We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location, service and family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The staff were very helpful, we got an upgrade to a family suite, the concierge was excellent- bilingual ( French and English) - excellent gym with rooftop views and laundry facilities. We were traveling with a toddler and our cousin and the upgrade to a family suite was great. It was easy traveling on the metro which is close to the hotel. We went to Place du Mont Royal for dinner and we were surprised at how easy it was to navigate the metro system. I would recommend buying a day pass vs a round trip ticket. The international Jazz festival was only a few blocks from the hotel. All in all a great location and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccavps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a Studio suite (booked a Junior suite but were upgraded). Staff was very friendly and professional. Suite was clean, comfortable and huge! Almost too big for the two of us :) Fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher! Spacious bathroom with tub. Separate bedroom and large living room. Free high speed wi-fi. Breakfast was a little chaotic (should consider rebuilding the breakfast room - too cramped). Not a huge selection of food (toast, muffins, bagels, cereal and fresh fruit - no warm food). Gym was fairly well equipped, a little cramped though. Location was perfect, quiet street but only 1 minute walk from Sainte-Catherine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We arrived by cruise ship. Hotel is a short taxi ride from the pier. We arrived early and checked our baggage with the bellman while we explored the city. Our room was spacious and immaculate. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. The location is quiet, yet close to shopping, underground and tours originating at Dorchester Square. The hotel is also convenient to the Quartier des Spectacles, McGill University and the rail station. There are many street cafes within walking distance. The hotel has an enclosed rooftop pool and an excercise room as well as an open-air sun deck. We were very comfortable. We will stay there again when in Montreal.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and arrive early in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We really liked our room. Oversized, clean & comfortable. Bathroom was very modern and kitchen is a added bonus. The continental breakfast was very good even without eggs. Coffee, Bagels, muffins and fruit were great and plenty to get us started for the day. Breakfast room on the second floor was nice and bright with a view of the street below. Love the huge windows throughout the hotel. We took the Via Rail into Montreal and it was a short 2 block walk to the hotel. There is a Metro stop (McGill) just around the corner, along with some neighborhood restaurants. We considered staying in Old Montreal and we are glad we did not, its ok to visit, but the downtown area has much more to offer. Old Montreal is really a big tourist trap so limit your time there and explore other parts of the city. The markets were impressive (Jean Talon & Atwater) were both very nice, Jean Talon is much bigger, both had exceptional food vendors at reasonable prices. The hotel was also very convenient to the Jazz Fest, it makes a great home base for that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48812StephenG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here 3 nights for the Montreal International Jazz Festival and this hotel did not disappoint. It was everything that was described. Great job fellow TA reviewers! Your descriptions were spot on. Even though mentioned in the previous reviews I was still blown away by how immaculate and huge the suite was. The full kitchen was fully appointed. The staff were all very friendly and willing to accommodate. Only a 10 minute walk to the Festival and neatly tucked away on a more quiet street. Plenty of places to eat only steps away. This would be a great place to stay for a longer visit because it's like a small apartment. I only wish I could have stayed longer... Cant speak on the breakfast because I fell in love with a little creperie/café around the corner. This is now my go to hotel whenever I visit Montreal again. Ce Magnifique!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJinBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights while attending the Montreal jazz festival. Our son chose this hotel and accompanied us to Montreal. The suite was lovely and, as others have written, has a full kitchen with dishwasher. Although we chose to eat at some of the many wonderful nearby restaurants, it was great to have the refrigerator for wine, leftovers and late night snacks. We used the work- out room, which has nice cardio and weight equipment. Had we had more time I am sure we would have used the pool and outdoor patio as well. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and the coffee was good. All staff that we met were helpful and extremely pleasant. The location is close to shopping, art museums, arts venues and public transportation. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 462BettyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights over 2 different stays. We stayed here one nite before traveling to Tremblant and 2 nites after our Tremblant stay.
The hotel is beautiful on a quiet stretch of Place Phillips but close to shops on St. Catherine Street , the underground city, and Places Des Artes. My family and I utilized the gym, indoor pool, and laundry facilities. It was nice having a full kitchen and we also partook in the breakfast. Service was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tickmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 165 in Montreal
1,753 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £97 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing