We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! and Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I took my wife to Montreal to celebrate her 50th birthday and, having looked at a number of the best boutique and luxury hotels in the Old Port and Downtown areas, decided on the Place d'Armes. Once in town, we visited a number of the other hotels we had considered (curiousity) while out walking and came away delighted that we had succeeded in choosing the very best one. In terms of value it was hands down the most for the money. In terms of location (right on the square in front of the cathedral, beautifully poised in the old town but at the edge of downtown and thus not quite on the tourist thoroughfares of the old port which would get tedious) it also seemed absolutely just right. The lobby and public areas are clean and comfortable and the rooms the same. Admittedly we were upgraded to a junior suite (one of the many nods towards my wife's birthday graciously made by the staff) so the room was especially large and very nicely appointed, with a delightfully large bath with large shower and separate whirl pool tub. Champagne and chocolate strawberries were delivered (another birthday treat) and complimentary cocktails in the bar offered. The rooftop terrace was also the nicest of several that we visited in the city. We also had a package through Travelzoo which included the hammam -- our first time in a working hammam and it was great! -- the buffet continental breakfast (fresh fruits, fresh croissants, bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee -- ie all you could want and more). The staff were extremely professional and accommodating and made our weekend in Montreal a delight! Our thanks. Our advice to travelers to Montreal, if you want to enjoy the Old Port and all the rest that Montreal has to offer and stay in a luxurious but unpretentious boutique hotel, Place d'Armes is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour trvlin,

We are honoured to have been part of making your wife's birthday and your trip to Montréal a delight. Thank you for sharing your great comments and very kind words with us and fellow travellers.

Do feel free to contact us directly when planning your next visit and we will gladly assist.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel provided a wonderful base for exploration of Montreal. Easy walking distance to the port as well as the Metro. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and a more comfortable than usual sofa bed. Breakfast nor parking were included with our rate, but Starbucks is just around the corner and the room rate was competitive even with the additional for parking. We arrived on a busy Saturday night and were given a Junior Suite on the third floor at the front of the hotel. It was loud and we did not sleep well. I spoke with the front desk staff the next morning and they quickly and graciously changed our room to a higher floor at the back of the hotel with a beautiful view of Montreal. Both rooms were spacious with tasteful, modern decor. Overall, our stay was enjoyable and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RANCCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour RANCorpusChristi,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites with fellow travellers.

We are happy to hear that our front desk team was able to accommodate you with a room move to better suit your needs and that you had and overall enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed four nights last week with my goddaughter at Le Place d'Armes, and we could not have chosen a lovelier hotel. Our room was far more spacious than anticipated, and we never felt cramped or in each other's way. The bathroom, too, was large and easily accommodated both of us and our multitude of hair and makeup accoutrements. (A delightful bonus was the rain shower.) Another plus was the onsite restaurant, Suite 701. We arrived late our first night and decided to just grab a bite at the hotel. The quality of the food and friendliness of the servers lured us back for a second meal on our last night!

The location of the hotel is within short walking distance of Old Montreal, downtown, The Notre Dame Basilica, and a Metro station, which opened up the entire city to us. Our room overlooked Rue Saint-Jacques, and we enjoyed watching the street life over morning coffee. Yes, there are a couple of Starbucks within a short walk too!

Best of all was the staff. Neither of us had visited Montreal before, so we had lots of questions. Staff members went out of their way to help, guide, and advise us and even provided umbrellas on the day it rained. During checkout, I was asked how the stay was. I replied with one word and meant it wholeheartedly: Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour Jackie555 ,

We are more than happy to read that you had a perfect stay with us and enjoyed some of our outlets but, most of all, our staff.

Thank you for your very kind words which we will gladly share with the entire team.

Hope to be welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently spent several days at the Place d'Armes Hotel and Suites in Montreal and had a delightful experience. Our room was beautiful beyond our expectations, the food in the hotel's restaurant was excellent, the service was very friendly and efficient, and the hotel offered many extras such as a very nice spa and a lounge with a pool table for guests to enjoy. I only wish that we had had more time to stay and enjoy all of the amenities. The hotel has something to offer for everyone in the family. Our adult daughter also accompanied us and was equally delighted with the surroundings. I hope we have the opportunity to return someday.

Room Tip: Our suite was large and quiet even though it faced the street and was next to the elevator. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour Karen P,

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites. Thank you for such a great review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Full endorsement here. Excellent hotel!

Clean, spacious rooms with high end amenities.
A rooftop bar that cannot be topped, with great drinks..service was a bit slow, but well worth the wait for the quality.
Helpful and courteous staff.
Two free drinks with check-in.
Accidentally forgot my passport in my room safe upon check-out..within an hour the hotel staff was calling my phone to let me know.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimWoody06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour JimWoody06,

Thank you very much for this great review and your full endorsement.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the rooftop terrace to the staff's service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, passport in hand.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Le Place d'Armes very much. The rooms were lovely, and the hotel ambiance was great. The room service dinner food was not great, but the staff handled that quickly and professionally.

The location is perfect for a walking/Metro stay in the City. The Metro stop is very close, and Old Port very close walking distance. You don't need to rent a car. We went to Mount Royal, Atwater, all by public transportation. Being from Brooklyn, we loved that!

The rooftop Terrace is very beautiful. We were lucky to see fireworks over Montreal the night we were there.

The last night of our stay, my wife came down with the flu/bronchitis, with fever. We were scheduled to check out the next day at noon, our flight back to NY not until 6PM. The staff arranged for us to stay until 3:30, until it was time to get a cab to the airport. I don't know what we would have done if we could not have stayed the extra hours, since my wife was running a fever.

High class hotel, great staff, would like to mention in particular Daisy and Stephanie at the front desk, who were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour R M,

Thank you for your great review and your very kind words which we will share with the entire team.

We are sorry to read that your wife got ill on your last night with us but happy that both Daisy and Stéphanie were able to help out and accommodate you with a late checkout.

Looking forward to welcoming you both soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just got home from a two night stay at this marvelous hotel. The old world charm and modern amenities made for the perfect combination and the location, right in the heart of Old Montreal, was ideal. We stayed in a Junior Suite - very large and comfortable. All the staff that we dealt with were first rate; professional, knowledgeable, yet warm and friendly - special thanks to Daisy (Front desk) for making the birthday celebration special and to Gavin in Suite 701 for his excellent menu suggestions. We also enjoyed Rainspa, the on-site spa. The massage therapists were excellent. When we go back to Montreal, this is where we will stay! We would like to make this an annual event we enjoyed our stay here so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Bonjour Chris W,

We are delighted to read that both Daisy and Gavin made your stay with us exceptional. Thank you for such kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at Le Place d’Armes Hôtel & Suites with fellow travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Until then we wish you a great summer.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £105 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing