We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a great location for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place in a great location for a great price!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

So glad we decided on staying at this hotel - we weren't really sure where to stay - we wanted a nice place in a central location. We didn't need a kitchen so had bypassed this first time around - but when we looked at it again - it made sense. The room was great - spacious, full kitchen, nice bathroom, king size comfortable bed - and a continental breakfast included. All for a great price - we went over a weekend - so the rates were really reasonable.

Location was great as well - a block away from St Catherines, and a 20 minutes walk down to the port or up to the Plateau or over to Mont Royal. Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelingCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    642
    66
    14
    10
See reviews for
921
586
78
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We are a family of four with 12 and 14 year old girls who spent few days in Montreal back in late July 2012. We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and I must say that the hotel was very clean. The room that we had was two-double bed suite, which was very spacious with a full kitchen and eating area. The fitness room had very modern machines and decent for a hotel of this size. The indoor pool was small so it will not accommodate those looking to get lane swim in. The bonus feature of the pool area is that it had a garden outside of the pool (it is on the 10th floor) that you could lounge and view the City in a panoramic perspective - we spent an evening just looking at the City from the garden. The hotel is located in the Downtown Montreal area just one block south of St. Catherine's Street but we could hardly hear anything from our room. It is also approx 15 minute walking distance to Old Montreal so this hotel was perfect location for us. We recommend staying here.

The hotel does include breakfast but it is continental breakfast and the seating area was fairly decent and clean. We never had any issue finding a table although the hotel when we stayed was almost fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side and the east side is quieter. Higher stores rooms on the south side has a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Vacationer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4. Our room was very spacious with large windows and high ceilings letting in wonderful natural light. Having a kitchen allowed us to have nice meals without eating out constantly. The room was clean and well equipped. The pool and gym were nice with an outdoor deck with views. Laundry facilities convenient. Rooms were quiet. Staff were helpful and the location central. Only improvement would be on the breakfast. Not much choice in a busy somewhat sterile room. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BordeauxPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Affordable, clean, spacious with well-equipped small kitchen, wifi, and views, including Mont Royal. Centrally located, close to public transit, and easily walkable to just about everywhere. We traipsed up and down St Catherine, popped into La Baie, the huge department store across the street, hiked over to the Plateau and down to the old city. Grocery stores are nearby, if you feel like eating in, and there are laundry facilities on the top floor next to the pool and exercise equipment. Le Square Phillips/Place Phillips is a lively little area, with several popular restaurants and street vendors.

Friendly staff supplied us with laundry soap and loaned us a computer cable. Pleasant lobby, fast elevators.

This is not a hotel that oozes charm or a place that you'd select for your dream romantic vacation, but I'd choose it again for business or a family trip. It's comfortable, unpretentious, and a good value: an ideal home base.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The room was large and clean and included a kitchenette which was a nice option. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The location was good. It was about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Old Montreal. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the roof terrace was a relaxing spot to sit and enjoy the city sights. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in the family suite for 4 Nights and it was huge! This hotel is clean, comfortable and modern, close to everything and has a friendly and helpful staff. A great choice! It is close to St. Catherine Street which has lots of shopping and restaurants and is about a 15-20 minute nice walk to old Montreal. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTMD227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

just great right place for lots of entertainment shops bars cafes. Staff fantastic could not do enough to help had some bad news so had to check out a day early and go home thry only charged half a day so nice of them The rooms are so clean had a one bedroomed suite everything was perfect . ask the staff were the supermarket is its not far away in a shopping mall sells loads of lovely food all grocery shopping so you can eat in if you wish breckfast is included itsenough to keep you going. form the airport get the airpot express from outside only 8 dollers and you can use it for the other transport as well trains trams so on for 24 hours from time you get it or a 3 day one . it drops you off across the street on way in and at the corner of hotel on way back so easy. laundry room fitness centre swimming pool and sun belcony on p floor a lovely way to spend a couple of hours to relax

Room Tip: all rooms seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,959 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,545 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 164 in Montreal
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing