We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Bunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I must have looked at over 50 hotel websites from B&B's to big chains. I do love boutique hotels and have stayed in many and this one is right up there. Modern rooms, clean and stylish. Love the music playing when you walk in, electric fireplace was an unusual touch and added to the ambiance. Bed was SO comfortable and we used the iPod dock and the stereo/DVD - so nice to have that. We went to the spa (needed towels in the Hammam area and a bit cramped), dined at the restaurant (delicious and not too pricey, good music, lively crowd) and the croissants at breakfast were worth the calories. My criticisms are it was a bit dark by the armoire in our room and the wifi was terrible, unusable (thankfully I wasn't paying extra).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were there this past weekend for a business function. I was a tag-a-long, and have to say this hotel was simply perfection in the most beautiful setting. The food was wonderful at AIX.
My only comment I would like to make is more of a suggestion: The labels on the Shampoo, Conditioner and Shower Gel are all the same. When you are in the shower without your glasses, you can't tell the difference - a small detail.
I would definitely go back in a nano-second. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower One - unbeknownst to us, this was a loft suite - if you can - ask for one of thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devo-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

From the moment we checked in, I knew it was going to be special. We had booked a junior suite, but for some reason were upgraded to an executive suite which was HUGE - gorgeous bathroom with rain shower, jacuzzi tub, huge living room, dining room, separate office space, giant bedroom with super comfortable bed.... it might have been the grandest room we've stayed in. Loved the brick walls too, service, location. Breakfasts at 701 (the restaurant) were great. It's a bit loud for drinks at night, but we had our complimentary cocktail there. Didn't have time to check out the gym, but just our amazing room, great service and amenities were enough. The location is perfect right near the old town but walkable to the new part as well. I'd stay here again and now that we realize how close Montreal is, we will be back.

Room Tip: the suites are worth a bit extra and if you book a junior suite, they might upgrade you to an execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was there on business and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The rooms were beautiful, the food was great and the staff was very friendly. Also, the location was perfect - right in the heart of old Montreal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poipudreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at this Hotel last w/e for an impromptu get away to Old Montreal and loved it!

We had an internet deal for $169/night that included 2 free cocktails at one of the two restaurants within the hotel and a discount at the Spa. We upgraded to a suite for 20 bucks...worth every cent. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I would this one in my top 10.

It's 5-10min walk to the water and Cirque De Soleil (which is right on the water) and about 20-25min walk to downtown. If you're a Foodie, Chuck Hughes (young & innovative Canadian Chef) has two restaurants in Old Montreal, Garde Manger and Le Bremner. Garde Manger is the setting for his Food Network show "Chucks Day Off". A word to the wise...you will want to make a reservation well in advance as the resturant is typically booked up.

The room was modern, spacious, immaculate, and well laid out. And the staff were pleasant and responsive to our needs.

A nice w/e trip for the family...or romantic get away for couples.

We will certainly stay there again.

Dion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a two night stay here in April and were very pleased with the hotel and staff. We have to Montreal many times and have stayed here. The service is always exceptional and the rooms large and clean. Our room was a junior suite with a fireplace and large bathroom with rain shower. The location is right in Old Montreal and very close to the metro. Because of a special occasion, the hotel staff had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we got into our room. There is no need to look for a better hotel in Montreal to stay at than Le Place d'Armes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fly121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our brief get-away trip to Montreal and couldn't have been happier. Staff was friendly. Our junior suite was clean and spacious. The location was great. We also really enjoyed the Rain Spa inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,223 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,096 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,760 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,057 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £101 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing