel and some not - we loved each and every recommendation. I also left my tablet in the room and when I called, the hotel had it locked in their safe and it is on its way back home as we speak. The only complaint that we had was that we did not have a coffee maker in the room, which would have been a nice addition to our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear DaisieKat

Thank you for your review. We hope by now you have received your Tablet. We are happy that our team was able to help with you this. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Mathieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just got back from Montreal and had an amazing time and Place d'Armes! We booked a junior suite with balcony and it was amazing. The room was vet spacious with an amazingly HUGE bathroom...great walk in shower, jetted tub, and lots of space and ammeneties. The room includes a fireplace (which was nice during our cold stay), great views, and a really comfy bed. Every evening they offered turndown service which included complimentary bottled water. Absolutely loved our room and would book again.

The hotel is also lovely - gorgeous decor and very hip. The lobby had a billiard table and we played often.

We took full advantage of the hotel, got drinks at the bar, had dinner at AIX, and booked couples' massages at the spa. The bar is very nice and quite happening. The hotel offers a complimentary drink upon check in, which is a nice perk. We stayed in the bar to have additional cocktails before dinner and was bet pleased.

Unlike the bar, AIX restaurant was very empty. Food was amazing nonetheless.

Rainspa was average. The steam room (hammam) was really nice, but locker rooms were insufficient. Women's locker rooms are on another floor of the hotel (also where hotel rooms are) so they make you walk with a robe and take the elevator from one floor to the next. This I didn't enjoy. Men's locker rooms don't exist at all...simply some lockers in the hallway of the spa. Locker rooms were also lacking in ameneties for a spa. Luckily, because we stayed in the hotel, we used our amenities in our room and skipped the lockers. The couples' massage was really nice though...and we got a discount coupon upon check in!

Overall, loved my stay at Place d'Armes. I've stayed in many luxury-type hotels worldwide and this was really one of my favorites...great service and great ammeneties.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellomichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here in a Superior King room in mid-March. The room was absolutely one of the cleanest, most spacious, and best furnished hotel rooms we'd ever seen. The rain shower was awesome, and so was the electric fireplace (which gave off a surprising amount of heat). We took advantage of the welcome cocktails and the complimentary Wi-Fi was fast and worked great in the room, which allowed us to avoid expensive data roaming charges. Location was excellent, and the staff was extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way they could. Room service breakfast was served at precisely the requested time, and was delicious. Couldn't recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: Heard the street noise might be a problem, so we requested a room on a higher floor. Can't say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattH009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our stay at this hotel was one of the best. The hotel decor is very nice both in the common areas and in the rooms. The location is great for exploring the historic area. The valet parking is amazingly fast and we never had a problem being able to pull right up to the front entrance of the hotel with our car and luggage. The food in the bar was good, and the free welcome cocktail is a nice perk. There are great rooms with outstanding bathrooms. Hotel staff were really nice and helpful. There are good deals available on their website. Our first stay there we booked a jr. suite that was a big size with a fireplace, walk in shower, soaking tub and nice furnishings, and got a great deal through the website. The second stay there we also booked a jr.suite, but this time the room layout was completely different and it was in a different part of the hotel than the first time we stayed there. Although this room was very nice, there were things that made it not as nice or new as the first room we stayed in. BUT, we only had to say "I am not happy with my room" at the front desk and they immediately found us another room without us having to say another word, and were very friendly and helpful. So, as with most boutique hotels, rooms can vary in newness, layout and furnishings, but I am sure there is a great room there for everyone's taste and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felecia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Out of many upscale hotels, we did research and chose this beautiful hotel. I will never stay anywhere else in Montreal. Great location in Old Montreal across from beautiful Notre Dame. Close to tons of dining and shopping; walk to river very easy. Walk to downtown or short cab or metro ride. Clean huge room (jr. suite w/balcony), friendly staff, safe area (whole city felt safe), nice lounge and on site dining options. Concierge (Rene and others) very helpful. Can get U.S. money exchanged at front desk at great rate (better than airports). Great Spa in building. Anyone with anything bad to say about this place is a grumpy traveller. Can't wait to come back in summer!! 1.5-2 hr drive to Mt Tremblant. (If you can fly directly into Montreal, do it. Customs at Toronto will take up most of your layover.) 15 minutes $40 Trudeau airport to hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge, you are going on vacation!! We chose a Jr. Suite w/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougKristinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing