We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi St-Denis

Sushi St-Denis
Ranked #1,354 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It's an all you can eat restaurant. About 20$. The sushi on the menu is very interesting. Lots of unique choices. However, you could tell they wanted us out of there. There were 4 of us and we eat a lot. They kept saying things like "ok, finished?" or "Time for the bill?" repetitively and slowed down the service a lot to encourage us to leave. We hadn't even ordered that much at that point. I won't be returning thanks to the insanely slow and awful service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunKissedSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    61
    27
    7
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi massacre of 2014”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

As someone who loves sushi, I've had it of all qualities, in dozens of countries...but the sushi at Sushi St Denis was the absolute worst yet. However, the only thing worse than the food was the service. After sitting there for an hour and a half, and ordering 3 times, 2 of those orders were lost by the servers. I'm not even going to mention the servers' rudeness throughout the whole experience. Calling this place ¨all you can eat¨ is the biggest joke of the century...¨maybe eat a bit if you're lucky¨ would be more accurate. After paying 62 dollars for two and leaving hungry, we were appalled. Stay away! You would be better off going to McDonalds across the street, and coming from someone who hasn't been to a McDonalds in years that's saying something.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 328Ola_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great deal, very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved the sushi and super quick service. It is always a very busy place, especially during lunch hours. If you go from 11;30 to 3pm it's an even better deal, but it is very rushed feeling. It's super cramped if you don't get a booth seat...which you won't unless you reserve one or get there as soon as they open.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kit-kat-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Service was deplorable. The waiter served us only water; smacked it on the table and didn't even bother to ask us what else we would have liked to drink.
He didn't smile nor asked us if everything was ok. The ice for dessert was served before we received the last round of food!

We didn't have the feeling that we were welcome at all. He was plain rude and after we had payed he even had the audacity to ask where the tip was!!!! Unbelievable!

Food was ok but I found the sushi was somewhat lukewarm. Price was definately too high. Will never set a foot in here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great choice of good food for super cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The selection of sushi and other dishes is very big, our waiter was very nice and service was much faster than what we expected. The wine is very cheap, totally worth it. And their spicy mayo is made from srirracha, amazing!!!

I'll definetely go back when I'm in MTL again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klodya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi St-Denis also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
 

Been to Sushi St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing