We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitchen is only adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kitchen is only adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Don't get me wrong, this is a great hotel. The location was fairly good, although it's not a neighborhood per se. This is in the CBD. But the area felt safe at night. The valet staff were extremely professional, intelligent and kind. We had never done valet parking before in our lives but it was well worth the $22 per night. We left something in the car and one of the valet's took me to our car. I would never have been able to park our van the way they did and the security system seemed strong. We did not have to worry about our car being broken into. Also, we had the valet deliver our luggage to the room and remove it at the end. It was a huge help! Well worth the cost of the tip.

We had a king bed one bedroom unit. It was very clean and nice. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and worked very hard. Our bed was comfortable and the kids slept on the double sofa bed which was fine for them. We faced the rear surface parking lot. It had bright lights on 24 hrs. a day but the curtains were light blocking so it was never a problem. On some mornings, a trash truck came which we heard but it wasn't terribly bothersome. We were on the 3rd floor. We could not hear any neighbors and thus I don't think they could hear us as our children screamed and yelled at each on occassion (or was that me yelling at them?).

My minor complaint was the kitchen. Having travelled to many countries and stayed at similar types of apartment hotels, I wouldn't call this well stocked. It only had four of everything so if you wanted to use a fork to serve something, good luck. There were only four forks and we were four people eating so we had to improvise. There was no tea pot, just a hot water kettle. The tea cups were so small I went to a store and purchased a mug as I didn't want to make a million little teas. There were a few flimsy serving utensils but not much else. There were only four plates, four bowls (again tiny) and a metal collander, one metal bowl and two metal pots and one metal pan. THere were no serving dishes for anything. Even though there is a full stove and oven and microwave, it is difficult to make much to eat for a family of four here. The microwave is so small you couldn't fit much into it. THis was the point of our staying here - to be able to eat dinner at the hotel rather than a restaurant and then go out on the town again- saving money for other things. If you really need to cook, get things that can get boiled, heated in a pan or small individual servings that can be microwaved.

The breakfast was great. You can take a tray from the room down to the breakfast room and bring things back to your room. THis is particulary helpful for a family as the room gets quite busy. I went down at 7 am and got what my family needed and we ate in the comfort of our own room. I loved that.

There is an IGA grocery store in the Complex Desjardins on avenue Renee Levesque, about a 10 minute walk (or more). Remember to bring your own bags or you will be charged for each plastic bag you need.

Overall, the hotel was good but personally, I wished we could have found an apartment to rent in a small neighborhood and a had a better stocked kitchen. I searched and this was the best I could find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollyNomial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    618
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
878
557
68
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Positives:
Friendly staff and valets.
Restaurant on ground floor.
Huge rooms with comfortable furnishings and kitchens.
Great TV and views.
Brilliant sun-deck and pool.
Nice downtown location, but not noisy on high-up floors.
Great internet for free and easily accessible in all rooms

Negatives:
Free continental Breakfast is a bit cramped and the choice is somewhat limited.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronhotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susana77
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel is within walking distance of metro stops, underground tunnels and shops, and old Montreal. The rate includes free internet access and a continental breakfast. The gym is nothing to call home about but it'll certainly help you to maintain your fitness routine.
The rooms are big, and the kitchen is fully equipped. Full size refrigerator with top freezer, dishwasher, microwave, and full size range. There's a small supermarket a few blocks away but you can also leave your grocery list in the front desk and they'll get the groceries for you.
We booked through the Montreal Official Tourist Information website and got a really good deal (3x2 nights).

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank susana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Le Square Phillips Hotel and Suites (July 12-18, 2010) and had a wonderful vacation.. We were so impressed with the unique hotel accomodations - huge room with 12 foot ceilings, large ktichen area with stove/oven, full size refridgerator, sink , dishwasher , large flat screen TV, king size bed, FREE internet access and located 1/2 block to main shopping district (Sainte Catherine's St) and 10 - 15 minute walk to the Old Port of Montreal and Bell Centre. The free continental breakfast was great- lots of Montreal bagels provided (along with cereals, muffins, bread, waffles, variety of juices, fruit, milk and tasty coffee). The 2 breakfast rooms on the 2nd floor were very clean and well staffed every morning. Great for singles, couples and families.
The front desk staff and concierge were very friendly and accomodating. They allowed us to check in early when we arrived and check out an hour late when we departed. I recommend the Italian Trattoria restaurant off the main lobby , the service was great and we had an excellent pasta dinner one evening. We also ordered room service and the delicious pizza's were made at this restuarant.
The hotel rooms seemed very sound-proof and we had no complaints about noise.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Montreal. The rooms are very spacious and the location is very convenient and a 5 minute walk to 2 different Metro (subway) stops.We also recieved a CAA/AAA discount when we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Went with husband and kids (ages 13 and15). We don't speak french and the saff went out of their way to assist with advice. I get up at 5 for an early am walk and staff made sure I had umbrella, water etc. Room is huge and very clean, Kitchen helpful for storing leftovers, wine and beer. Location couldn't be better for shopping (St. Catherine St.) and we ended up walking to all parts of the city, never took car or train. Roof top pool a nice bonus and breakfast inluded was just what we needed to get us tthough until a mid day lunch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
335 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Finding accommodation for three adults travelling together can be a challenge, and suite hotels like this solve the problem nicely. But our two bedroom suite here had just the one bathroom, so much as we enjoyed having the sitting room to relax in together, two separate rooms in a conventional hotel suited us better. Of course, Le Square Phillips delivers a great deal pricewise and the terrific location scores every time.

Our suite was adequately furnished for our needs and was so large, we could have held a party! It was a quiet corner location and was cool and airy in the hot Montreal summer. It was clean and well serviced, too.

Le Square Phillips is a busy hotel with families and groups of friends and the lobby is a bustling place at all times of the day - great for people watching! The elevators are in constant use and patience is sometimes needed. That patience comes in handy at breakfast time too, when timing is crucial. Ten minutes either way can make the difference between a noisy horde and a peaceful experience, though the staff work hard to keep everything running smoothly. Breakfast is basic but adequate and supplies are replenished frequently by the attentive staff.

We didn't use the sundeck but witnessed plenty of people on their way to or from the pool and imagine it was a popular place on a summer afternoon.

In all, we were pleased with our choice, though the lack of a second bathroom was a major disappointment (we simply didn't look closely enough at the room plans online before booking - our fault). The single bathroom could be a factor to consider before booking a large suite for a group of friends - there could be quite a queue at times!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I would recommend this Le Square Phillips Hotel, especially for families. We stayed in a room with two double beds, and it was huge! There was a large open kitchen area, and a nice sized bathroom. The hotel was clean and maintained. It was also very quiet when we stayed.

This isn’t a five star hotel, but it has some nice features. They have a small, but nice rooftop pool. They have a very clean laundry facility with three washers and three dryers. The concierge was very helpful and thoroughly answered all of our questions. The location is central and within walking distance to the train station. While the free breakfast isn’t elaborate, it is sufficient and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EasternIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing