We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Place d'Armes
Nearby Hotels
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,651)
Filter reviews
2,651 results
Traveller rating
1,927
533
125
42
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,927
533
125
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold montrealrain spajunior suitenotre dameexposed brickchocolate covered strawberriesbeautiful hotelrooftop terracebottle of champagneelectric fireplacejetted tubhigh ceilingsturn down serviceperfect locationhuge bathroombeautiful roomhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,172 - 2,177 of 2,651 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Located in the beautiful 19th century waterfront area of the city ("Vieux Montreal") the Place d'Armes is a successful make-over of several old commercial buildings dating from the late nineteenth, early twentieth century. It is much frequented for office parties and business meetings, and its ground floor is well designed for the purpose. The rooms/suites are capacious, bathrooms are very well designed and beds are comfortable. Looking over the hotel, one would place it at about the height of early nineties style, cool verging on cold. But if you are going to place yourself in the height of fashion, you'd better keep up, and there signs that the hotel is becoming ever so slightly dated if not unfocused. Paint is flaking off chairs and on the occasional corner, and the staff while mostly very jolly and helpful, does not seem to be under central command.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank winston_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Attended a conference in Montreal and this was one of the four recommended hotels. It definitely was the best of them all. Had a great double room, sharing with a colleague in the 2nd building, and loved the complimentary wine and cheese, wireless internet and continental breakfast in the morning.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and gracious. One night after having a late nightcap in the lounge, I left my gloves on one of the banquettes. Upon returning to my room, I received a call from one of the staff in the lounge and within minutes someone was at our room with the forgotten gloves.

Can't wait to return to Montreal and to Place D'Armes!

The only downside was hearing loud music one night from one of the nightclubs outside. We were on the 5th floor and could still hear it. The only problem in a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

You can't get any better location, service, breakfast, or atmosphere than this hotel. We can't wait to go back! The bed was so comfy I actually ordered their sheets (never done that before!), the rooms preserved their historic past with hardwood floors and enormous window seats--but the furnishings were simple modern chic. Huge bathroom! We felt very luxurious, but the price is reasonable for the city. Breakfast was amazing--the best croissants and bread and fruit and yogurt and cereal . . . we stuffed ourselves so much we barely wanted the wine and cheese at the evening reception (but it was free, so we went and enjoyed the surprisingly good wine!)
They're located right next to a metro station, which is great for getting to the gorgeous, massive Botanical Gardens and to other places we didn't have time to see--next time! You can't hear the metro at all, and we could see the Cathedrale across the Square/Piazza/Place from us--nice view! Lovely soundproofed windows in the rooms--hotel very quiet despite the room right next door containing a family with young kids--we were surprised to see them coming back from bkfst, never heard a peep inside the room. Hubby borrowed a CD from the front desk to play in the room's cd player--nice touch. And after dinner one night, we asked the front desk person where to buy water--he told us everything was closed, but he went and brought us back several bottles of water for us to take with us the next day on a bike ride! (We used the tasty faucet water in the room to refill them).
Highly recommend the bike ride along the Lachine Canal up to the Lachine Market. The farmer's markets here are amazingly stocked and if you ask the vendors what an unknown fruit or veggie is, they let you taste it! And the bread is delicious everywhere you go.
Back to the hotel (sorry for the tangent): they have great lounges with free pool tables and a fire in the fireplace (yes, even in August--it was for looks only) and flat screen tvs and neat modern sofas. The spa looked nice, as did the rooftop bar--great views of the city and plenty of people watching! The breakfast room is gorgeous: ornate mouldings from the original bank building, tall tall ceilings--lovely setting. Seriously, this place is wonderful, and a 5-minute walk to train station, 10-minute scenic walk to Vieux Montreal and the waterfront. Enjoy!
(Sorry no photos--had to delete from camera cuz ran out of memory while at the gardens!)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We booked this hotel after reading all the glowing reviews on this boutique hotel from fellow Tripadvisors. From the moment we walked in until the last moment we stepped out of the hotel the stay here was absolutely enjoyable. The hotel is in Old Montreal, less than a minute walk to Notre Dame basilica. Lots of good restaurants around and little shops and art galleries abound - all within walking distance.

After checking in, we went up to our room to drop off our luggage, about 10 minutes later a bellhop dropped us off a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. We mentioned it was our anniversary - so I'm not sure if all guests get it or not. Either way it was nice touch. The room was cozy, with a electric fire place and a comfy king sized bed. The walk-in shower was nice, big enough for 2 people. We stayed for 2 nights, each night - housekeeping came to drop off some chocolates and a bottle of water. The wine and cheese was a nice as well. It was from 5 to 7 each night. You don't have to stay in the restaurant - we took ours back to our room to enjoy. The free breakfast was decent. Well stocked with bagels, croissants, danishes, fruits, and cheese. If you wanted omelets or pancakes, you can order off their menu - of course you would have to pay for that. The free breakfast was more than enough in my view.

Valet service was good, sometimes our car was parked outside on the street instead of the underground lot. I didn't mind, but I'm sure people with luxury cars would prefer their car in a parking lot rather than overnight on the street.

The hotel staff was excellent in providing directions to attractions in Montreal. Overall it was a splendid weekend in Montreal, coming back to the hotel every night was such a relief. The thought of coming back to a aesthetically pleasing room and comfortable bed just made the trip so much more enjoyable. Each time we stay in Montreal, we will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Silvermetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We would highly recommend the Place d'Armes hotel. It has a charming, hip character. The rooms are interesting and well appointed. The staff and the breakfast is fabulous. The rooftop bar is a very happening spot on the weekends and a very convenient place to socialize. The restaurant for dinner is first rate. The only downside is that because the rooftop bar and restaurant are very popular with the locals, it can get noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews