We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate and Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First Rate and Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was determined to find a rock solid hotel since we don't get to Montreal all that often. Le Square Phillips was great. It is a nice blend of historic and modern and is in a great location. Easy walks get you to the best jazz festival in the world (without being too close if you know what I mean), shopping or Old Montreal. One morning for exercise, we took off and went up Mount Royal! Location definitely matters and LSP has it.

Our room (421) was equivalent to an apartment with a nice kitchen / dining area, a huge living room and a huge bedroom.

The included breakfasts were solid though I kind of felt like I was part of a feeding frenzy. If you aren't a hardcore breakfast person you'll do fine and can definitely load up on carbs here. Then go grab a nice pizza down the street later.

This is definitely the hotel I'll be coming back to next time I visit Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    618
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
877
557
68
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esterhazy, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at Le Square Phillips for a week the end of June, beginning of July. As others have stated, the hotel is in an excellent location - we were able to walk to Old Montreal, Via Rail station, Mont Royal, a lot of shopping, restaurants, etc. etc. Although the jazz festival was only a few blocks away, the hotel itself was very quiet. We loved the high ceiling rooms and the fully stocked kitchen. The rooftop patio was a great place for morning coffee or an evening cocktail. We thought the room was very well cleaned. The business centre had two computers and printers. The three elevators were very quick. Although the continental breakfast had no meat, there was peanut butter and cream cheese, there was plenty to choose from for us. We also loved the pizza restaurant a few steps away, went there twice. We hope to come back to Montreal someday, and to the Le Square Phillips Hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent a week at the Square Phillips Hotel. It's in a great location, not far from St. Carherine Street, the underground city and the metro. There are some pretty good restaurants nearby as well. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a small well-equipped kitchen. The pool & workout room on the roof were great, with a good view of the city. The breakfast included with the room package was ok, though the selection could be better. The staff here are very helpful. Overall this hotel is a great place to stay in downtown Montreal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Qizlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here with my young son for 4 days. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly and our room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet (we were on the third floor).

We took the train from Ottawa and were able to walk easily from Central Station to the hotel. The location is excellent, very central - steps from the metro, depanneur, restaurants, shopping and drug store. We walked to Old Montreal in 15-20 minutes (depending on how many fountains my son stopped to splash in on the way ;-)

The Best. Pizza. Ever. can be found next door at Il Focolaio Pizza Resto. It's a super busy place and there's a good reason for that. Wow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent four days. Rooms are very large, clean and well organized. Would be very good for an extended business trip lasting several weeks or for a family. Rooms have a kitchen with plates and utensils, two closets, safe, large TV, multiple ways to connect devices to the TV, good internet speed, etc. Did I mention how large the rooms are? Very large.

I suspect during much of the year, it's a little more of a business hotel, but in summer, it attracts many families and tourists. I'm speculating.

The minor issues I mention, and I really do mean minor considering how much we liked the room, hotel and staff are:

Curtains - They don't totally close off the light. We were in a "17" room and the light would hit the window around 6 AM and the curtains couldn't fully be closed off. Something about the way the pole that guides the curtain works.

Breakfast - We weren't thrilled with breakfast. Not saying it was bad, just not fully for us. There were a wide assortment of breads and cereal, but nothing really warm. They did have a good assortment of fruit and yogurt. We would have liked oatmeal or eggs. Coffee wasn't so strong. There is a 2nd Cup down the street that we tried one morning.

I mentioned families. We were there the week of Canada Day and July 4th and there were a very large number of families with children. A little hectic at breakfast and the kids would run around the hallways in the AM or the evening. This would usually trail off by 9:30 PM. I think it's just a timing thing.

Hotel is very centrally located and the metro isn't far. The 747 bus to the airport stops close by and there are usually taxis in front of the hotel. Ten to twenty minute walk to many things. Irish pub and pizza nearby.

While parts of the review above may sound negative, I hope they aren't taken that way. We were very pleased with the hotel. The staff is very good and professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavasarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Super convenient hotel in the center of Montreal, very close to the Jazz Festival. Despite all the action, our room was quiet, very clean and the A/C worked great and was not noisy. Not a super fancy place but very nice. Breakfast is included but think Hampton Inn continental - nothing too great, okay coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schusschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a 5 night stay here. We had arrived by train from Toronto and found this hotel an easy walk from the Montreal Central Station. The staff were most welcoming and completely professional, even pointing out to us at check-in that we could use their Business Centre to print-out some online tickets we had ordered.

The room was well appointed with a more than adequate kitchenette for in-room cooking if you have that need. Likewise, the free continental breakfast was very filling and well organised in a dedicated dining area on the 2nd floor. It set us up well for the day.

Our only gripe was the shower in our room which achieved only lukewarm temperature. I mentioned this to the front desk on our first morning, but sadly it did not improve.

Overall, we'd have no hesitation in recommending Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites. It's a fantastic location within the Montreal CBD and offers modern, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SageAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing