We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoiyable hotel and great location in the centre of Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoiyable hotel and great location in the centre of Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent 2 days in Montreal and wanted to be close to the downtown attractions and restaurants, and the hotel met our needs admirably. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was comfortable and clean. The bedroom and living room were large and quiet, and the kitchen well equipped. The staff was attentive and helpful, both at the front desk and concierge. We used valet parking as it was mid winter and we wanted our car to be parked indoors, and this also worked well.

We had dinner in the on-site Trattoria and can highly recommend it. The food was excellent, and while the menu was Italian, the meal was served with French flair. The second evening we walked to a French restaurant nearby which was recommended by the concierge, and had a lovely meal. The underground shopping that criss crosses Montreal can be accessed from the department store in the square, which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

All-in-all, highly recommended and good value.We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinschles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    618
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
877
557
68
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great location, lots of space, full kitchen, friendly service.
The bathroom needed updating, and the breakfast is mostly bread and cereal, and only good for a few mornings. I'm giving it an excellent rating because it was about 1/3 the price of the Ritz Carlton.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

appealing design & decoration - Large and well furnished rooms with convenient kitchenette, very helpful staff at reception, clean and excellent downtown location, can be noisy on week-ends with lots of families with small kids

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi_Teu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I liked, but did not love this hotel. The rooms are very large, so you have basically a large suite for price of a standard hotel room. Room was clean, high ceilings. Bathroom was OK. Not thrilled with the shower head (but a minor gripe). Very useful having small kitchen/fridge in the room. Included conintental breakfast was just ok, nothing special, but nice perk. Location was excellent, right off the main shopping area, with lots of restaurants within walking distance. On the downside, the rooms are somewhat sterile. If you are coming here, looking for a romantic inn, look elsewhere. If you are looking for 5 star service, this is not the place. The concierge/valets were OK, but not the warmest of types. I had a rate which included parking, which was fantastic. Hotel is fairly priced and somewhat of a bargain, considering parking and breakfast included in rate. If you are coming with kids, this place is perfect. All in all I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Cool location however when we book the hôtel we fins top terasse with insolé pool vert attractive. I could understand pool could be broken without warning however i cannot understand nobody told us when we book ta the front deal and when i come on the room i found a notice about the unavalability of the pool (by the way they know it before we book)

They offer me to drive us un t'il next Hotel when pool is available. We book there because i hâve a 18 month kid. Its pretty différent to wear him on the winter, take à ride until next hotel, go un the water, ré-wear him, take the ride back to the hotel... Then take the elevator.

Please, tell me before or offer appropriate compensation... Very desapointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martindemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Montreal, the Phillips Square has everything you need. First, the rooms are big and includes a full kitchen and refrigerator. Second, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. And third, the hotel is family friendly. Having travelled with two young children, you can appreciate the frustrations of trying to provide for them while you are in a different place in the middle of winter. The Phillips Square hotel and suites is like a home away from home.

Despite the recent renovations, they were hardly noticeable. You will not find similar accommodations in higher priced "world class" hotels. You will get a lot more for your money here.

Room Tip: The nearest grocery (IGA) is located 4 blocks away in Complex Desjardins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Together with my wife we stayed 10 days in Montréal over Christmas and New-Year and based on reviews I have seen we decided to stay at the Square Phillips. As stated in these reviews, this place is definitely good value for money. We had a nice big bedroom with a well equipped kitchen. Staff has been very friendly. The gym and pool are good and the hotel is very close to metro stations, museums, shops, restaurants and many other activities...

I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean_Richert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing