We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service an location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service an location”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Family of four with two young children stayed 4 nights. The concierge staff were wonderful even providing free tickets to a local attraction and they were always welcoming to our inquisitive two daughters. The family suite was perfect and provided separate space for the kids sleeping and patents relaxing. The kitchen was very useful for family breakfasts and snacks. Breakfast was a good continental style with fruit, breads, and coffee etc. located within walking distance of Old city and lots of shopping/ restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    628
    64
    14
    10
See reviews for
897
570
74
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stay here whenever we visit Montreal. Dog friendly. No extra charge like other hotels. Our pup loves the square just across the street....be a responsible dog owner and keep the city clean. It needs all the help it can get.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ZtaKED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The rooms are clean, service is good and you don't need transportation.

10 minute walk to the Old City, 15 minute walk to Mountain and Crescent Streets (restaurants), 5 minute walk to metro stations and train station.

The hotel's location made it easy to tour Montreal.

It helped to make our visit easy and enjoyable. The decor is not fancy, but it is certainly not shabby and everthing is clean. Our room had a kitchen (which we didn't use because we ate out).

Try the Beaver Hall Bistro (French), just down the street. Good Food, Service and Decor. Full meal for 4 with tip, $240.

Room Tip: Our room was very large, 2 sleeping rooms, with kitchen, dining area and living room. Lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our room for 3 adults was huge, with a kitchenette and sitting area, and I think would be great for a family visit. Beds were comfortable, bathroom updated and clean. We used the valet parking for the car, as many things we wanted to do were within easy walking distance of this centrally located hotel, including the sights of Old Montreal. Continental breakfast was included. Friendly front desk staff made everything easy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoupchickRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We loved our stay at Le Square Phillips Hotel. Our family of 5 was upgraded to a family suite that was huge and comfortable. The staff helped us every day, going out of their way to give maps, schedules, and directions, suggest restaurants, look up hours and explain local specialities. Kalvin was the best, explaining local foods poutine and smoked meat and where to find them.The pool is smaller than it looks, but we still loved it and enjoyed the outdoor deck on the roof. Great location and great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateD746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a three-night stay online. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff smiled, conversed, and offered helpful information. The one-bedroom suite was spacious, clean, and a relaxing respite from the heatwave we encountered. The king bed was very comfortable. The sofabed was comfortable for a teenager. The large bathroom offered a huge magnifying mirror and the shower had decent water pressure. The generic hotel shampoo could have been better, as it did not lather well. The kitchen was well equipped and included a fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, kettle, and dishwasher. The laundry facility, on the pool level, offers washers and dryers at a reasonable cost. The rooftop pool can get busy at times, but is a great place to cool down.

The continental breakfast was generous, with a variety of breads, bagels, muffins, croissants, toaster waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, juice and a large fruit selection with bananas, apples, kiwis. The regular coffee tastes bolder than the strong -- the hotel coffee is not great, but Second Cup, Tim Hortons, Starbucks, McDonald's are nearby if you prefer those. The breakfast line up around 9 am can be long and tables can be scarce; earlier is better unless you prefer making toast in your room. However, they do offer two high-speed toasters to expedite the process. The ladies work hard to clear tables quickly so people can sit down, but there is no obvious bussing place to clear your own dishes and garbage.

The location is convenient to shopping on St. Catherine St., walking around McGill, enjoying the Juste pour Rire Festival at the Place des Arts, and offers easy access to two metro lines (blue line at McGill and green line at Square-Victoria). Several nearby underground malls allow you to escape the heat, eat a quick lunch, or shop at a variety of retail stores. The tourist centre at Dorchester Square is only a few blocks away.

The hotel's overall quality and our excellent stay would definitely entice us to book here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Point2point
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Loved this hotel! My family and I were greeted warmly by the staff at the front desk upon our arrival and were informed that we were receiving a free upgrade to a suite with King bed, Queen bed and a pull out couch.(we had booked a King room with a pull out couch). This was very impressive given the fact that I didn't even have to ask for any upgrade...it was just given to us! I have only positive things to say about this hotel and its staff (see the other reviews here for the lost of positives...all are true!) and will definitely be staying here the next time we visit Montreal!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcanada1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing