We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My mom, sister and I just stayed here for 3 nights. We had never been to Montreal and knew very little about the city. The hotel is very centrally located. There are 3 metro stations within 2-3 blocks of the hotel. The Museum of Contemporary Art is nearby, and Old Montreal is 2 short metro stops away. The hotel felt very contemporary, the customer service was great, and our room was huge! The building is an old textile mill, so our room had high ceilings. The breakfast was the only thing that was less than stellar. It was mostly bread--no eggs. There was some yogurt, juice and cereal. And some fruit. But the bananas were green and it just seemed like the options were mainly toast, croissants, waffles, bagels and English muffins. Lots of bread! Still, this was a fabulous choice for our stay. I highly recommend it! Also, the pizza place a block away was very good. We also enjoyed Jardin Nelson in Old Montreal, and Wanda M restaurant near the Museum of Fine Arts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ncmtngirl1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in Montreal last week on our way to Quebec City. This hotel was great. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. We were on the 4th floor in a large 2bdrm suite. It had full kitchen and dining table. Enough room for a large family.
Rooftop pool and fitness room was beautiful. Also laundry was up there which I used.
Walked a block to a great pizza restaurant. Yummy

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It was great. I think all the rooms are probably similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkacgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The #1 reason why we booked this hotel was the high rating on Trip Advisor combined with the fact that it has rooms large enough to accommodate a family of 5. This is not always easily managed, especially in larger cities.

Summary Points:

- excellent location - we walked throughout old Montreal - we walked along Saint Catherine Street, and we also walked throughout the McGill campus and up the 'mountain', all from our hotel
- easy, fast check-in
- easy, fast valet
- excellent room size with fantastic high ceilings - lots of open space - large accommodating kitchen area and extra room for an added cot which cost only $15 a night and arrived in world record time!
- our family room was quiet - we heard none of our neighbours in the hotel, we heard no ice machines, no elevators and no street noise
- our rooms were well furnished and the bathroom was large and well appointed
- lots of pillows, blankets and towels
- the room lighting seemed a bit dim
- the air conditioner was quiet and worked like a charm
- elevators were fast and the hallways were well lit and nice looking
- the continental breakfast was both good and average-to-poor
- good: coffee was better than expected and there was fresh fruit - also the seating area was nice and it was clean and relaxed
- average: frozen concentrated juices, yogurt, jam, peanut butter and margarine packets
- poor: bagels were hard and not really edible even when toasted
- fresh pastries would have made a world of difference for this breakfast, however I recognize that 'free' hotel breakfasts rarely ever include fresh pastries
- hotel pool and workout area are both small-ish but also were totally adequate for our needs
- the outdoor area on the roof surrounding the pool was excellent - had a great vibe which we liked
- late checkout was accommodated as requested
- wireless internet was not fast but worked fine
- hotel is clean, safe and relaxed

I would return to this hotel again with my family should we ever return to Montreal. Thank-you.

Room Tip: We had room 912 which was excellent. It's a family room that easily accommodates a roll-away cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in a King Studio for a 3 night stay through a tripadvisor deal which we booked online. The room was large with high ceilings and a fully equipped kitchen. The hotel is walking distance to downtown, old Montreal, and McGill university. There is a wonderful pizza place next door. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really appreciated the helpful and friendly staff. The rooftop pool and gym were fantastic. We won't stay anywhere else in Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mungli834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We came in off the maasdam and needed a place to stay for one night in Montreal. I had read reviews on tripadvisor for the square Phillips and found our stay exceeded my expectations ! We got a free upgrade to a family suite which was as large as any hotel room I've ever started in. Large bathroom, large kitchen too! The service was helpful and friendly and the amenities such as the pool and gym were a nice addition - and the location was perfect for a stroll through the annual comedy festival in the street a few blocks away. The shopping nearby is also very nice and away from the tourist traps in the old city. Really great stay ! I'm picky when it comes to hotels - book here!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Napsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We've stayed at Le Square Phillips twice. Both times, we had 2 couples in a 2-bdrm suite. It is a great hotel to 2 couples to visit together and see Montreal. It is very close to St. Catherine st and walkable from Old Montreal. Hotel staff are very good, especially the valets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have stayed there several times and the familly rooms -suites- are absolutely huge for the price. Considering that you are downtown Montreal, this classic hotel with free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free pool, free gym, is a steal. The suites have 20ft high seelings, nice furnished living room and 2 bedrooms.

Room Tip: I never stayed in regular rooms, but if you are 3 or more, take the family suites located at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,523 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £97 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing