We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant comfort in an ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Whidbey Island WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegant comfort in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We enjoyed a 2-day stay at Place D'Armes before boarding Holland America's Maasdam for a 7-day cruise from Montreal to Boston. The hotel's location is a short walk to Notre Dame Basilica; we could and did walk to all sites of interest in Old Montreal. We also took a 3-hour Gray Line tour to see places of interest in other parts of the city.

Our room was spacious with fine old-world touches. All staff were personable and helpful. There were computers for guest use, without charge. A nice plus was an included breakfast with good choices to start our days.

In the photo of the hotel exterior, notice the red umbrellas on the top floor. This was a restaurant/bar with marvelous views, open from noon into the evening -- another nice plus.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    481
    114
    41
    20
See reviews for
339
1,150
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great location, sumptuous rooms,excellent service, good food & wine. Complimentary breakfast every day and wine & cheese in the evening

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliec09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were very pleased with the hotel. We were upgraded due to my membership with Tablet Plus, which put us in a large, executive suite. Great exposed brick, comfy bed, big tvs, awesome bathroom, half bath, etc. Only issues were the clock radio didn't work, our maid did not come back to clean our room one day, the safe broke, and the shower/towel rack fell down. Otherwise the rooftop bar, downstairs restaurant and bar are very cool. It's also an excellent location to the metro.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I suppose it just wasn't my cup of tea. Very slick and chic, but cold, cold, cold. Lots of hard, smooth surfaces in public area. Dimly lit corridors and room. Very noisy in breakfast room. Maybe my unpleasant concierge experience colored my view: after a day of travel and settling into the room, we asked for casual dinner recommendations in the area. The concierge made a computer entry, then took a phone call which involved him chatting, then opening an envelope and counting out the money inside of it while we were standing and waiting. I finally had to say "excuse me, but could you just point us in a direction? We're hungry!" He looked surprised and handed us two printouts. That said, the room was spacious and beautifully appointed, though on the dark side. The bathroom ( again dark ,with black tiles) was nevertheless, huge and luxurious. Room service was prompt. It seemed a perfect hotel for a business trip, but could use some warmer accents, in my opinion. The location was excellent, a block from metro stop, but there are other hotels in the old Montreal area that looked more charming to me.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I went with my wife here off-season so the room price was great relative to the summer rates. The location is perfect if you want to stay near the old part of Montreal and it isn't too far to the subway and is a reasonable walk to Blvd Levesque. The room was flawless. Perfect bed and furniture. Rain shower in the huge bathroom. The hotel bar was a cool place to relax after exploring the city. Comparable to a W hotel in terms of style and ambience.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uvabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Place d' Armes Hotel and Suites for 4 nights as part of a business meeting at the Convention Center, which is only a stone's throw away (nice). The service throughout our stay was great. The staff was friendly and eager to please us. We asked lots of questions on directions, restaurants, parking, whatever and couldn't shake this staff. I especially appreciated Henri at the front desk who more often than not was the "lucky man" for my numerous inquiries and idle chat about his city.

More Things we like about the Pd'A: The location on the edge of Old Montreal and still close to the Metro station one block away at the convention center. The Gym on the 5th floor where I couldn't get the HDTV to work in the gym and call the front desk. A staff member was there in one minute apologizing for the TV not working when he knew the snafu was caused by my own hi-tech incompetance. The evening wine and cheese; a very nice gesture and a great place to relax after a busy day. Ditto for the free continental breakfast in Suite 701 with plenty of breads, cereals, fresh fruit to fill everyone except a hungry lumber-jack. I liked that there were always fresh apples in the gym and lobby; The Roof Top Bar was trendy and unexpectedly classy with a great view of Notre Dame Basilica; A working Wi-Fi with a stong signal everywhere on premises; The bed which my wife said was one of the most comfortable she had ever slept-in; general upkeep and cleanliness everywhere.

Things that could have been better at the Pd'A: We stayed in Building 2 and had no exposed bricks on any the charm in other rooms noted in these reviews. We paid for a deluxe suite and felt the room was really a standard/superior room; I was disappointed the hotel didn't give us a nicer room considering I told them it was a "major anniversary" at the time of booking; the the fireplace didn't work for reasons unknown; the jet tub wouldn't hold water due to a leaky drain rendering it totally useless during our stay; the huge overhead shower didn't work well due to low water pressure; the room lighting was too dim for our liking. These items only slightly downgraded our stay.

If you are staying in Montreal for a convention or there for leisure, I highly recommend you stay in Old Montreal. We visited a number of other downtown hotels during our stay, which were similar to what you find in any big city. The charm of Old Montreal can't be beat and I have no reservations recommending the Place d' Armes to anyone looking for a classy and trendy hotel near everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gfkr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at the Place d'Armes for 3 nights in late August. We had a very good experience: the hotel is modern, comfortable and makes for a very good retreat from the city. Our room (the cheapest option) was a good size, neutrally decorated with dark wood furniture and bare brick walls, with a comfortable queen sized bed. The bathroom was large, with a full-sized bathtub, an over-bath shower, plenty of storage space for toiletries and a really strong hairdryer. Complimentary toiletries were from the inhouse 'Rainspa'. Each morning, a good continental breakfast was provided: very fresh fruit salad, bagels and toast, croissants, yoghurts, cereals and juice.

The hotel has a popular restaurant and a bar attached to it, neither of which we tried. We did have a drink in the rooftop bar which wasn't as swish as I had expected - there are nicer places for a drink very close by.

There was free wifi access in the room and two terminals for internet access in the foyer (one with a printer attached). The hotel is right in the centre of Old Montreal (directly opposite the cathedral) and well-located for train and bus connections.

Overall, we were impressed and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable and stylish place to stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agrippina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing