We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel last year.Have been to Montreal many times over the years and this was by far the best hotel.Large suites.High ceilings.Great hotel staff and very quiet.Close to everything especially shopping!Booked through Expedia.Got a great deal.Will definitely book again.Have recommended to others with great feedback

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

What a great downtown location and a loveley spacious suite. It has all the mod cons except a laundry which is available one floor away. Beautifully furnished and equipped - at least a 4 if not 5 star by Australian standards.
Excellent service by front desk and concierge on various matters. A continental breakfast is included. A very large IGA supermarket is located 2 blocks away and a liquor outlet is a little closer. Taxi in from the airport is a standard $38 CA. So much to see and all within 3km radius so lots of walking opportunities./
Excellent value. Rooms as portrayed on website.

Room Tip: Great place in Montreal for a few3 days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanberraTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

All reviews indicated price to quality ratio was among the best. Trip Advisor is not the only one to point in that direction. This is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeniatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I found this delightful hotel on TripAdvisor, and couldn't agree more with the reviews. They were having a special where every second night was 50% off, so I ended up paying around $125 per night for a room bigger than my apt., with a full size kitchen, dishwasher, stove, full sized fridge w/freezer, microwave, dining table and chairs, and a wonderful bed, shelves, desk, I WANTED TO MOVE IN! Quiet rooms, great location, nice people, beautiful pool and fitness room on top floor with wonderful views. If you like to save money by buying and preparing your own meals (well, at least breakfast), I would stay here. Oh, and on top of everything, they did have free breakfast, which I didn't try. You can't go wrong, esp. with kids.

Room Tip: go to their website and look for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

For a 3-star hotel, this hotel is as good as it gets.

The first thing we noticed was how big the room was- high ceiling and spacious floor plan. Considering our double-room included a kitchen and dining table/chairs, it was amazing that we had more than enough room for a third roller bed. 3 of us sharing 1 room didn't feel crowded at all.

The furniture itself was pretty basic- nothing fancy. Bed was firm and comfortable enough, though sheets were a little too stiff for my preference. I was grateful for thick curtains that blocked morning sunlights coming through the sizable windows when we wanted to sleep late- which was most of time for Montreal has a great night life! And rooms were very quiet at night so there was no worrying about poor sleeping because of noise.

The hotel staffs were very nice and helpful. And the maid service was very prompt when we needed. The only thing I noticed was that the cleaning was not as thorough as I am used to with other 4-5 star hotels, but it wasn't noticeable enough to bother me.

For travel purposes, the location was perfect. It's central to downtown area- only a block south of St. Catherine and underground city stores, and it's sandwiched in between McGill and Square Victoria metro stations. It takes only 10-15 min walking to Old Montreal and China Town, and about $7-11 taxi ride to St. Laurent and St. Denis (where all the fabulous restaurants are) to the east, and Crescent Street to the west.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway for a couple because Old Montreal area has lots of plush options for that. However, for a quick 5-day trip to experience the Montreal's city life with friends at reasonable cost, we couldn't have gotten a better hotel. I have to say thank you to tripadvisor again for helping me finding a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Great place for families. We had a suite with a separate room which was perfect for our party of four (two parents + two kids 4 and 2 years old). The rooms and kitchen were large enough, comfortable and very very clean. The place was central in Montreal and near metro stations. Breakfast was perfect for kids (and parents too!). We had only two complaints: 1) the water in the swimming pool was cold. Our younger one didn't exactly enjoy the experience (but for our 4 years old, the swimming pool was the highlight of his stay in Montreal!) and 2) although the hotel is in the green key program, we felt it wasn't very different from other hotels which are not in the program...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlafortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

We are very pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Montreal but disappointed that your two years old did not enjoy our swimming pool. Fortunately the highlight of your four years old was our rooftop swimming pool, we try to maintain the water temperature to 28C (82F) maybe that day it was not up to par. We have been awarded a TripAdvisor’s Best for Families Travellers Choice Award for a third year in a row, thanks to family like yours that take the time to send reviews to share their experience. Hopefully your two years old will give us another try in a near future.
One last thing about the Green Key Program which we take very seriously; there are some things that are apparent in the front of the house but quite a few that are not in the back of the house. I am happy to tell you that our last Green Key Global property review was done in December 2010 and it was determined that our Four Green Key rating was reflective of the verifications inspector’s findings. We will continue our efforts to improve that rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We booked this hotel recommended by a Neice and then by using Montreal tourism Sweet deal pkg. It was absolutely perfect the staff were extremely helpful with directions and even booking restaurant reservations. The room was large with the high vaulted ceilings and little kitchenettes. It really was a "Sweet Deal" Montreal is a fabulous place to visit and tour. The location is soooo perfect. for Shopping, Metro, Old Montreal,This is one city you will never have enough time to see everything.I can't wait to go back and definitly will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heartmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,419 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,683 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 165 in Montreal
1,680 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#50 of 165 in Montreal
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £103 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing