We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for the $70 a night lodging taxes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“watch out for the $70 a night lodging taxes!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights this weekend. The rooms were VERY spacious and VERY clean and comfortable. We had a suite which comfortably slept 4 people and a full kitchen, full sized fridge etc. The rules are very strict here. We were four girls for a bachelorette weekend (we are in our late twenties/early thirties and are not wild, destructive, rude or loud). Upon check-in we were told absolutely NO noise tolerance, no partying. Upon check-out we were told we had to wait until they "checked our room" before paying which I have NEVER experienced and found extremely rude. We were also NOT pleasantly surprised by the additional $70.00/night "lodging taxes" which are charged if you stay for less than 30 days! Who normally stays in a hotel for more than 30 days? Just beware before you stay. The breakfast was also not impressive. Bagels, bread, croissants, cold pre-packaged waffles, yogurt and bananas/oranges and a few juices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing this review about our property, we are very happy to see that you found our accommodations very spacious and clean. As you mention in your review we are very strict with our rules; absolutely NO noise tolerance, no partying. And the reason being is that we do have guests that stay more than 30 days because we specialize in extended stays (full kitchen, full sized fridge etc.) and we like to have these people feel like if they were at home at all time, especially at night. In fact we have a guest that has been with us for more than seven years. But let’s not get carried away we are not a convent we welcome a lot of families with kids that like to play and we do like bachelorettes, however we need to be careful if we want to keep our reputation of a well-kept hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the continental buffet breakfast and as for the taxes, well there is unfortunately not much we can do about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    635
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
908
579
75
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and could not believe the size of the rooms. Nothing fancy but you can't beat the convenience to downtown and old montreal plus free breakfast. Gym was good with new equipment and pool was nice. Only issues would be the line ups at breakfast and the weak wifi-free by the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I picked this hotel for its laundry room and indoor pool, but we were also rewarded with ample space in our family suite and the friendliness of the entire staff, even when arriving at 3 am (after being lost in NY state). Its downtown location gave us easy access to the Metro stations and attractions, while still being removed from the busiest and noisiest streets. We even received a substantial discount on the third night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locavoregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Square Phillips is our favourite hotel in Montreal. We were a large group of two adults and five children, and stayed in a two bedroom unit. Each bedroom had a queen bed, and there was a double sofa bed. We also had an extra rollaway bed.
The room was extremely spacious, with enough rooms for the kids to play. Having three flat screen TVs also helped.
The kids loved the rooftop swimming pool - we only wished the pool had a shallow end for the youngest ones. I loved the view from the rooftop patio.With a large family, having a laundry room was a definite plus.
The hotel also provides a free breakfast on the second floor. Nothing fancy - breads, bagels, muffins, cereals yoghurt and fresh fruit. It was all you can eat, and filling enough that we often did not need lunch.
Only complaint was that the unit only had one washroom. With 7 people that led to some lineups in the morning.
Location was excellent - right in the middle of Montreal. Just off St. Catherine, and next to some of the best shopping malls in the city. The nearby Pharmaprix had a small grocery section, so we were able to buy milk and juice for the kids. The Montreal subway system is one of the best in the world, as we were right next to a station, so did not have to use the car much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertonU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Family of four with two young children stayed 4 nights. The concierge staff were wonderful even providing free tickets to a local attraction and they were always welcoming to our inquisitive two daughters. The family suite was perfect and provided separate space for the kids sleeping and patents relaxing. The kitchen was very useful for family breakfasts and snacks. Breakfast was a good continental style with fruit, breads, and coffee etc. located within walking distance of Old city and lots of shopping/ restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stay here whenever we visit Montreal. Dog friendly. No extra charge like other hotels. Our pup loves the square just across the street....be a responsible dog owner and keep the city clean. It needs all the help it can get.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ZtaKED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The rooms are clean, service is good and you don't need transportation.

10 minute walk to the Old City, 15 minute walk to Mountain and Crescent Streets (restaurants), 5 minute walk to metro stations and train station.

The hotel's location made it easy to tour Montreal.

It helped to make our visit easy and enjoyable. The decor is not fancy, but it is certainly not shabby and everthing is clean. Our room had a kitchen (which we didn't use because we ate out).

Try the Beaver Hall Bistro (French), just down the street. Good Food, Service and Decor. Full meal for 4 with tip, $240.

Room Tip: Our room was very large, 2 sleeping rooms, with kitchen, dining area and living room. Lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing