We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,919 results
Traveller rating
2,140
572
135
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,140
572
135
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old montreal junior suite rain spa notre dame exposed brick beautiful hotel rooftop bar chocolate covered strawberries electric fireplace high ceilings perfect location jacuzzi tub turn down service huge bathroom beautiful room front desk staff hotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,919 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a lot of time here watching the sunset and drinking wine. The views of the church and surrounding buildings are really pretty! Definitely head up there for a drink or two anytime of the day! Enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank StefJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the penthouse for 4 nights, The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The restaurant served excellent food and drinks. The waitstaff where excellent! Everyone was friendly and helpful! I will most certainly be back!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mepartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bquilliams, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear mepartyof5'

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.
Feedback such as yours means alot to our teams as they continuously strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hotel Place d'Armes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Easy valet parking right in front of hotel.
Was a little pricey. But well worth it.
Bell man was very friendly and front desk staff was outstanding helped us with all our questions.
Room was clean and modern.
Elevator had a nasty smell not sure why.
Close to all the action.
We will return.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Resort661543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bquilliams, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Resort661543,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you found our services "well worth it" and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Your Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful old hotel--fusion of old and new. You can do everything there--eat, sleep, relax, or socialize in the lobby or Brasserie 701, .... Just steps outside and you are in the square facing lots of history and the Notre-Dame Cathedral. Wanter down the cobblestone streets and toward the mighty St. Lawrence River. Take it all in! Montréal does Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall so well!

Room tip: I trust any room. I've been in a corner room with a beautiful brick façade and a more typical hotel room.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 70AmyRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bquilliams, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 70AmyRH,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted to hear that you consider Hotel Place d'Armes as your favorite hotel in Montréal.
We can't agree with you more that our location and the diversity of our services compliment what Montréal has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home while in Montréal.

Kind regards,

Your Hospitality Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in June 2018 and I had booked a Junior Suite.

Pros:

1) Hands down the best location among hotels in Montreal since its located in the old part of the city right next to the Notre-dame Basilica

2) Beautiful, clean and has a definite French/European flavour to it

3) Courteous staff and good room service

Cons:

1) The Junior Suite was smaller than I expected. I had expected it to be bigger based on the photos I saw online (There were photos of a room with brick walls...didn't get that one :( ). Guess I would be happier about it if I had paid less. Didn't feel worth the per night charges I paid.

2) The hotel's restaurant had limited choices on the menu, especially for vegetarians

Room tip: I have seen pictures online (including expedia) of a room with brick walls. Try to get that one. Looks bigger...
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankushhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bquilliams, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ankushhp,

thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your pros were greater that your cons.

Given the diversity of our building structure, we do have a variety of room sizes and features.
We regret that the room chosen for you did not meet your expectations.

Our Chefs are always happy to accommodate special diets when requested.
Should you consider staying with us in the future, just let us know your préférences and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Kind regards,

Bryan Quilliams
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews