We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very, very good hotel! Where will I start?
Location: very central, right in downtown and the hub of activity. Very close to McGill university. A few blocks from Metro and bus stops.
Appearance: the lobby is so nice I did not think that this is a suite-hotel. The concierge and the front desk people are very helpful.
Rooms: very spacious. The alcove suite we got is bigger than a 2-double bed room we get in other hotels. It has a spacious kitchen with enough equipment to make simple meals.
It is a few dollars more expensive than a regular king-bedroom but it will make up for the meals that you can cook and eat in inside the suite.
Breakfast is ok. But can be improved. Maybe add a hot meal to it?
The only problem I had was the laundry room. Can it be outside the gym or even have a door outside the gym? It is very inconvenient to go around the gym and open again another door to have access to the laundry.
Overall, I would stay here again when I visit Montreal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay in Montreal, while traveling by train from Quebec to New York. It was an easy walk from the train station, and we found the Phillips Square area to be delightful: lots of pedestrians, shopping, restaurants, and a lively vibe, and pretty much in the center of things (though we did not have much time to explore this big city!).

The hotel could not have been nicer--large, clean room; friendly and helpful staff; everything sort of up-to-date (example: table lamps with extra outlets for charging phones and tablets). Indoor pool on the rooftop and self-serve laundry. We only wished we had more time to stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webfoot1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Top aspect for me for this hotel is the situation. It's very convenient for the central rail station and for the shopping on Catherine Street being just a minute or two from each. Yet it's on a quiet road and was peaceful at night. For me though the place just lacked the x-factor. Rooms were spacious but dour, the pool was nothing special (indeed I saw two families turn away disappointed when they went up there). The place had no bar or even café so didn't become a haunt at all while we were there.
Decent value for money though and it was certainly clean. All in all then it was 'ok'

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel Phillips Square is located walking distance from the Central Train Station and large portions if the "undegeound city". 3 couples took a train into Montreal and easier walked to the hotel. We conquered the city with convienence to subway stations, nightlife and great restaurants. The service was great and the rooms were spacious and come with full kitchen. Rooftop pool and terrese made it even better. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a week in late September (2013) in a two bedroom suite (we were in Room 720). A large master bedroom, with a decent-sized second bedroom. An enormous living/dining area, twelve foot high ceilings with huge windows, and a full kitchen, including full-size fridge/freezer, oven and four-burner cooktop, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, electric kettle, and plates/cups/glasses/utensils. The room was clean, with ample closet space. The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of towels. There's a rooftop pool/gym, with an area where you can enjoy the sunset with a bottle of wine; there's also a laundry room there. The expanded continental breakfast consisted of multiple types of breads and muffins, cold cereals in several varieties, instant oatmeal, coffee and tea, and six kinds of fresh fruit. There's free internet and a printer near the lobby, but the wifi in the room worked pretty well. The concierges can't seem to do enough for you.

The hotel is well-placed, as it's about 4 blocks to the nearest grocery store and several blocks to either of two metro stations. It's about 3 blocks from the nearest pharmacy and across the street from a bank. If you're into typical shopping, there's a lot of that within easy walking distance. We were both woken up by early-morning trash collection a couple of times, but overall street noise was minimal and we almost never heard any of our neighbors. This hotel is deservedly popular with families and business travelers; many representatives from an international aviation conference were here during our stay. The staff are polite and professional. One caveat: stay out of the adjoining restaurant on the ground floor, Trattoria Zia. It isn't part of the hotel; it just happens to be next door, and it's overpriced and utterly mediocre.

My friend and I were so impressed with Le Square Phillips that we returned here after a week elsewhere in Canada for our last night in the country, even though we had originally planned to stay elsewhere for that night. If I have to suggest an improvement, it would be nice for the bathroom to have a fan. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoixDuChocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to change your original plan and come back at our hotel! It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Overall this was a great hotel and we would stay here again. Great location. Clean, spacious and quiet rooms with great city views. Staff was professional and accommodating. On arriving one of the managers wheeled out a wagon full of toys and had my two kids each pick one. A nice start to a nice trip.

Roof top deck had great views of downtown. Pool was on the small side, but the kids didn't mind. Free breakfast was a carb fest (bread, bagels, waffles, muffins, cereal, croissants) with some juices, coffee and fruit. Breakfast room was nice but crowded. But it's included, so no complaints.

Only problem was they had the wrong rate on the bill. It was fixed in less than two minutes with apologies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuckyHuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with other family members. We occupied 3 rooms and all members of our party are amazed at how big the rooms were. There were high ceilings and ample cabinet spaces in each room with flat screen tv. The rooms are all with kitchen although we were not able to use them since we can't find pots and pans. If you're used to staying in villas in resorts with fully equipped kitchens, you will find the kitchen here much lacking. Anyway, the beds are very comfy, linens and towels are clean. The location is great since you are just a few steps from the closest entrance to the underground stores. It's also just at least 10 minute walk from the Hopin Hopoff Bus terminal. You can actually just go underground, browse the stores and get out by the Simon's Mall and the terminal is just a block away. The reception staff are very helpful specially Antonin and Denis (I think). Breakfast is also included. Although there's not a lot of choices, breakfast is more than enough.

Room Tip: Choose the odd numbered rooms. Although they are the same size as the even ones, the way the cabinet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,758 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £98 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing