We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love these boutique hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Love these boutique hotels”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I love boutique hotels and this is one of the best. Okay, you pay a little extra (actually, a lot extra in some cases), but it's worth it. Hotel Place d'Armes is in the middle of Old Montreal, just a few blocks from the restaurant-laden Rue St. Paul and one block from the Basilica Notre Dame. Downtown Montreal, including Chinatown, is only a few blocks in the other direction.

Our room was spacious with a king size bed, a sitting area and a work space. The bathrooms have a glass-enclosed shower and a separate tub. The staff is great. The maid comes by each night with candy and the next day's weather report. While we didn't eat there, the restaurant in the hotel makes most of the best restaurant lists.

There's not much of a downside here. The morning continental breakfast is pretty average. I've had better at a Hampton Inn, but it is free. So is the wine and cheese thing in the late afternoon.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The continental breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rastadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    481
    114
    41
    21
See reviews for
339
1,150
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel this past weekend. I highly recommend it! We arrived early at the hotel and our room was ready for us, we didn't have to wait for the "official" check-in time. Once inside, our hotel room looked and felt like we were staying in a fancy decorated mini- apartment instead of a typical hotel, complete with a jet tub, a fancy desk and spa toiletries. The evening wine and cheese was wonderful, as was the continental breakfast every morning. The hotel is walking distance to Notre Dame Basilica and Old Montreal sightseeing, restaurants, boutiques, art galleries, etc. The metro is close as well. The hotel staff is wonderful and gave excellent customer service! It was a wonderful experience!

  • Liked — Urban feel in Old Montreal, the swank hotel room!
  • Disliked — having to use your room key to work the elevator each time...you get used to it, though
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkpurse83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

My wife and I stayed here for the first time because of mostly positive comments on Tripadvisor and its close proximity to Old Montreal. Only minor problem was initially finding the hotel because a big yellow school bus was parked in the limited street space fronting the nondescript hotel entrance. We had a spacious deluxe king suite on the second floor & never heard any of the typical hotel noise even though the room was adjacent to the elevators which I might add worked just fine!
Our 3 day stay included a delightful morning continental breakfast and an evening wine and cheese. Adding to the enjoyment was the opportunity to easily walk to most of the attractions in Old Montreal, Chinatown, and even many in downtown Montreal.
All of the staff was helpful and friendly especially the concierge and doormen.

  • Liked — Newness, spaciousness especially bathroom which had a great jacuzzi bathtub!
  • Disliked — Limited entrance access for vehicles.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnski41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Before we even arrived the service was wonderful. Emailed the concierge a few days prior to arriving, who assisted us with a reservation at a very busy restaurant ( Au Pied de Cochon, which was so good!). Arrived at about 11:00 am and they had a room ready for us. It was so nice to be able to put our things away, freshen up and then go grab lunch before we ran around the city. The rooms are large and comfortable and in my experience, very quite, so easy to get a good sleep. Everyone we spoke to on the staff was not only nice and helpful, but very funny also! Great reccomendations for bars and directions....will return as soon as possible and send friends.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Room service menu was limited.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The hotel room is lovely. Expect old hardwood floors, a comfy bed, big bathroom and TALL ceilings. The free breakfast is decent. The only complaint I have is the horrible elevator. I tried the stairs but they were locked (good thing there was no fire).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ninaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2008

My Wife and I stayed at Place D'Armes on July 31, 2008 and loved it, the hotel is in a great location and the staff are awesome. We have very close friends in montreal and travel to Montreal frequently, we have stayed at many many hotels in Montreal and I this is now in our top 3.

We were travelling through Montreal for our first wedding anniversary and my mom had made sure there was a bottle of chilled champagne and some chocolate covered strawberries in our room on check in and the staff made sure to wish us a happy anniversary.

The room was awesome, we only had a standard room and I would recommend to everyone to spend the extra money and get a deluxe room as the standard rooms are pretty small (they are still great though)

The continental breakfast was great.

This place has a great feeling to it and the ambience is wonderful. I will be returning in couple of weeks for business and will definetely booking Place D'Armes for that trip

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed 5 nights on our Montreal vacation. Our first to the city. We had a chance to look at the other hotels in Old Montreal and this is by far the best choice.

If you stay in a downtown hotel you miss out on the charm and sites of Old Montreal. Downtown Montreal is just like any US city, big office buildings, cars, subway but Old Montreal is special.

Location, location, location. Across the park from Notre-Dame Basilica, just down the street from the restaurants at Place Jacques Carter and a couple blocks from Chinatown and the Old Port. You are in the middle of everything and yet it is a great place.

We never needed a car and if you want to explore other parts of the City, they have a complementary car service that will drop you off in downtown, Mount Royal or other locations.

Complementary Wine and cheese every afternoon and continental breakfast were nice with exceptional wait staff. They have a roof top cafe for a change and a good view of the City.

The rooms are nice, comfortable beds, new furniture and wireless internet service. They are small compared to US big name luxury hotels but this is a renovated historic building so you have a trade off.

Service is very good and the staff quickly learned our names and greeted us each time as we came in from excursions or dinner.

Thursday night their bar is The Place for locals and you would think you were at a hot club in NYC. Packed wall to wall and even waiting to get in on the sidewalk with guards at the door. It was just that one night but apparently every Thursday all the locals dress up and come to Place d'Armes.

We were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank biztravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,412 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,342 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
357 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing